It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Alpine Lakes Of Slovenia SO

Visiting: Slovenia
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Spectacular views
  • Canoeing on beautiful blue lakes
  • Hiking the rolling Slovanian hills
  • View of Piran from the town walls / Angus Hamilton
  • Alpine meadows
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Easy
 

Book now!

8 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Alpine Lakes Of Slovenia tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 07/09/13

Name

Brian Helsdon

Tour Name

Alpine Lakes of Slovenia

Tour Code

SO

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Piran. It was so good to relax in this beautiful Adriatic town and just chill on our last day before returning home. Lots of restaurants and bars, small harbour, lively square, good walks along the sea front, by the church and on the city wall

Tour Leader Name

Lukas

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Lukas was excellent. He was friendly informative and everything was very well organised including group meals in each new location.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I booked the single supplement and this was fine until the Center Hotel By Lake Bohinj. As I said to Lukas I didn't pay (well over) £1000 to send three days in a rabbit hutch!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I agree with other comments about the flights booked by Explore. Try the Budget Airlines to Ljubljana first before booking the group flights. Hopefully Explore will obtain better flights for next season!

 
9 , 15/08/13

Name

Norman Jones

Tour Code

SO

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Generally agree with previous comments.
Would add view from top of Cable Car ascending Mount Vogel. A personal highlight was on the Optional Activity day, I took the walk mentioned by the tour leader to the Mostnica Gorge and Voje Valley although the length was about 15kms as opposed to the 18km in the tour leader notes. This had splendid natural features as well as the virtues of two mountain cafes, and bars in the starting trail point of Stara Fuzina town, 1.5km from hotel. Highly recommended.

Tour Leader Name

Lucas

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

very good, even assisting with serving at busy restaurants.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

boots only really necessary for the optional element of the walks particularly in the good weather we experienced. Reasonably good footwear still needed, including for the walk through the cave.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Wendy Lowdon

Tour Code

SO

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Arriving at Lake Bohinj we checked into the Hotel and took a short stroll to the lakeside, it was a most breathtaking sight so beautiful and peaceful. The oldest church in Slovenia was situated beside the bridge, I took so many photos on that first evening I couldn't stop. A really lovely place.

Tour Leader Name

Lucas

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Lucas was very knowledgeable and interesting telling us all about Slovenia and its history. He made sure everyone was sorted and questions answered. He managed to keep the right balance between being around but not making the tour feel like we were being herded around everywhere.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Walking boots or trainers are needed for lakeside walk and trip up to the waterfall. A waterproof just in case although there was no problem with the weather it was gorgeous. Take lots of camera space, its very scenic and picturesque.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Slovenia is definitely a place to explore and this holiday was really well thought out and yet not too tiring. As the country is relatively small the journeys between places were not long. There was plenty of time to look around and do activities. I went rafting and had the best time. The food is fabulous and nothing too expensive. All the castles and museums were fabulous with information in English and very well presented. You must go.

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Katharine Price

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Staying by the lake at Lake Bohinj. Fantastic accommodation, beautiful scenery of mountains and the lake. Crystal clear water in the lake.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Lukas was great. He has a passion for Slovenia and was keen to share it. He was approachable, friendly, cheerful and helpful. He provided lots of ideas for free days. He shared both some of the culture and history.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

This is a fairly slow paced relaxing tour. It was great only staying in 3 locations so need to constantly pack and unpack. Walking boots are strongly recommend for the longest day walk.. but in the summer, if it's dry, sturdy trainers are fine for the rest of the walking. You don't need a torch even though it mentions it on the kit list.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I came home feeling relaxed and refreshed. Great mixture of mountains, lakes and the coast. You can be as energetic as you wish by doing extra walks on the free days, but there are plenty of other options too. All accommodation was outstanding, much better than expected. The only disappointment on this trip was the ridiculous flights provided by Explore including a near 5 hour stopover in Rome and a 04.45am check in at London. If I'd known about these flight times before I'd made the full payment I would have made my own arrangements as there are direct flights with good times... however the original flight times changed very shortly after I'd made my final payment. I'd make sure you investigate all flight options before booking on the group flight.

Our Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your holiday, especially as it provides some useful information for a potential customer looking to go on this trip.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the group flights for this tour. At the time of brochure production we check all available flights to the destination and then make a choice to which best suits the tour. This is completed well in advance of our tours operating and unfortunately there are occasions where the airline we use will change their schedules before our tour has departed. I have spoken to our Product Manager and we are trying to arrange alternative flights for next season’s tours.

 

 

 

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Michelle Brown

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The whole trip was great - lovely old towns, beautiful lakes and mountains, amazing caves. Group size was just right (12) and there was a good balance between free time and planned activities

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - Lukas was great at making everyone feel at ease & arranged a good balance of group meals and free time. He was very enthusiatic about what we were doing & seeing and kept us entertained with his knowledge of Slovenia. We had one day of rainy weather and Lukas was great at suggesting different activities for us.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

make sure you add on a couple of extra days at the beg/end - Slovenia is easy to get around & there is a lot more to see

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

only things I'd change would be to make the start and end point Ljubljana

 
10 Iain, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I think the entire group was struck by the sheer beauty and unspoiled nature of Slovenia's mountains.  We were blessed with perfect weather and, thanks to our tireless tour leader, certainly made the most of our time at Lakes Bled and Bohinj.  I personally enjoyed the walking but also got to have my first ever go at white water rafting, which was great fun.

Read more
 
10 Rosamund Pugh, 03/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It was all a highlight - but if I had to pick just one thing it would be watching the biggest electric storm I've ever seen over the Adriatic whilst listening to a band outside a bar in Piran - magical.

Read more
 
0 Roger Felgate, 20/09/10
Having been put off booking a foreign holiday earlier by the Icelandic volcano eruption, I was becoming restless so scanned the late availability pages. I love the mountains especially if there is water involved so this looked a good bet. The scenery was spectacular though our one day up the mountain by cable car was spoilt by rain and low cloud obscuring the view. We made up for this the following day which was warm and sunny. A free day, the group split up to undertake a variety of optional activities. I chose rafting in the morning along with several other group members. Donning wetsuits just in case of an unexpected dip, no one actually fell in, though some chose to swim across the river at one point. After lunch some of us still had energy to burn so hired mountain bikes (just remember that Europe drives on the right) and rode to a waterfall. Next day we moved on by train through a mountain tunnel then down the valley with some spectacular views of the river. En route to the coast we stopped to explore the Skocjan caves with their enormous caverns and many large stalagmites which have formed over the centuries. You'll need a head for heights here as the path is way above the cave floor in places and at one point crosses a narrow bridge 40m up. There is no option to go back if you don't like it! Our final free day was spent in the beautiful old coastal town of Piran where we explored the many narrow cobbled streets. All too soon the tour was over and it was time to return home. (SP- 28th August 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA