It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
591 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle The Cape CTC

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle The Cape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle The Cape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle The Cape reviews verified by Reevoo

7 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle The CapeScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Anthony

Cardiff
Stunning coast line and scenery. Amazing camaraderie excellent team. Food suberb.
Although cycle rides were fairly short there were some quite challenging hills.
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Brussels
Fantastic scenery, interesting itinerary, nice places to stay, good food and wine, good bikes
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 30 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

What a brilliant experience- all sorts of terrain to cycle, places to visit, wildlife to see, lovely guest houses and excellent eating/drinking!. A great group of people on this tour, thanks!Our guides were very knowledgeable, and nothing was too much for them - they adapted the routes for differing abilities and took us to places we would never have known about. They could not have been more helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 23 March 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Belfast, N.Ireland
We had an excellent trip in a wonderful country. The tour was extremely well-organised, and we would definitely use Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 22 March 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015
(7 out of 10)

Mari

belfast
a wonderful trip - I have written before about aspects of it that would make it even better....
Confirmed traveller: 22 March 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Mike

Devon
The tour of the Cape itself and the ride in the Swartberg mountains. Prepare for long bus rides!
Confirmed traveller: 23 November 2014
Published on: 08 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Explore tours are always packed with highlights - this was my 10th tour. The Western Cape has stunning scenery and the cycling was very well-planned so that we were in a different landscape each day. That said, it wasn't all about the cycling. Fuelling up for the road ahead was very enjoyable with abundant snacking, nice restaurants and good wine. We had a good balance of other activities,sightseeing and shopping opportunities without feeling rushed. Our day at Stellenbosch stands out as a highlight : great ride followed by wine tasting and then Jakes' surprise ( spoilers). Also the cape flowers,the wildlife and occasions to question, discuss and piece together South African history : the Boer war, life during apartheid and Nelson Mandela and his legacy. I now have quite a long reading list . . . We were fortunate to have a lovely mix of people in the group who all got on well together. My overall memory is of an inspiring country with genuine, friendly people. Bursts of activity, sometimes long but always followed by fun and relaxation and special moments of discovery that we all shared. We were spoilt, we had 2 great guides, Jakes and Rasodien who were both very professional and excellent ambassadors for their country. They worked well together and exuded South African warmth and positivity with big welcoming smiles. Everything seemed so relaxed and easy although behind the scenes they worked hard for long hours and were highly organised. They were flexible with the itinerary too and introduced options which they knew would appeal to the group. I genuinely felt that our time and experiences in South Africa mattered to them for the entire duration of the tour which is a rare quality and difficult to sustain. I also appreciated their patience and readiness to share their personal stories growing up in South Africa during very changing times.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016