It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
622 Matching trips
Site Search
Family Brochure 2018

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Discover South Africa FCP

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Family Discover South Africa

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Discover South Africa trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Discover South Africa reviews verified by reevooReevoo

7 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Family Discover South AfricaScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Wokingham
The trip was a good one but your documentation and telephone descriptions need to be updated as follows:
1. Two hours between flights in Johannesburg was barely enough due to the following:
a. We spent at least an hour in the Immigration queue;
b. Because we were so long in Immigration, the bags we had to pick up had already been removed from the carousel and flight details removed from the notification boards so we had to search the luggage around 5 carousels before we found our luggage;
c. The transfer desk had a big queue as a sports team were transiting on other, later, flights;
d. Two of our group on the later flight had similar problems;
e. Signage around Johannesburg was poor. We kept having to ask airport staff where to go as you had to exit the arriving terminal before entering another. There was no transfer route between the terminals;
f. It would be better to fly direct to Cape town. In Immigration there you have no concerns about missing a connecting flight;
2. There were no included breakfasts at Teniqua Treetops or in the Tsitsikamma Coastal Cottages. Self catering facilities were available but the group needs to be told about it. We used a convenient restaurant;
3. Why was Teniqua after the stay at Dunes. We were then travelling westwards. Look at the “Travelling Salesman” algorithm to minimise travel time;
The highlights were many and varied but get your documentation up to date.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Raveena

london
My favourite bit was the adventure and of course the lovely water park the only thing I did not like was the Johannesburg airport. You will only have two hours to do everything and two hours is not enough. Anyways I had a splendid holiday and I recommend you to do the trip.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kirsty

Wotton-under-Edge
Excellent, varied activity tour in a truly beautiful country. Something for all ages, our highlights were seeing baby elephants and a lion roaring 3 m from us on safari, climbing Table Mountain, white water canoeing, and visiting a school where the children sang to us. Whale watching trip was great too, glad we paid the extra to go as didn't see any whales in Hermanus from the shore (was very rough ride on boat though- not so good for those with sea sickness!). Elephant sanctuary lovely too, good experience feeding and getting right up close. A few down points - the itinerary was not accurate and varied a lot eg waterpark not open in winter, white water rafting was actually canoeing in doubles so tricky for the inexperienced- to be responsible for a child in the canoe too, many capsized! Cable car for table mountain was closed so we climbed/walked up and down- a 2.5hr climb on hands and feet, very tough, particularly for children but worth the view from the top. Accommodation varied a lot from the itinerary but was good, very cold at night though as no heating, so like camping in 5 degree celcius- you need several layers/ hats/ gloves etc as it was freezing! Our leader was amazing- good fun, extremely well organised, always went the extra mile to sort problems and packed lots of things into our day. A fab group of people to spend the 2 weeks with. Our best family holiday ever!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Nick

Sutton Coldfield
It was a great tour made excellent by the brilliant tour leader (Thanks Andre!). Quite a few things in the itinerary were not as listed and indeed different families on the tour had different itineraries. For example, the water park wasn't open and the hot springs weren't available. However, through massive amounts of hard work by the leader, better alternatives were provided - the Puzzle Park (should be added to itinerary in our opinion) was great for all of the group, for example.

Some of the hotel arrangements weren't perfect for some of the group, with a lack of accurate room allocations to ensure that groups were accommodated appropriately (occasions where parent and child were in double bed, or family of 5 had three rooms).

I agree with the previous reviewer about Featherbed - it wasn't worth it - local guide was really poor. The caves were good and the whale watching was great (we were unlucky at Hermanus, but lucky on the optional trip). The climb and descent of Table Mountain (due to planned cable car maintenance) was awesome, but challenging, although every member of our superb group made it. The safari too exceeded our expectations.

There were so many highlights to the trip that I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for a family adventure.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 03 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Michelle

Burnham
Our guide was excellent - knowledgeable, flexible and great with the kids. Some items on the itinerary were amazing - the safari, the Breede River camp, the District 6 museum. However, a number of the trips were not of that much interest to us: the ostrich farm, the Feathers trip, and the caves were all mediocre. The feeling of the group was that we would have preferred to spend longer at the Treetops accommodation and the National Park Camp site so that we could have enjoyed the amazing surroundings as there was so much for the children to do in these places but we only had time there to have a sleep and a meal.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback, Michelle – I’m pleased that your trip rated so highly. I have taken your feedback onboard, and we have adjusted the itinerary to allow more time in the Treetops accommodation for future departures. I’ve also taken out the Feathers National Park and replaced it with sea kayaking along the coastline from Central Beach – this comes into play for 2017 departures. Other families have found the ostrich farm informative and interesting, especially as they have seen these animals before. With this in mind we will be keeping this activity in the itinerary, but I’ll continue to monitor our customers’ feedback.

(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Everything! I loved it all . But safari was a winner for methe greatest ever. Really friendly.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 26 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015