It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Escape CP

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

58 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Cape EscapeScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 58 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Maidenhead, Berks.
A wonderful trip and my first time in South Africa. It was a very good value for money holiday giving a taster tour of some of the highlights of South Africa. The high light for me was the walk up Table Mountain on a beautiful hot sunny day....superb. The hotels and lodges throughout the tour were terrific. I was a little disappointed to miss out on the Zip wire in Tsitsikamma but the timing was too difficult.
The Ostrich tour was super as too the Game Drive in Botlierskop.
the itinerary was more than adequate in a very large country although some days there were too many options which caused a slight tension in the group.
I would recommend this trip completely.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(5 out of 10)

Sheila

London
I think the main problem was that Explore uses a company to arrange the guide and aspects of the itinerary and the guide who took over at the last minute was inadequately briefed. There were too many options on the itinerary - some of them incompatible at least without a great deal of forward planning, awareness of time limitations and firm leadership. The arrangement for booking tickets for the lifts to Table Mountain was a shambles. The days staying at Knysna should have offered a choice between seeing the town and doing a peninsula walk: time did not allow for both unless lunch was foregone (which some wold have done if given the choice) but this was not made clear. Offering the canopy tour in the Titsikamma National Park as an "option" was unwise as it takes 2.5 to 3 hours while the walks are relatively short. Many activities were great: the Cape of Good Hope and the penguin colony and the Kango caves and game drive. The group was not all that easy which didn't help! The programme needs rethinking to iron out the wrinkles.
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Antonia

Yorkshire
A very busy tour with early starts most days and long distances in the minibus. It was not the most relaxing holiday and two nights at each place wasn't enough to do all we wanted. The scenery of S Africa, the food and wine were outstanding and the people we met were lovely ,however our group was spoilt by a few difficult individuals who caused an unpleasant atmosphere at times.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Ivan

A very interesting trip from the point of view of what we saw. The leader was disorganized and couldn't keep to any kind of schedule which resulted in things being omitted unnecessarily.
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Windsor
Very busy trip but worth it! The highlights for me were lions in the reserve.The fabulous barbecue the tour leader and driver prepared for us. swimming outdoors in Feb. kirstenbosch gsrdens
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Lancing
Fabulous scenery, stunning sweeping coastal views, good accommodation with the exception of Round the Bend Lodge which seems an odd choice compared to the rest of the trip but ok if the weather is good! A couple of longish drives in a small bus but ok. Walks graded "easy" were not but others were ok. Us Brits maybe would not undertake these walks in the 33 degree midday sun! Worth booking a couple of extra days in Cape Town. Beware that not everyone arrives at the same time on the same day so if you travel solo you could end up just that for the first day/last day.
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

West Chiltington, West Sussex
Cape Escape was not the same as other Explore trips I have experienced. It was all done in relative comfort staying on the whole in more upmarket hotels and the food was so good in all the restaurants we visited.

It was 11 days of activity and sight seeing, learning about the history of the places we saw and the changes that have come about since the abolishment of apartheid. I have returned home eager to learn more about this beautiful and awe inspiring country through the books, films and music that Todd, our tour guide, gave each of us.

The people, whether coloured, black or white were lovely and so helpful when approached. I was so impressed by the way South Africa has come together as a nation .... there is still along way to go but they are heading in the right direction.

There were a few highlights to the tour but one that impressed me so much was getting up before dawn and seeing a family of 16 Meerkats waking up from their night's sleep to go about their daily business. None of the group wanted the experience to end ....

I am also a keen birder and saw around 78 different species in the 11 days.

To get to the top of Table Mountain was an achievement in itself as the weather was not in our favour .... too windy for the cable car to run or the top was dressed with a tablecloth! It was so impressive once up there ....

I went for the majority of the optional extras, which enhanced my holiday experience over all. I wouldn't have missed being 'hugged' by an ostrich!

A visit to Robben Island we did on our own and that has left a lasting impression. Mandela has certainly changed South Africa for the better .... O that he was still with us.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Lynne

Clevedon
Overall, the tour lived up to my expectations and surpassed them in some areas. We were 18 in the group, which I was told is rather more than usual, but it was amicable and enjoyable company.
The tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and ready to answer any questions but didn't seem to be aware that some people had health problems that caused them to struggle a bit on some of the so-called easy walks. When this was pointed out to him he just said they could've stayed behind at the lodge and they should have mentioned these health problems to him beforehand. (We assumed he would have been required to read the insurance health declaration forms that were handed to him!)
However, the tour was very enjoyable and we learned a lot about South Africa.
The highlights for me were the amazing caves, the beautiful scenery, and lovely birds.
Although we were told it wasn't a malaria area, we were supplied with mosquito nets at one lodge near the river. I didn't need to use mine because I sprayed myself thoroughly
with Avon's Skin So Soft and I would always recommend this to anyone to keep mosquitoes away.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 02 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Juliet

Warwick
A very enjoyable tour covering a large area. Highlights - table mountain, Penguins, game drive, Stellenbosch, Round The Bend Lodge, wine tasting. The Ostrich Farm was a bit disappointing. There was more travelling in the minibus than we thought there would be and the guide asked that everyone had their turn on the back seats but this should have been repeated during the week as not everyone was considerate enough to take their turn. The driver was very nice, helpful and drove well but I was concerned he was rather overweight. The accommodation was as expected but the standard varied in each one and more care could have been taken when arranging the room allocation that everyone had a fair share of having the nicer rooms. The guide was very good and knowledgeable and brought the group together well. Room number 7 in the Villa at the Lagoona Inn in Knysna should be avoided! We had to ask for another room as there was a very strong musty fungal damp smell in it.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

June

Haverfordwest
Corrine, our group leader, was a great ambassador for the country she obviously loves.
She met the needs of a diverse group of people, and was great fun.
For me a highlight was a sunset walk with a Cheetah, but there were many things I would like to return to and explore a little deeper.
Confirmed traveller: 28 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017