It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
653 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Escape CP

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 11 Days

Reviews for Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cape EscapeScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(5 out of 10)


Tour leader ruined it for me. South Africa as a whole stunning, can't fault the country. Itinary reasonable. Accommodation great esp last two places.
Confirmed traveller: 12 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


I had a great trip overall - a great group and plenty to do - but a few niggles - almost everything is an optional extra and if you opt not to participate there is nothing else to do but sit on the bus and wait. I was also disappointed to learn that the trip to Robben Island needs to be booked on line months in advance if you want to guarantee going there - pity Explore doesn't buy some in anticipation. Another day in Cape Town would have been good including a trip down-town. The trip up Table Mountain didn't happen due to rain, wind and low cloud, which was a shame as the previous day was beautiful. It would have been good if the itinerary was flexible enough to swap the day's round. However, I did manage a quick trip up to the top by cable car on the morning of my departure and the views were stunning.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2016
Published on: 19 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


Great tour. Always a gamble who else will be in the group but been lucky so far.
Highlight was the hike at Plettenberg Bay.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2016
Published on: 07 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


This tour is a fantastic introduction to South Africa and definitely makes you want to go back and see more! Our Tour Leader Dylan was fantastic, he was very passionate and knowledgeable about his country and was enthusiastic throughout. Accommodation was varied from 2-4* but always clean and comfortable. Highlights for me were climbing Table Mountain, seeing the Penguins at Boulder Beach, the Zip Wire canopy tour in Tsitsikamma, wine tasting in Stellenbosch and walking the Robberg Peninsula. I had a great time and enjoyed every second, the scenery and coastal drives were stunning!
Confirmed traveller: 21 September 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


This was a marvellous tour, travelling around the western cape. Dylan was an excellent tour leader who went out of his way to arrange optional activities, including walks in the nature reserves and group meals. He was helpful and friendly, as was Aubrey, our driver. The accommodation was generally of a high standard, whilst round the bend lodge was rustic, it was a fantastic experience and in a stunning location. There was a real mix of nature, scenery, culture and activities. There are two many highlights, including the zip wire, climbing table mountain and the game drive. We could have spent more time in Cape Town as there is so much to see, particularly Robben Island which really should be on the itinerary. Perhaps some of the time in Stellenbosch could be reduced to allow for this.
Confirmed traveller: 21 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Really enjoyed the trip, the tour was great got to see lots of different landscapes and places.
it was particularly made special by the tour leader Dylan, he was amazing, very informative about his country, constantly aware of weather changes, making sure we didn't miss anything ensuring everyone was getting the most out of their experience. The food was amazing, we ate at various places again Dylan had good suggestions knowing the area well.
Highlights for me was the zip wiring through the forest, eating ! and simply experiencing something different every day.
Dylan took us on some amazing walks !
A tip would be try to have a few days in Capetown before or after the trip as there is so much to see and do. my friend and i did this before and after which was well worth it. We visited Robben Island and many landmarks in Capetown getting to know the history which i felt was useful as we then traveled around and had a good understanding of how the cape developed. We then after, had a few days walking and visiting the beautiful Camps bay in time to wind down before flying home.
The itinerary said a visit to a township but it was planned on a Sunday which apparently they don't run on Sundays this was a particular disappointment for me as i really wanted to visit one to get the whole picture of life in the Cape today.
It was my first trip with explore also i've never been on any other group holidays but would definatley go again !
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2016
Published on: 15 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


The holiday was an amazing experience. Although we covered a lot of ground and saw a lot, it didn't feel rushed. The accommodation was excellent but the highlight for me were; the night spent in Round the Bend Lodge. It was completely out of the way in the most stunning countryside and we stayed in little Hobbit type huts. The evening was spent round a fire enjoying excellent food and company. The wine and food in South Africa was absolutely wonderful. Highlights for me were zip lining through the forest canopy, caving in the Cango caves and seeing the wildlife on safari. The scenery was stunning and visiting all the quaint towns, with all of their history was very interesting. For me the tour had everything. I would highly recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 31 August 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Highlight African penguins - all of amazing, varying landscapes.
Chance to walk without feeling obligated to be a 'serious' hiker
All accommodation excellent - high standard rooms - unusually large rooms
Explore leader was excellent - coped well with certain 'difficult' members of the group who had obviously not read the trip notes as they expected a serious walking experience - this was definitely not what I wanted.
Confirmed traveller: 24 August 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


A stunning trip. Warm enough in March/April and sunny. Highlights for me were the town of Stellenbosch, the optional township tour in Knysna, the wildlife drive in Boteillerskop Reserve, and of course Table Mountain and the bays adjacent to Cape Town. The food and wine were very good. I wish I had added another one or two days in Cape Town - there is so much to see and do, and not enough time in this lovely capital, but otherwise a good itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


The trip is packed full of optional activities but is so full of itinerary that the options limited the time.
The guide stopped at every single photo opportunity which was exceptional. He knew who liked what and even stopped mid track for the baboons so a member of the group could see them and take a photo.
The guide was extremely knowledgeable about his country, including politics, history, florna and forna, a joy for all.
It is a whistle stop tour and we visited all the great places but sometimes it would have been nice to have more time there. The game drive was exceptional and we saw loads but had to hurry off to the next place.
At the round the bend lodge, the drive from the main road was long and on arrival it was a beautiful place but perhaps a little bit too ristic for some. Hygiene was low but accepted. The food there again was ok but could have been better. Our poor vegan traveller had a slice of 1 peach for his pudding! The workers at the lodge were not aware of his needs. This could have easily been avoided.
The guide and driver were probably the best I've experienced on these small group tours with both Explore and others. Nothing was too much trouble, pleasant and helpful with everyone, even some tricky guests!
I was most impressed with this tour. Cape Town is absolutely fantastic and full of amazing sights, sounds and aromas. 5*s overall because of the hospitality, views and experiences.
And one thing I would like to add is whilst on the game reserve we saw a horseback safari to see the animals, well that should definitely be considered as an option, with enough time!
Thanks for a fabulous, fabulous and fabulous holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016