It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Escape CP

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

45 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cape EscapeScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 45 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Alan

Kyle of Lochalsh
The tour of western cape was marred by problems , some of which were unavoidable , and some were caused by the tour guide who seemingly although very informative and experienced , could not grasp what the clients wanted from their holiday . The highlights for me were Capetown area , the food and the company . The long hours in a cramped bus between stops made it difficult to stay awake during the travel periods .The travelling often dragged into the evening compromising our meals and relaxing time . In a nutshell the main drawbacks for me were the bus was too small with no toilet , the windy weather in capetown meant the table mountain gondola was off , meanwhile the tour guide was accompanying a few hikers up a track to the top when she should have been with the main group who were kicking their heels at the bus and botanical gardens which for some people was a wasted day . The hotels were very good value , except the Round the bend Lodge , when we arrived late and left early when I think I should have liked to spend the day exploring . It is also true that possibly me and my partner picked the wrong tour as she was disappointed it wasn't the true Africa , I however have lived in South Africa and had known what to expect . Overall I did enjoy the holiday and having been 4 times with Explore I will certainly book with you again .
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(4 out of 10)

Marc

Sights of South Africa were mostly good.
Sadly, the logistics and planning were severely lacking.
Explore seem to be more and more a booking agent for locally run tours by independent operators.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 30 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Warrington
Interesting and varied trip. Our guide, Chantel was superb - friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The animal interactions were the best parts for me - cheetahs, penguins and an unexpected bonus watching a Wildebeest give birth whilst on a safari drive.
Confirmed traveller: 25 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Wendy

Cotswolds
This trip was just amazing with a good balance of walking, leisure and sightseeing.
We had Chantel as our tour guide who was absoutely great - walking encyclopaedia!! She gave us options to split up and do different activities.
The only downside was the tour bus - although it was licenced to take 20 ( there were 18 of us, plus the driver and tour guide), it nevertheless, was too small and we were very cramped.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Overall the tour was fantastic. The only blip was the change in itinerary which definitely had a negative effect. We had to do extra miles and we missed out on the end of the Zip wire experience. The highlight for me was the visit to Table Mountain. I would have liked to have spent more time up there. Im glad we did so much and saw everything we did but it was quite full on.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 24 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Linda

This tour provided a comprehensive introduction to South Africa's Western Cape, combining stays in Cape Town and Stellenbosch with going further afield to visit the areas around Oudtshoorn, Knysna and Swellendam, with their differing but equally stunning scenery. Highlights were being able to hike up Table Mountain - a tough, steep but rewarding climb with tremendous views, the excellent wines and the great welcome from all our hosts. We were also lucky enough to have a great guide and driver looking after us, who dealt with any hiccups encountered along the way in a calm and efficient manner. Despite the fluctuating pound, it is still relatively cheap to eat out etc in South Africa and it is possible to access ATMs and pay by card in most areas of the tour.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 17 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Manchester
Excellent introduction to the South West Cape.
Lots of variety and activity and very well organised.
Definitely recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 14 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kathryn

Kenilworh
A tour which is so diverse to cover the best features of South Africa. Stunning coastal and mountain scenery, rich wildlife and flowers, warm, friendly and beautiful people and delicious foods and wine.
The tour includes a wide range of activities to cater for the different expectations, interests and physical abilities within the group. From climbing Table Mountain and hiking in rough and challenging terrain, to observing lions and rhino and penguins in close proximity and sight seeing. Then there was the delights of quaffing delicious wine in a vinyard ........ So many highlights for me. One being our trip to a township and visit to a primary school. Both, fascinating experiences.
There's something for everyone on this trip.


Tips: Be prepared for some long journeys in a mini bus. Might not suit everyone. Although we did have frequent comfort stops and were able to soak up the amazing scenery on the way.
The hotels were very comfortable, clean and well equipped, all provided excellent breakfasts. Some people found the Round The Bend Lodge a tad too rustic for their liking but the setting of location made up for it for me. So be prepared for this one night.
Another tip. Don't take too many clothes like I did and forget the books to read; you won't have time !
We were lucky to have an excellent guide in Narise, who looked after us well and informed us of all aspects of South African culture, geography and history.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Paul

Beverley
Good range of activities including different options for those not wanting to take part. Some though, that costed very little, could easily have been incorporated into the total cost of the trip. Guide was informative and approachable and an excellent time keeper keeping the itinerary on schedule throughout.
Instead or two nights in Stellenbosch and an hour in Franschoek it would have been better to have that the other way round as Franschoek is a much nicer place to visit.
Although there were long travelling days there was always something to see and these were broken up nicely. Particularly enjoyed the tour of the Cape, climb up Table Mountain, the ostrich farm visit, Kango Caves, Cape Agulhus.
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Maureen

Preston
Highlights - The fantastic city of Cape Town, hikes especially climbing Table Mountain, Fabulous food, Travelling through stunning scenery, Hermanus Bay, Roberg Peninsula. The wealth of information from our guide throughout the trip.

I wouldn't recommend the optional ostrich farm visit as they didn't seem to have much space to roam around.

We booked an additional day at the beginning and end of the tour which was great as it gave more time to spend in Cape Town which is a fabulous city.
Confirmed traveller: 03 November 2016
Published on: 08 November 2016