It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cape Escape CP

Visiting: South Africa
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Cape Escape

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cape Escape trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cape Escape reviews verified by reevooReevoo

65 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Cape EscapeScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 65 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Ann

London
The tour was great although the small group size made it more difficult to target the activities. Shame we did not get to visit people in their homes - such as a township tour - which is usual on Explore tours. It might have also been good to offer a wider range of possible side activities to cater both for those who enjoy adventure activities and those who prefer culture, museums etc.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Gay

Wareham
We packed a lot into 11 days, sometimes perhaps a bit too much but there's a lot to see. Some long bus drives but with regular breaks. Our Guide Todd was excellent and very informative. This part of South Africa sometimes doesn't seem very African, the towns are very European with art galleries and restaurants and the scenery is breathtaking. The food generally was excellent. We would have liked to have spent 2 nights at the last stop Round the Bend which although very rustic is in a lovely setting beside a river. It could be a perfect spot to relax in one place for a day before the end of the trip.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Maxine

Harrow
Great trip and Great Tour leader Corina. My only criticism would be that the tour does not need to include Swellendam and it would be better to stay in Hermanus.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2017
Published on: 26 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Isabella

Beckenham
This was a very enjoyable and varied tour with a good mix of options. Todd was a very knowledgeable guide who wanted to show us as much of his beautiful country as he could and give us a balanced view of it's history and culture.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2017
Published on: 10 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Marcus

East Preston,West Sussex
I enjoyed the trip very much.The tour leader(Todd) was excellent;informative,organised and very helpful.Personally,I did not like Stellenbosch(too Western) very much and would have preferred less time there. Also I could have done with only one wine tasting experience.
The Round The Bend location was a revelation and I could have happily spent more time there( a walk perhaps?) but I understand that such a proposal would be controversial.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2017
Published on: 07 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Maidenhead, Berks.
A wonderful trip and my first time in South Africa. It was a very good value for money holiday giving a taster tour of some of the highlights of South Africa. The high light for me was the walk up Table Mountain on a beautiful hot sunny day....superb. The hotels and lodges throughout the tour were terrific. I was a little disappointed to miss out on the Zip wire in Tsitsikamma but the timing was too difficult.
The Ostrich tour was super as too the Game Drive in Botlierskop.
the itinerary was more than adequate in a very large country although some days there were too many options which caused a slight tension in the group.
I would recommend this trip completely.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(5 out of 10)

Sheila

London
I think the main problem was that Explore uses a company to arrange the guide and aspects of the itinerary and the guide who took over at the last minute was inadequately briefed. There were too many options on the itinerary - some of them incompatible at least without a great deal of forward planning, awareness of time limitations and firm leadership. The arrangement for booking tickets for the lifts to Table Mountain was a shambles. The days staying at Knysna should have offered a choice between seeing the town and doing a peninsula walk: time did not allow for both unless lunch was foregone (which some wold have done if given the choice) but this was not made clear. Offering the canopy tour in the Titsikamma National Park as an "option" was unwise as it takes 2.5 to 3 hours while the walks are relatively short. Many activities were great: the Cape of Good Hope and the penguin colony and the Kango caves and game drive. The group was not all that easy which didn't help! The programme needs rethinking to iron out the wrinkles.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback Sheila, I’m sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of the trip. We work closely with our local agents to plan all of our itineraries, carefully selecting the suppliers we will use and the services we will provide. We do rely on our agents and leaders to execute these trips according to the plans we’ve arranged. Deon was a last minute replacement but, having recently received training specifically for this trip, we felt confident in his ability to run it – I’m sorry this was not the case. We’ve taken your feedback and suggestions onboard, and our Operations Manager will review these with our local agent.

(6 out of 10)

Antonia

Yorkshire
A very busy tour with early starts most days and long distances in the minibus. It was not the most relaxing holiday and two nights at each place wasn't enough to do all we wanted. The scenery of S Africa, the food and wine were outstanding and the people we met were lovely ,however our group was spoilt by a few difficult individuals who caused an unpleasant atmosphere at times.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017

Hi Antonia, thank you for the feedback. This trip does involve some long distances as we navigate the Garden Route but we hadn’t received feedback before that the trip was too busy, though we will keep an eye on customers' comments to see if we need to change the information we provide. I’m glad you enjoyed the food, wine and scenery and were welcomed by the friendly South Africans, it's one of my favourite countries!

(6 out of 10)

Ivan

A very interesting trip from the point of view of what we saw. The leader was disorganized and couldn't keep to any kind of schedule which resulted in things being omitted unnecessarily.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017

Hi Ivan, great to hear you found the trip interesting. We have addressed the issues you raised with Deon, your Explore Leader, and have decided not to use him for future Explore trips as we do not feel he can provide the expert leadership that we expect from our Explore leaders.

(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Windsor
Very busy trip but worth it! The highlights for me were lions in the reserve.The fabulous barbecue the tour leader and driver prepared for us. swimming outdoors in Feb. kirstenbosch gsrdens
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 13 March 2017