It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
562 Matching trips
Site Search


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historical Treasures of Turkey TA

Visiting: Turkey
Tour Duration 8 Days
Reviews for Historical Treasures of Turkey 4.5 out of 5 based on 7 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historical Treasures of Turkey tour available at present.

Please select a date:

4.5 Susan Wells, 26/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

I expected to have a good trip but I think it was extraordinary. The sites we visited,the people we met, the excursions to eat traditional Turkish food and the trouble taken in every aspect of the tour made it a tremendous trip

Read more
4.5 Dawn Finch, 24/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

All of the amazing ancient sites were gorgeous, most of which we had to ourselves. Walking down the dazzling white terraces at Pamukkale in the cool of the sunset was incredible. To be honest there were so many wow moments in this holiday that it is impossible to list them all.

Read more
5 , 15/08/13


Sarah Harrison

Tour Code


What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The highlight of the tour for me was enjoying the hospitality of a village farming family on their farm, surrounded by glorious countryside. The grandmother of the family gave us some of the best food I have ever had and we were so warmly welcomed and looked after by the whole family. True Turkish generosity.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ozan, our tour leader was exceptionally knowledgeable about all of the sites and locations we visited. We had great fun as he was very entertaining and we shared some fantastic meals out and stories. He really looked after us all and made our holiday so memorable and enjoyable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Pack loose cotton clothing for the very hot weather. Also, a parasol or umbrella would be very useful as many of the ancient sited are open and the sun is very strong.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Thank you for yet another wonderful, memorable holiday.

4 Margaret Andrews, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We waited outside the entrance to Ephesos for the gates to open - great to be the first to enter and we saw much of the site before the tourists from 5 cruise ships arrived.  This is typical with Explore ......... and much appreciated!  It was also good to see 2 unexcavated sites at Alinda and Pinara, with no other people present.  Seeing turtles swimming in the wild at both Dalyan and Fethiye was a dream come true.  Food was generally not expensive and the fresh fish was delicious.

Read more
5 Susan Blake, 05/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I had a great time on this tour.  The highlight for me was visiting the site of Alinda - we were the only people there and it is a truely beautiful place.  What I especially liked was the chance to see a 2500 year old archaeological site that hadn't been excavated or restored - it was just what had survived the ravages of time (quite a lot has survived).

Read more
0 Prue (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
A really interesting tour around many of the ancient highlights in Turkey. The tour guide was brilliant with excellent knowledge of the sites and my particular highlights were Ephesus and Pamukkale. The tour has a good pace, with a few days quite busy and extremely cultural and a couple of days with a nice relaxing itinerary - a lovely mix. I didnt do this - but in hindsight a great option would be to combine the TA tour with the Blue Cruise CE tour afterwards as they can be combined, other passengers did this and contacted me afterwards to state it was a great combination of tours. (TA - 21st June 2010)
0 Beverly Denton, 23/12/10
Highlights were the remote sites of Pinara and Alinda. These were completely untouched and unrestored.  The stadium at Aphrodisias was the largest and best preserved I've seen.  The unexpected bits were the evening trip to the wine making village of Sirence for our meal, plus wine tasting.  It is a really beautiful village.  Another unexpected was the lunch at the local family's house in Minara on the way to the Pinara ruins.  We sat in their back yard, eating a beautiful lunch overlooking the hills.  Don't expect the usual standard of hotels for Hotel+  though.  Many of the hotels were very shabby and some quite dirty.  They didn't have top sheets on the beds, only rough blankets that didn't look as though they'd been washed.  My advice is to take a top sheet - that way you know you're the only person who's slept in it! (TA - 23rd October)
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA