It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Moorish Spain to Marrakech RMO

Visiting: Spain , Morocco
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Moorish Spain to Marrakech

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Moorish Spain to Marrakech trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Moorish Spain to Marrakech reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Moorish Spain to MarrakechScores 7.9 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Loraine

Dublin
Local transport worked very well and felt much more authentic than a big air conditioned coach on motorways. Most of the accommodation was well located and several of the local guides were exceptional and passionate about their subject/city. Lahcen the Explore leader in Morocco was very attentive.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 05 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Janet

Egham
A very busy trip (8 hotels in 12 nights) visiting many cities. Ours was a large group (18) which was too large and which fragmented quickly into smaller groups. The rail journeys were very enjoyable and relaxing and the ferry to Tangier was a great way to arrive in a new continent. We had 2 tour leaders, one for each country and Antonio (an Italian) led us in Spain with Lahcen in Morocco who was very cheerful and helpful. The local guide in Marrakech was excellent and felt I learned a lot about Islam. In Fez the local guide took us to the tannery and a lot of time in was wasted in the leather shop. We were not taken to the 'must-see' sights in Fez which was a great pity. The weather was much colder than anticipated and warm jumpers, gloves and hats were needed. The highlights were watching the sunset overlooking the Alhambra with the snow covered Sierra Nevada behind, the rail journeys and the ferry crossing.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 07 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Denis

Winchester
Really enjoyedkvu time in Spain and good itinerary. Main issue was the size of the group which was too xflarge(18) and became very l.
Hotels on average of a reasolnable quality though the hotel in Fes was of poor quality and ruined by very loud music from the downstairs disco late into the night. Shame it was Christmas Eve and Christmas Day and the hotel situated some distance away from the medina in a location where there was very little to offer in walking around nearby.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 04 January 2017
(5 out of 10)

Dorothy

Poole Dorset
Spain : Antonio the leader was not approachable and I was let down very badley in Granada. I could not manage the walk (run) up to Alhambra. He failed to give me my entrance ticket nor inform me there was easier routes up, like a taxi which I would have happily paid for. The rest of the trip was similar. All Hotels were very disappointing and extremely basic. His recommendations for eating places were very disappointing.

Morocco: Larcen was excellent and helped me enormously. Transport was well organised, loved the train journeys. All hotels were very disappointing.

Overall 1. I would not stay in any of those hotels again.
2. There were to many people in the group. Smaller groups would be more manageable.
3. It was a very expensive trip. Food was far more expensive than the impression you gave in the itinerary .
4. The whole tour Spain and Morocco was very frenetic and I did not see or learn much about the countries. It was rush Rush rush rush.
5. We were told in Spain not to buy souveniers in Spain as they were better and cheaper in Morocco. They probably were but was to exhausted by the time we got to Marrakech to do any purchasing, also no money left after the high cost of meals.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017

Hi Dorothy, I am sorry a taxi was not arranged for you, especially as others in the group took this option. We will pick this up with the leader as well as your comments regarding food choices. This trip has run full for a number of years and only recently we have had comments regarding it affecting the group, so we will keep an eye on this. We have discussed the cost of meals with our local agent and they advise that the figures on the trip notes are accurate for a mid-range meal – so we are sorry this was not as expected, they will also review the hotels going forward. This is a moderate graded trip and, though there are free days and afternoons of sightseeing, there is quite a bit planned in. If you are not sure of the grading and want to check if the tour pace suits you we will be happy to chat about the trip. In most cases we do have someone who has been on the trip and can offer a great insight to how the days flow.

(9 out of 10)

Judith

Tettenhall
A busy tour with excellent leadership in Morocco. Mohamed described the tour in detail recommending and joining us for meals in very pleasant surroundings - especially the Clock Cafe in Fez. The Moroccan guides in each individual city provided a wealth of information - a great sense of humour in Fez! Recommend that you take sterling for exchange in Morocco not euros.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Burnley
This was the first Explore trip that I have been on that used public transport for many of the transfers and even though I was aware of it and I found the experience enjoyable I did find it difficult in getting my bag on and off the transport. The highlights of the trip were enjoying the religious processions in Andalucia during Holy Week and the trek up to the Berber village in the Atlas mountains.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 02 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Burnley
I saw some wonderful places. Our tour leaders (we had two - one for each country) were excellent. They even took us to restaurants in the evenings where they knew the food was safe to eat. Excellent tour
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2016
Published on: 02 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Barbara

It is a fast-paced trip with many one night stays. The scenery is beautiful with interesting variety and sites are intriguing with contrasts between Andalucia and Morocco. Train travel provides quicker service between locations and dramatic landscape views.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 18 January 2016