It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Secrets Of Sri Lanka DSL

Visiting: Sri Lanka
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Secrets Of Sri Lanka

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Secrets Of Sri Lanka trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Secrets Of Sri Lanka reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Secrets Of Sri LankaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Anne

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip with its varied itinary and great accommodation. It was further enhanced by travelling with a great group of people and a fantastic tour leader, Sam.
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Knaresborough
Sam was a very good tour leader.

Accommodation was fine throughout except for the Eden spa. We rejected the first two rooms we were offered, one of which had already been rejected by another couple in our group. At the Eden spa the quality of the rooms offered varied greatly from couple to couple and I suggest you agree with Eden spa that they offer the same quality accommodation to each person/couple travelling. After our third room offered we were more than happy.

Food was very good throughout with the exception of the White House at nuwara eliya where the service was slow and the food was very disappointing - especially as we had eaten so much better for considerably less money everywhere else.

Overall a terrific trip - thank you.

Sam spread our one day itinerary out over two days in one place, which meant we did not get a completely free day. This was good as we were able to see everything at a more leisurely pace. We felt it worked really well this way.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 26 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Maureen

Richmond Upon Thames
A well paced tour, visiting a number of tourist attractions with the tour guide and some free time for one's own explorations. Good to do a little homework before you go. The itinerary provided a highlight for each day! A warm welcome to Sri Lanka from the tour leader. Mahoora tented camp in Wilpatu - game drives and night time "jungle walk". Excellent food and service. Climbing Lion's rock - not for the feint hearted but well worth the effort. I found my walking shoes and trekking poles very useful! A 05:00 start well worth it to get stunning views on Hortons plane. The hill country scenery is beautiful and the hotels here more personal and homely than some of the larger international hotels on the tour. Take the time to interact with the local people. It will enhance your trip. We had a superb tour leader- Vipula , who took into account the needs and interests of all in the group. Very proud of his country and keen to share all his expertise and knowledge. He was especially supportive of my husband who has mobility problems, encouraging him to do as much as he could by helping him manage the steps and general terrain and also advising on which activities he thought he could manage and those that he could not. He always made sure that my husband had a comfortable place to wait for the rest of the group to return. In hotels without lifts he arranged a ground floor room. When visiting the Botanical Gardens he took my husband around the gardens in a buggy. What I though was going to be a rather stressful holiday was anything but - thanks to Vipula. Our driver Ravi was an excellent driver and he kept the vehicle spotlessly clean. He also shared his knowledge and expertise with us and stopped regularly for us to take photographs or just to take in the scenery. I appreciated the help he gave to my husband too.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Pauline

Wallington
The Secrets of Sri Lanaka trip was overall fantastic. Great, well chosen locations and mostly well paced. The hotels were excellent, especially the Tamarind Hill. Tikiri was an outstanding guide.

On a couple of occasions at I felt we needed more time at major sights. Dambula caves in particular, 30 mins was not enough to drink in the atmosphere. It was disappointing to have so little time in Galle, a quick visit the evening before and only a coupl of hours to visit the following day from 9-11.

The Eden Spa was a great disappointment, particularly after the Tamarind Hill. It did not seem to fit with other places we stayed. Not the type of resort hotel I would ever choose. Sad that e had more nights here than anywhere else.

However these are a few points from two weeks of a truly memorable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 07 February 2016
Published on: 01 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gillian

Ashtead, Surrey
The Sri Lankan people. Wildlife in general and the close up of the Sloth Bear[at Willpaththu] in particular.The Standing Buddha of Aukana.Climbing Lion Rock.
Be prepared for sudden changes in the weather!
Confirmed traveller: 25 October 2015
Published on: 26 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

this is an amazing trip, full on and busy but with something for everyone. There was wildlife, temples, fantastic scenery, lovely food & great hotels (premium accom tour).Saraht was a great guide. Nothing was too much trouble, he made the tour great fun and both him & his team were with us full time. They really went out of their way to make this a wonderful holiday by being so helpful. They made suggestions for extra activities where they could & also listnened to what the group wanted. They also did little things like buying treats for everyone on the bus e.g biscuits & coconuts. I think the team went the extra mile & deserve recognition for that.
Confirmed traveller: 17 March 2015
Published on: 11 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Bedford
Getting to the top of the Lion Rock and seeing a whale after hours of looking. My only reservation was that the holiday was advertised as moderate not busy but it did not turn out that way. This may have been due to an over-enthusiastic tour leader (although his extra stops broke up the journeys well), and the fact that journeys took a long time because the roads are narrow and slow. Also I could not resist two extra excursions. It was a shame that some lovely hotels were slept in but very little else.
Confirmed traveller: 08 March 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Lewes
This is a very well organised trip and the hotels were well chosen. Some were exceptional. It is a very well oiled tourist itinerary so if you want somewhere away from British tourists perhaps go north rather than the triangle.

One thing I would say - and the large tour operators could have some influence here - is that the Yala park safaris as really pretty sad as at times it felt like Piccadilly Circus with about 30 jeeps crowding around a poor elephant. Jeeps spewing out fumes. Hardly eco and not really what the literature says. They should use electric cars and not allow so many in at one time.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015

Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to see you had lovely trip. I agree wholeheartedly with your review of Yala and for the reasons you state we changed to Willpaththu National Park. The same animals can be seen as in Yala, however it is less crowded, making our visit more enjoyable and responsible. Electric all-terrain vehicles are an interesting idea, this is not something that we are sure can made available within the local infrastructure but we will keep an eye out.