It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Sri Lankan and Maldives Family Adventure FSL

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Sri Lankan and Maldives Family Adventure

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Sri Lankan and Maldives Family Adventure trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Sri Lankan and Maldives Family Adventure reviews verified by reevooReevoo

12 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Sri Lankan and Maldives Family AdventureScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Louise

Chichester
Amazing, we'd repeat the whole tour again tomorrow! A good balance of activities for everyone. Go hungry, we ate a lot!
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 25 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Holmfirth
Highlights - The whole Mud House experience; climbing the Sigiriya sky fortress; exploring the Sri Lankan countryside by tractor, canoe and tuk tuk; the elephant safaris; releasing the baby turtles; snorkelling with sharks, turtles and dolphins.
(However, I could have listed virtually the entire itinerary including the extras slotted in by our fabulous tour leader,Vipulla. There was nothing we didn't enjoy!)
Tips - Sri Lankan rupees not dollars used in Sri Lanka, US dollars in Maldives; bug repellent essential but we came away bite free.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Freida

London
This was an amazing tour and we were able to see so much of Sri Lanka without feeling too rushed. Each day had a different and unique experience and my boys had such an unforgettable time. Highlights were definitely our stay in the Mudhouse, the elephant safaris, seeing the baby turtles and a brilliant relaxing time sailing in the Maldives. Tikiri was a brilliant tour leader and looked after us so well, making it such a smooth trip. The only thing that let the holiday down for us was the admin side of the trip and a few issues we faced - we have already spoken to Explore about this. Other than this, the trip would be a 10/10 and a must-do for any family.
Confirmed traveller: 10 August 2016
Published on: 29 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julie

Newcastle under Lyme
This is a fabulous trip with a busy and fairly active itinerary. It provides a good mix of history, cultural and wildlife experiences, with insight into the lives of people living in the villages. There are so many highlights; elephants, elephants and baby elephants, birds, monkeys, tea plantations, Polonnaruwa, the temple of the tooth, the unique Mud House, Banbarawela Hotel, Galle cricket ground. Our guide was just wonderful it was like he was on holiday with us but of course bought his expert knowledge at all times. The time in the Maldives is perfect to relax and swim and snorkel in the crystal clear sea, seeing many tropical fish and turtles and sharks.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 19 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

We've been on several Explore holidays before and this must be one of the best and most memorable. We loved staying out in the jungle in The Mud House, with it's outdoor shower and toilet, wildlife and very friendly cat. The staff were very helpful, bringing us a tea urn and cakes on board a tuktuk after we had been swimming. We loved the Giritale hotel, with it's amazing views, very entertaining band and delicious food. We were lucky enough to be in Kandy for the Sri Dalada Buddhist procession, with over 50 dressed elephants and numerous dancers and musicians, which was very spectacular. Another highlight was the Bandarawela Hotel, a fantastic colonial hotel, full of antique furniture and old world charm. We enjoyed both jeep safaris, seeing elephants, monkeys, numerous birds and even some wild crocodiles. We all loved releasing 3 day old baby turtles into the Indian Ocean. In The Maldives we enjoyed the little sand banks we stopped off at, the snorkelling on the coral reefs and the fresh food cooked on board. My 9 year-old daughter's highlights were riding in tuktuks, the baby turtles, snorkelling in The Maldives, the chocolate cake at the Bandarawela Hotel and enjoying the company of the other children on the tour, who all had lots of fun together. After an evening singing and dancing with the band at the Giritale Hotel, she informed me that she loved Sri Lanka!Sam was very helpful and friendly and kept us all on track with the tour. He was very caring towards the children, even apologising when my daughter fell over, although it was certainly not his fault. He was respectful towards the adults and we felt that we were well looked-after. The bus driver and his assistant were friendly and frequently provided us with biscuits during the journeys. On the boat, the crew were helpful and friendly, some of them coming snorkelling with us. There were drinks and snacks provided whenever we came back from swimming. The cook provided excellent meals.
Confirmed traveller: 15 September 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

As enthusiastic and seasoned travelers to India, Sri Lanka always had a lot to live up to. But our family holiday there in August has more than converted us to the delights of this stunning island which seems to have everything its larger neighbor has, but without the hassle or vast travelling distances. Our holiday had the lot: jungle, arid plains, mountains, tea plantations, palm-fringed beaches, safaris, nature, cycling, snorkelling, cooking, eco-hotels, camping, ancient monuments…..There’s so much to see and do, describing this trip as ‘moderate’ in pace may be pushing it!Who’d have thought our all-time favorite hotel was one which had no walls, an outdoor loo and shower and no air-con? But The Mud House was the best: each family had their own ultra-comfy mud dwelling with bicycles to take us to the open-air ‘dining room’ where surely the best of Sri Lankan food was served three times a day. The other accommodation highlight for us was the Athgira River Camp. Sri Lankan camping is clearly a notch up on the British version: tents here have their own en-suite bathrooms! The Nature elements of the trip all lived way beyond expectations: the elephants in Kaudulla National Park were more abundant than any we’d seen in India and releasing three day old turtles into the big blue sea was a moment none of us will forget. Our wonderful guide, Sarath, was rightly determined that none of us should leave his country without a good understanding of Sri Lanka’s culture. We learnt all about the country’s history, geography, cuisine and key cultural spots. By the end of the trip, we could all count up to 10 and say a few words of greeting. He was an expert guide around all Sri Lanka’s cultural highlights - the Sigiriya Fortress being the highlight. Walking round monuments in the sun was made considerably easier by the knowledge that our trusty driver would ALWAYS be there ready to pick us up hot and thirsty at the end of all each visit, bus all cooled down with cold water bottles at the ready.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2015
Published on: 17 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Benson, Wallingford
Without doubt the stay at the MudHouse was something that will stay with us - it is a place like no other. The people, the experiences and the cuisine there were just the perfect start to the holiday. We would go back just for that! The time in Sri Lanka is filled with visits to temples, local villages and elephant safaris. Interspersed with some of the most wonderful food and some wonderfully friendly people. The whole thing was vividly brought to life by our guide, Hiti, most definitely a highlight of the tour! His call of "caps, cameras and suncream" as we left the tour bus for the next part of our adventure still rings in my ears today!

Travelling with Hiti meant we had a fun and fact filled experience wherever we visited - Sri Lanka has so much history packed into such a small space. The other great thing through travelling with him was that we were able to meet real Sri Lankan people and understand how they live and work. A chance to really understand this beautiful island and its culture is a truly amazing, humbling and enlightening experience that I cannot recommend to you enough.

The schedule for Sri Lanka is very very full - you are up early and out the door for a full day of adventure. The time in the Maldives was the perfect counter to this - we were on a Maldivian dhoni for 4 days visiting some wonderful islands and enjoying the beautiful blue waters. We also had the chance to meet with the locals and understand a little of their world - it is so different to ours - I still find it hard to imagine living on an island with dimensions less than 1 mile by 1 mile. The captain and crew were amazing - I have to give a special mention to the cook on board - the meals he prepared every day were particularly amazing - made even more so by the small space he had to work in.

This was the holiday of a lifetime - if you do one holiday with Explore then this is the one.
I hope we get to do it again.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2015
Published on: 06 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Oxford
I found everyone I spoke to extremely helpful and friendly. We have never been on a holiday like this before, and so I asked lots of questions, but I never felt that I was being a nuisance.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2015
Published on: 28 September 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jo

Reading
Jude, our guide was amazing. He put so much into making sure everything was perfect for us and added so many extra special touches to our tour. It meant we were able to relax and let him take care of everything. All the families on the tour got on really well and we all became a real "team". We did so much on our holiday, way more than the itinery promised. As a family we really had the best time ever - a real holiday to remember with many special memories. Thank you Explore!
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015