It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
611 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Active Sri Lanka! ASL

Visiting: Sri Lanka
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Active Sri Lanka!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Active Sri Lanka! trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Active Sri Lanka! reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Active Sri Lanka!Scores 8.7 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

James

Lanark
Good balance of activities. Bit of exercise, but also a variety of other sightseeing or safari activities etc each day,

Beautiful country and friendly people. Bit of time spent travelling in minibus, but always something interesting to see.

Mix of accommodation. Some very nice hotels. Also some more quirky camping stays.

Tour leader and support team couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2017
Published on: 13 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Cheshunt, Hertfordshire
This was an excellent holiday with a mixture of lots of different things. We have done other "Active" Explore tours before and enjoyed this one very much too. The bike riding was probably a bit too much both in distance and amount of days (as it was not a cycling holiday) and an extra trek would have been better. It would have been nice to have done a home stay with a family like the one in "Active Thailand". However the holiday was thoroughly enjoyed and the experience of camping and hotels was brilliant. The completion of Adams Peak was an achievement and along with visiting Sigiriya rock and all the temples, game parks seeing both elephants and a leopard, white water rafting and meeting the locals as we trekked was lovely. My highlight though was taking a walk along the beach in the early morning at the end of the tour and coming face to face with wild turtles in the water. Unexpected but most memorable. The baby elephants at the elephant sanctuary held a special place too which was an unplanned extra. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip though and would recommend to friends and already have, to yet another excellent tour by Explore. Thank you.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 05 February 2017
(6 out of 10)

Andrew

Leicester
busy itinerary, could improve on information and some of the accommodation.
Loved the cycling but on day 3 we didn't start till 12.30 and cycled for 2 hours in the mid day sun, worst time to exercise.
We also started a 3 hour hike at 12.00 which left me totally exhausted due to the heat.

Some good accommodation in Negombo and Hikadua as well as the Lake Hotel, but the hotel by Adams Peak was atrocious and the Rafters lodge was disappointing due to no hot running water
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Dale

Great Bardfield
Absolutely fantastic, I couldn't have imagined doing so much if I had booked individually..... for me the best bit was jumping out of the raft after completing the rapids and just floating downstream on the river.... sorry... but I can't think of anything negative to say about this trip
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Jenny

A great trip if you want to keep busy, generally the active elements are not too strenuous, a couple of tougher days. The organisation of the trip is great, making it easy to just enjoy the activities. Quite a lot of time travelling by mini bus in the second half of the trip, but to be expected to see so much of the country. The tour guide was excellent, great knowledge.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 02 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Corfe Mullen
The rafting was great as was the location the logdes were brill kandy wasnt that great the first hotel needs attention!!the rest were spot on sue trip guy was brillant such knowledge!!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 02 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

David

Sunderland
This was an excellent adventure from start to finish. We visited some exciting and interesting places - most of them well away from the normal tourist spots and having Sam our guide with us really gave some fantastic context and background to what we were seeing.

The mix of activities (cycling, hiking, rafting) was just about right - although I personally would have enjoyed a couple more activities on the water. The cycle rides in particular could be pretty hot work so be prepared for plenty of changes of clothes throughout your trip. You may want to take some hand wash with you or take advantage of hotel laundry facilities. Because of the heat and humidity we were always up very early in the morning which was brilliant for me as I am someone who normally sleeps in but on this trip you could look at your watch when you had completed a bike ride, or a lovely hike or had been on a whale watching boat for a couple of hours and realise that it was still only 9am and you had the whole of a fantastic day ahead.

For me the tour highlights were the whale watching, the hike through the paddy fields on Knuckles Ridge, the climb up Lions Rock and the white-water rafting. I was a little disappointed in Adams Peak. The walk up 5000 or more steps to the top was extremely tough and when we got to the temple at the top there were so many people there it was impossible to sit down and would have been almost impossible to get good views of the sunrise. That said it was a challenge to get to the top and I am pleased that I met that challenge.

The trip involves a lot of travelling which on occasion requires a number of hours on the bus but this was always interesting in terms of the views, the extremely narrow roads around some of the mountain areas and the on-going information from Sam (it also gave an opportunity to catch up on some sleep if the earlier activities had been a bit taxing!).

An excellent trip. Highly recommended.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Oscar

Clark
Great trip, love the diversity of activities. We loved the biking , hiking & white water rafting.
One thing that should be improve its giving the group & introduction on making sure they can operate their bikes.
Another problem we run into, was our tour leader asking us to switch our room two night before we left, because one of the other traveler complaint that they did not have & ocean view.
I don't think we should have being ask since we are couple staying in a one bed room.asking was two males that were not a couple.
Overall we had a great time.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2016
Published on: 01 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Denise

linden
one cyclist took an awful wipeout as his bicycle breaks failed while going down a major downhill. He was not wearing a helmet. They should be mandatory.

Highlights: loved the temples, hikes, and lovely bicycle routes.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2016
Published on: 06 February 2016

Thank you for your feedback on this trip, we were pleased to see you enjoyed the temples and cycling. We have confirmed that the use of cycling helmets was advised in your safety briefings. However some travellers felt the helmets contributed to the heat and they chose, on occasion, not to wear them. Where there is no legal requirement for protective head gear to be worn, the guide cannot enforce compliance but did remind members of the party of the safety risks. We were also concerned to read of the maintenance issues you had with the bikes on tour and our agent has advised the bikes follow a rigorous testing cycle. They are maintained regularly but noted that both the brakes and gears are used under tension and are therefore more prone to having issues. We were happy to see that bikes were swapped without with delay when any issues were found during the trip

(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Pershore
Amazing trip, such a variety of different activities, places to stay and things to see and do. Great group of people which really made it, the time travelling from place to place on the bus was like a school trip! A quiz book really helped to pass the time. Highlights were getting out in the sticks, particularly on our bikes, on tiny tracks through the paddy fields, stopping for refreshments at wayside stalls, the school children coming out to wave at us and meeting the locals. The meals we had at village houses were fantastic and they went to so much effort for us.

Our tour guide Sam had a great sense of humour and was the fount of all knowledge about the country, customs and wildlife, even if we did tease him about his rambling anecdotes!

The best accommodation was camping at the Big Game Safari park, safari in style with posh tents and a huge table laid for dinner with candles and white tablecloths - very atmospheric. Also Rafters Retreat which can best be described as a tree house with one open side overhanging the river, what a view to wake up to.

Adams Peak was a very hard climb and not much easier coming down but a real sense of achievement with fabulous dawn views.

Tips - lycra/quick dry clothing is good for the activities as it dries quickly but for women t-shirts are better than vests, the local people prefer you to be more covered. DEFINITELY take a gel saddle cover with you as well as padded shorts, you can get seriously saddle-sore. Also pack different items e.g. shoes, active clothing, t-shirts etc in different colour strong carrier bags so stuff doesn't get mixed up and it's easy to find things and pack an unpack, which you'll be doing plenty of! Also spare bags for damp stuff.

Can't recommend it highly enough, looking for another similar trip for next year.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2016
Published on: 20 February 2016