It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
642 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Active Sri Lanka! ASL

Visiting: Sri Lanka
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Active Sri Lanka!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Active Sri Lanka! trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Active Sri Lanka! reviews verified by Reevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Active Sri Lanka!Scores 8.7 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(9 out of 10)

David

Sunderland
This was an excellent adventure from start to finish. We visited some exciting and interesting places - most of them well away from the normal tourist spots and having Sam our guide with us really gave some fantastic context and background to what we were seeing.

The mix of activities (cycling, hiking, rafting) was just about right - although I personally would have enjoyed a couple more activities on the water. The cycle rides in particular could be pretty hot work so be prepared for plenty of changes of clothes throughout your trip. You may want to take some hand wash with you or take advantage of hotel laundry facilities. Because of the heat and humidity we were always up very early in the morning which was brilliant for me as I am someone who normally sleeps in but on this trip you could look at your watch when you had completed a bike ride, or a lovely hike or had been on a whale watching boat for a couple of hours and realise that it was still only 9am and you had the whole of a fantastic day ahead.

For me the tour highlights were the whale watching, the hike through the paddy fields on Knuckles Ridge, the climb up Lions Rock and the white-water rafting. I was a little disappointed in Adams Peak. The walk up 5000 or more steps to the top was extremely tough and when we got to the temple at the top there were so many people there it was impossible to sit down and would have been almost impossible to get good views of the sunrise. That said it was a challenge to get to the top and I am pleased that I met that challenge.

The trip involves a lot of travelling which on occasion requires a number of hours on the bus but this was always interesting in terms of the views, the extremely narrow roads around some of the mountain areas and the on-going information from Sam (it also gave an opportunity to catch up on some sleep if the earlier activities had been a bit taxing!).

An excellent trip. Highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2016
Published on: 07 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Oscar

Clark
Great trip, love the diversity of activities. We loved the biking , hiking & white water rafting.
One thing that should be improve its giving the group & introduction on making sure they can operate their bikes.
Another problem we run into, was our tour leader asking us to switch our room two night before we left, because one of the other traveler complaint that they did not have & ocean view.
I don't think we should have being ask since we are couple staying in a one bed room.asking was two males that were not a couple.
Overall we had a great time.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2016
Published on: 01 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Denise

linden
one cyclist took an awful wipeout as his bicycle breaks failed while going down a major downhill. He was not wearing a helmet. They should be mandatory.

Highlights: loved the temples, hikes, and lovely bicycle routes.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2016
Published on: 06 February 2016

Thank you for your feedback on this trip, we were pleased to see you enjoyed the temples and cycling. We have confirmed that the use of cycling helmets was advised in your safety briefings. However some travellers felt the helmets contributed to the heat and they chose, on occasion, not to wear them. Where there is no legal requirement for protective head gear to be worn, the guide cannot enforce compliance but did remind members of the party of the safety risks. We were also concerned to read of the maintenance issues you had with the bikes on tour and our agent has advised the bikes follow a rigorous testing cycle. They are maintained regularly but noted that both the brakes and gears are used under tension and are therefore more prone to having issues. We were happy to see that bikes were swapped without with delay when any issues were found during the trip

(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Pershore
Amazing trip, such a variety of different activities, places to stay and things to see and do. Great group of people which really made it, the time travelling from place to place on the bus was like a school trip! A quiz book really helped to pass the time. Highlights were getting out in the sticks, particularly on our bikes, on tiny tracks through the paddy fields, stopping for refreshments at wayside stalls, the school children coming out to wave at us and meeting the locals. The meals we had at village houses were fantastic and they went to so much effort for us.

Our tour guide Sam had a great sense of humour and was the fount of all knowledge about the country, customs and wildlife, even if we did tease him about his rambling anecdotes!

The best accommodation was camping at the Big Game Safari park, safari in style with posh tents and a huge table laid for dinner with candles and white tablecloths - very atmospheric. Also Rafters Retreat which can best be described as a tree house with one open side overhanging the river, what a view to wake up to.

Adams Peak was a very hard climb and not much easier coming down but a real sense of achievement with fabulous dawn views.

Tips - lycra/quick dry clothing is good for the activities as it dries quickly but for women t-shirts are better than vests, the local people prefer you to be more covered. DEFINITELY take a gel saddle cover with you as well as padded shorts, you can get seriously saddle-sore. Also pack different items e.g. shoes, active clothing, t-shirts etc in different colour strong carrier bags so stuff doesn't get mixed up and it's easy to find things and pack an unpack, which you'll be doing plenty of! Also spare bags for damp stuff.

Can't recommend it highly enough, looking for another similar trip for next year.
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2016
Published on: 20 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Christine

Nottingham
The Active Sri Lanka Tour really lived up to it's name as we really were kept very busy. It's difficult to choose highlights as there were so many. We loved the cycling, especially through unspoilt countryside, trekking and rafting, the safaris were fun, and the challenging climb up Adam's Peak was a never-to-be-repeated achievement. Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa were stunning. Our accommodation was varied: the camp sites were brilliant - so atmospheric, and the food there impressive - and Rafter's Retreat was just amazing! Some of our favourite meals were those we had in people's houses as everyone was always so welcoming. We seemed to have wonderful experiences every day. Our group was great: we all got on really well, and our remarkably informative guide, Sam, ensured we all learnt about Sri Lankan culture [his knowledge of birds is second to none], and kept us supplied with lemon puff biscuits! He is a fantastic ambassador for his wonderful country. There really were no low points: even a close encounter with leeches was hilarious.
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2016
Published on: 17 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ray

Colchester
nicely balanced trip with plenty of activity. Be prepared for a tough walk up and down Adams Peak. Great to see elephants in the wild but very commercial and can be upsetting seeing the animals being hounded by jeeps!
Views are wonderful and weather was great, a reasonably high level of coach travel, but necessary to cover the wide area of the country.
Accommodation is varied and possibly could be improved, particularly on the final three nights. The final option of whale watching was superb and a definite not miss....hope you are lucky though.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Charles

London
Great combination of activities in a beautiful country. None of the activities are too strenuous and there is a fairly relaxed approach, so it should suit a wide range of people. Our group size of 18 was probably too large from an organisational sense but it did mean there was plenty of variety of people to socialise with. The leader was very knowledgeable and responsive. The team worked hard to minimise disruption from a brake failure on the bus.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Matthew

Cycling down back roads, looking at the wildlife with kids shouting hellos from all around, the walking was also excellent. A personal highlight was seeing a small whale go past from the bar of the final hotel, though this apparently was a freak event.

Be prepared the cycling is not all flat and it's very hot, 50km is a lot easier at home.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Do not hesitate! This is one of the best adventure tours I've ever taken. Sri Lanka is stunning and you will see and do amazing things!!
Confirmed traveller: 11 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015