It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Sudan: Highlights of Ancient Nubia BSU

Visiting: Sudan
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Sudan: Highlights of Ancient Nubia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Sudan: Highlights of Ancient Nubia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Ancient Nubia Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

13 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Ancient Nubia ExplorerScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 13 reviews
(10 out of 10)

P

U.K.
This was an amazing trip! It was extremely hot in April but worth it. Didn't need a sleeping bag, as a result. Also only really needed it for one night so it was a pain to carry around all of that time. The tour leader was fantastic - happiest, most patient person in Sudan!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lee

New York
Khalid, the tour leader, was amazing and made the trip a pleasure notwithstanding two difficulties: (1) absurdly hot temperatures that made going at during the day a painful ordeal and sleeping at night sometimes impossible (40 degrees plus at midnight in rooms without air conditioning or fans) and (2) some very poor accommodations (i.e. rooms without windows or electricity and with dirt floors) that were inevitable because there was no alternative. But we did go to some marvelous places and the people were incredibly friendly and gracious.

Go, but not during April.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Claire

Fabulous trip! Khalid our guide was superb- his knowledge was excellent and his relaxed approach meant it felt more like travelling with friends rather than a tour. Although, clearly a lot of behind the scenes organisation goes into a trip like this. The drivers and cook were all professional and welcoming. We were extremely well looked after. Sudan is an amazing country and the sites are incredible and deserted. I enjoyed all of the accommodation even the more off the beaten track camping and homestays. The temperature was high so would definitely advise travelling before April. However, we were well supplied with drinking water at all times.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Helen

The Italian Touring Co. managed the tour with excellence and professionalism. The drivers, cook and were very skilled and personable, contributing to our wonderful experience. Our guide was always smiling, helpful, patient. He provided expert knowledge about the history, architecture, art etc. of the visited sites. Because we were divided among 3 vehicles, there was not an opportunity for us as a group to learn from him about the current culture of Sudan during the drives. I was surprised that frequently we were visiting sites during mid-day and suggest that timing be better, understanding that there are circumstances such as vehicle troubles that could affect arrival times. On the other hand, we were accomodated when requesting before sunrise and during sunset excursions. This flexibility was greatly appreciated.

As for highlights--all sites, encounters with local communities in the deserts and the cook's french fries! Disappointments--the markets, mainly because of photography being forbidden.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2017
Published on: 18 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Callander, Scotland
Now is the time to visit Sudan. Tourists are rare and the people are genuinely delighted to greet visitors. The infrastructure reminded me of Turkey in the 70s. Archaeological sites are deserted and you feel like a 19th C traveller as you explore them. The tour is much more than ancient sites: you meet genuine Bedouin and experience a little of their lifestyle and visit villages and a school. Accommodation is mixed: from simple tents to quite luxurious surrounds in Karima and Meroe. (the more challenging accommodation is at the the early part of the tour!). There's a lot of travelling, much of it off road, in pick-ups or Landcruisers, but it's not uncomfortable. The guide, Hatim, is outstanding.
Arrive in Khartoum a day before the trip starts. If you are taking Malarone test it well in advance: I experienced debilitating sleeplessness for several nights and stopped taking it. There were no mosquitoes in February so you don't need anti-malarials. Remember to take a cheap sleeping bag and you can leave it for one of the crew after the camping. In Khartoum check out the Nubian wrestling: it shows you a totally different side of Khartoum. Get Mr Achmed to take you in his car (you definitely need a "minder" although there absolutely no threat). Take a spare camera because the sand may jam your main one. You don't need a water bottle because water is provided constantly (although while camping it may be handy to have one to avoid leaving the tent in the night). Head torches are essential.
Go on this trip! It's an unforgettable experience.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 19 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Rupert

Penge London
A very well managed team, led by an extremely knowledgeable leader, sensitive to the welfare of all his charges. Fascinating land with first class archaeology. Well judged pace and a mix of accommodation types. Excellent food provided by a skillful cook, and efficient arrangements for setting up tables, chairs, and dinner at temporary stops.
Plenty of opportunity to meet the locals, and nature and geology.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 16 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Beverly

Greeley
I would have liked to have more contact with the local people, more village visits etc. It focused mainly on the ruins which were good but visiting some villages to see the daily life of the people. We skipped the Nubian village to go to see the paintings in the monastery which I was disappointed in. Hatim was an outstanding guide. He made sure the drivers were careful, planned the food well, was extremely knowledgeable about the ruins and history of Sudan and great with the people. He knew the best places to take pictures and made sure we were at the sites when the light was best for photographing. He got us into visit a school. The food and accomodations were better than I expected, although I got flee bit at the Nubian family home.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 February 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Beryl

Uckfield
Amazing trip, wonderful people, super staff. Too many highlights, wonderful desert scenery, ancient historical sites and a warm welcome from everybody we met.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

New York
From the pyramids at Meröe to the ruins at the sacred mountain of Jebel Barkal in Karema, I am honored to be among the very few tourists to have seen these gems of human culture in the Nubian desert. The tour was well planned, the guide was spectacular, and the Sudanese people were warm and welcoming. Put aside any preconceived notions you may have and get thee to Sudan!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Graham

London
A marvellous itinerary with a superb archaeologist guide. Extremely well organised and with very delicious food. Sudan was a revelation and the people were extraordinarily friendly. One of the best EXPLORE trips that I have done. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in seeing fascinating and very little known archaeological sites.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016