It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Tailormade Highlights of Costa Rica TMCR1

Visiting: Costa Rica
14 Days
  • Canopy walkways
  • Red-eyed Tree Frog
  • Manuel Antonio NP
  • Parrots
  • The elusive Quetzal
 

Guide price

  • from £2,195 (including flights)

Reviews for Tailormade Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Tailormade Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Tailormade Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by reevooReevoo

3 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Tailormade Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 3 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Nancy

Woking
Our trip included San Jose(1) Tortuguero (2) Arenal(2) Monteverde(3) Manuel Antonio(3)and Osa Peninsula(3).
If I was to change anything I would have had 3 nights in Torteguero and only two in Monteverde - otherwise it was a great itinerary.
Tips - be prepared for chillier weather in Monteverde and don't expect to see so much wildlife. It is spectacular though, as the guide was very knowledgeable about the flora as well as fauna.
Be prepared for some bumpy,dusty roads.
We had a flight back from Osa peninsular to San Jose at the end of the trip which saved another night in San Jose and also another long day on the road - well worth it.
We did not have a tour leader as it was tailormade but at each place all pick ups and drop offs were very efficient and well organised - even down to having a towel ready when we had a wet landing for one of the stages of the journey.The agent in Costa Rica was called Travel Excellence and they certainly lived up to their name.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 14 March 2017
(7 out of 10)

Clive

Some lovely sites but the trip is over commercialised and too busy. We saw more wild animals close at hand at our final hotel than on any of the organised trips. Also, the cost of living is expensive on this well-trodden tourist route. The hotels and trip venues are definitely exploiting a captive customer base. US$8 for a bottle of local beer and over US$50 -US$70 for dinner for two (one main course) with a drink. Furthermore, a great deal of time is taken up traveling. On the plus side, the locals are very friendly and helpful. Tortuguera was my favourite place because it was a unique experience.

Not sure whether you have heard but a French woman badly broke her arm on the zip wire attraction in Monteverde and a witness told my wife that he had heard one of the officials say that they (i.e. the officials) had failed to apply the overriding breaking system to stop her and her partner crashing into one of the the landing areas. In the UK the facility would be shut down by the Health & Safety Executive.
Confirmed traveller: 03 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017

Hi Clive,
Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad to hear you had an overall lovely time. It is very concerning to hear of the lady breaking her arm, however it is for this exact health and safety reason that we do not include zip-lining in any of our Tailormade itineraries.

(10 out of 10)

Linda

Wolverhampton
This was tailormade tour of 19 nights. We stayed in 6 different locations of our choosing and at each place we included an excursion. Every pickup was on time or early, the drivers and or guides were very good.

The information about our excursions could be improved by advising us what to wear and which activity would take place first eg,Half day guided hike in Cahuita National Park, it read as if the hike was first and was going to be most of the trip, in fact we snorkelled first and that was the greater part, had we known we would have gone in our swimwear. This trip was excellent and we would give it 10 out of 10.

We stayed at the Montana Hotel in Monteverde and we ate in the hotel restaurant on
the first night the food was not up to the standard we had in other places but we found a nice place nearby to eat on subsequent nights. The hotel staff were very accommodating.

The highlight was staying at La Ensenada Ranch this is an isolated spot overlooking the Pacific on the Gulf of Nicoya. If you like bird watching and getting away from crowds it is idyllic. The food arrangements here could be improved by being a little more flexible. Lunch is $14 no choice, dinner $18 little choice. It would have been nice to be able just to have a salad if one had wanted for say$10. No-one here seemed interested in feed-back.
Having said that we would definitely return here as accommodation and location were wonderful.
We think the whole trip was well planned and good value for money we loved Costa Rica.
Confirmed traveller: 07 February 2017
Published on: 09 February 2017