It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Beyond The Mekong 4.5 out of 5 based on 12 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Beyond The Mekong tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 CARSON, 18/02/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

Mekong river boat, lovely family running boat. Angkor Wat not quite up to the World Heritage Hype. The visit to the killing fields and prison in Phnom Penh obviously harrowing. In fact many highlights, some good local guides.

 

Read more
 
5 Mary, 14/02/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

A wonderful holiday, all great and with so many highlights- I wouldn't have missed a moment of it! We packed in so much that it's difficult to choose, but the very best bits for me were the long tailed boat trip on the river Kok from Tha Ton towards Chiang Rai,(the notes say relaxing, but I'm not so sure about that!) and the elephant ride; and then the peaceful (and cold!) two days on the Mekong in Laos to Luang Prabang. Although a lot was packed in, with some early starts, it didn't feel rushed, and there was almost always enough time for each visit. The overnight train was memorable; the food overall wonderful; the many(and there are many!} temples and wats extraordinary; the night markets exciting, the tuk tuks in Bangkok and Phnom Penh exhilarating; the traffic in Phnom Penh unbelievable. Our visits to COPE in Vientiane, and the Killing Fields and Genocide museum in Cambodia were emotional and heart wrenching, but should not be skipped. Overall, the experience of a lifetime!

 

Read more
 
4.5 Alan Sonnex, 18/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Slow boat on the Mekong - relaxing in lovely scenery; Luang Prabang - a little gem of a town with a stunning waterfall to visit; Mountains of Laos; Genocide Museum and Killing Fields - shocking but an indelible memory; Angkor Temples - Wow!

Great trip - history, culture and scenery in abundance.

Read more
 
4.5 Rachel, 08/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The trip had many highlights - the trip down the Mekong, the temples of Angkor, the food.

Read more
 
4.5 Rachel, 08/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The trip had many highlights - the trip down the Mekong, the temples of Angkor, the food.

Read more
 
4 , 01/02/14

Name

Beth Hawke

Tour Name

Beyond The Mekong

Tour Code

BM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The tour had many highlights, the buzzing city of Bangkok, spending Christmas Eve on the sleeper train to Chiang Mai, riding elephants, motoring down the Mekong through spectacular scenery, stunning temples, Kuang Si waterfalls, visiting the Hilltribes, the emotional but captivating Killing Fields and Genocide Museum, and of course, the stunning Angkor Wat... Wow!!

Tour Leader Name

Sun

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Sun was a friendly and helpful, although not up to the exceptional standard that we have come to expect of Explore guides. She did little over and above the standard itinerary, often failing to mention optional excursions. Fortunately, the group was quite proactive and prompted Sun with the itinerary to ensure we didn't miss out on anything. At times, we felt very rushed and following Sun's umbrella round like a group of school children really grated on me - but I guess that's a personal thing. She offered little background information about the places we visited outside of her home city of Bangkok. Luckily, we did have great local guides in Cambodia and Laos, all of whom embodied the ethos of Explore - passionate, informative and fun!! Phew!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Food was much better than I anticipated, fantastic quality and very very cheap!! As another reviewer mentioned, the trip is a photographer's dream!! Take a decent camera as everywhere you turn is a stunning photo opportunity! The local people are friendly, approachable and really up for a laugh - make the most of it! The helicopter ride over Angkor Wat was absolutely amazing... a real treat and unforgettable experience - don't write it off!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The itinerary is well thought out, and there are too many highlights to mention... I felt the Tour Leader could have / should have been better.

 
3 Lorraine Rutter, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Getting up at 6am to go for my morning run and seeing life how it really is and  giving alms to the monks

 

 

Read more
 
5 Stephen, 23/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Visit to Khmer Rouge HQ and Killing Fields was very memorable. I thought I knew the facts but I learnt more to put me in my place

Read more
 
5 Clare, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

My highlight was riding an elephant through the Mekong River and then getting soaked as he sprayed water everywhere. Never to be repeated.

Read more
 
5 Shirley Anne Walsh, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the temples at Angkor Wat with the moats full of water and the reflections giving wonderful photographs and beautiful memories.

Read more
 
0 Alana, 27/10/11
Highlights were the people we met - the locals of each country but also our tour leader and local guides.  I was impressed with the way they treat each other with respect. Other highlights were the Mekong itself and the boat ride, plus Ankor Wat just to name two. I think this is a trip suitable for older travellers as you don't have to be particularly fit to enjoy it and feel it is one I could have done in my late 60s. The food also was fantastic and excellent value for money (BM -24th July 2011)
 
0 Stuart, 31/12/10
A trip with very little time couped-up in a minibus - a definite plus! Make sure you have loads of memory cards for your camera, (transfering photos onto CD along the way is quite easy to do, with a little planning) as its a photographers dream. You spend plenty time on boats just chilling and taking in the view, so take books/music/games (and don't forget that fleece, as early morning on the boat can be quite chilly). Luang Prabang is a great chill-out town, quite geared up for tourists (so plenty of shopping!). I'd definitely recommend getting up early at least once here to give alms to the monks - quite an experience!  Also, if you dont intend to swim, consider missing out Kuang Si Waterfalls - they are quite pretty, but just waterfalls!  Luang Prabang has so much to offer, you may want to skip this. If you're a vegetarian, dont expecet veg meals on the internal flights. The airline says you need to re-confirm the veg meals 72 hors before you fly, as they need to fly the meals in - I didnt know this until I arrived at the airport, so was too late! Siem Reap/Angkor Wat is incredibly crowded, but worthwhile. I'd suggest saving money and not bothering with the optional sunrise tour. Its quite expensive, and obviously, a nice orange sunrise isnt guaranteeed. In hindsight, I'd have stayed in bed hour for an extra 1.5 hours, and had a decent breakfast. If you do want to do it though, consider arranging it yourself using a tuk-tuk, as I'm sure you could do it a lot cheaper - especially if theres a group of you. Malaria tablets (doxycycline) are easily obtainable OTC without prescription in Boots (yes, the same company as in the UK) in Bangkok (much cheaper than UK). Boots are open late. Finally, the food.  Everywhere you go is pretty geared up for tourism, and the food is generally of a high quality, and cheap - enjoy! (BM - 21st November 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA