It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
594 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Beyond The Mekong BM

Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Beyond The Mekong

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Beyond The Mekong trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Beyond The Mekong reviews verified by Reevoo

7 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Beyond The MekongScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Ana

Lisbon/Portugal
The tour itself is very complete and the only thing I might change would be the 2 nights stay in Vientiane.

After such a relaxing and beautiful stay in the Mekong cruise and Luang Prabang, it comes as rather disappointing. The city doesn't seem to have a lot to do during those 2 days - the tour guide, here, was also a bit basic.

Considering the high temperatures in this part of the globe, it would be nice to have more hotels with a swimming pool. For instance, Bangkok hotel is super but a waste on the way back as nobody had the time to enjoy it!

I found Chiang Rai hotel very poor - the windows would not close entirely allowing mosquitos and heat to come inside the room.

The itinerary is rather ambitious to do everything in Siem Reap. Together with 40ºC temperature and the option to take the helicopter flight, it becomes very exhausting.

The highlight was the Mekong cruise and Luang Prabang - it came as a surprise and a very relaxing experience. Angkor Wat also but, let us say, that is was already expected.

The tour leader - Pok - was outstanding. He was very careful and attentive to everything happening. He provided all the opportunities to let the group try food, go shopping or enjoy all experiences with major satisfaction and safety.
Confirmed traveller: 12 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

James

Cambridge
We arrived in Bangkok a couple of days early and were pampered at the Banyan Tree Hotel. Once with the group you'll take a sleeper train to Chiang Mai where you can learn how to cook a delicious 5 course meal. Then take a longtail boat to visit a tribal community. Cross the border from Thailand to Laos, kick back and cruise the Mekong for two days, before exploring the delightful town of Luang Prabang. There are some good eateries here. Try L'Elephant. After understanding the horror of Pol Pot's reign in Cambodia, the finale of the trip is sunrise at Angkor. And all of this with one of the best tour guides you're likely to come across.
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jill

London, UK
We saw a great many fascinating places and the pace of this very "action packed" tour was moderate enough to give us time to relax. My favourite place was Luang Prabang in Laos, where it well worthwhile getting up at 5 a.m. to witness and participate in giving food to the monks on their early morning pilgrimage. In Cambodia, other than the Angkor complex (which it goes without saying is the highlight), I think it is a must to see the Genocide Museum and the Killing Fields to pay one's respects.

The small group of 10 people I was fortunate enough to be with was delightful and the local tour guides were very good. I think it might have been useful to have a microphone on the bus in Ventiane. Of the local guides, I particularly remember Ing in Cambodia, whose passion for his work and his country is obvious.

I have been on 3 other Explore trips and had excellent tour leaders, but Pok is undoubtedly the best I have seen. He is conscientious at every moment and goes far out of his way to look after everyone's individual needs and concerns. Many thanks, Pok!
Confirmed traveller: 01 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A wonderful holiday, all great and with so many highlights- I wouldn't have missed a moment of it! We packed in so much that it's difficult to choose, but the very best bits for me were the long tailed boat trip on the river Kok from Tha Ton towards Chiang Rai,(the notes say relaxing, but I'm not so sure about that!) and the elephant ride; and then the peaceful (and cold!) two days on the Mekong in Laos to Luang Prabang. Although a lot was packed in, with some early starts, it didn't feel rushed, and there was almost always enough time for each visit. The overnight train was memorable; the food overall wonderful; the many(and there are many!} temples and wats extraordinary; the night markets exciting, the tuk tuks in Bangkok and Phnom Penh exhilarating; the traffic in Phnom Penh unbelievable. Our visits to COPE in Ventiane, and the Killing Fields and Genocide museum in Cambodia were emotional and heart wrenching, but should not be skipped. Overall, the experience of a lifetime! Pok was just superb. An excellent guide, knowledgeable and informative, with a lovely sense of humour. His organisation was faultless, and nothing was too much trouble for him, as he went to great lengths to smooth our way through the three countries, train and plane and boat and bus journeys; checking our food choices for anything too spicy, organising taxis, restaurants,laundry, calculating exchange rates, ensuring enough loo stops, to name just a few! We learnt so much from him about the history of the region, the people,their daily lives and faiths. Our additional country guides, Parn in Laos, Theany in Phnom Penh and Vutha in Siem Reap were all very good, well informed and keen to show us the sights and tell us of the history of their respective countries, and of their own personal experiences.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour had many highlights, the buzzing city of Bangkok, spending Christmas Eve on the sleeper train to Chiang Mai, riding elephants, motoring down the Mekong through spectacular scenery, stunning temples, Kuang Si waterfalls, visiting the Hilltribes, the emotional but captivating Killing Fields and Genocide Museum, and of course, the stunning Angkor Wat... Wow!!Sun was a friendly and helpful, although not up to the exceptional standard that we have come to expect of Explore guides. She did little over and above the standard itinerary, often failing to mention optional excursions. Fortunately, the group was quite proactive and prompted Sun with the itinerary to ensure we didn't miss out on anything. At times, we felt very rushed and following Sun's umbrella round like a group of school children really grated on me - but I guess that's a personal thing. She offered little background information about the places we visited outside of her home city of Bangkok. Luckily, we did have great local guides in Cambodia and Laos, all of whom embodied the ethos of Explore - passionate, informative and fun!! Phew!
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ryan

Enjoyed the Mekong boat trip very much, and the temples at Angkor. Our tour leader, Pok, was exceptionally good. Helpful and friendly, and made the trip very special.
Confirmed traveller: 02 March 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Be prepared for a long, winding (but scenic) road to Vientiane and a dusty, bumpy one to Seam Reap. Don't miss the waterfall/bear sanctuary visit.
Confirmed traveller: 18 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015