It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 450 adventures for you to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

Beyond The Mekong BM

Tour Duration 16 Days
 

Book now!

Reviews for Beyond The Mekong 4.5 out of 5 based on 9 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Beyond The Mekong tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Rachel, 08/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The trip had many highlights - the trip down the Mekong, the temples of Angkor, the food.

Read more
 
4.5 Rachel, 08/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The trip had many highlights - the trip down the Mekong, the temples of Angkor, the food.

Read more
 
4 , 01/02/14

Name

Beth Hawke

Tour Name

Beyond The Mekong

Tour Code

BM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The tour had many highlights, the buzzing city of Bangkok, spending Christmas Eve on the sleeper train to Chiang Mai, riding elephants, motoring down the Mekong through spectacular scenery, stunning temples, Kuang Si waterfalls, visiting the Hilltribes, the emotional but captivating Killing Fields and Genocide Museum, and of course, the stunning Angkor Wat... Wow!!

Tour Leader Name

Sun

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Sun was a friendly and helpful, although not up to the exceptional standard that we have come to expect of Explore guides. She did little over and above the standard itinerary, often failing to mention optional excursions. Fortunately, the group was quite proactive and prompted Sun with the itinerary to ensure we didn't miss out on anything. At times, we felt very rushed and following Sun's umbrella round like a group of school children really grated on me - but I guess that's a personal thing. She offered little background information about the places we visited outside of her home city of Bangkok. Luckily, we did have great local guides in Cambodia and Laos, all of whom embodied the ethos of Explore - passionate, informative and fun!! Phew!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Food was much better than I anticipated, fantastic quality and very very cheap!! As another reviewer mentioned, the trip is a photographer's dream!! Take a decent camera as everywhere you turn is a stunning photo opportunity! The local people are friendly, approachable and really up for a laugh - make the most of it! The helicopter ride over Angkor Wat was absolutely amazing... a real treat and unforgettable experience - don't write it off!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The itinerary is well thought out, and there are too many highlights to mention... I felt the Tour Leader could have / should have been better.

 
3 Lorraine Rutter, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Getting up at 6am to go for my morning run and seeing life how it really is and  giving alms to the monks

 

 

Read more
 
5 Stephen, 23/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Visit to Khmer Rouge HQ and Killing Fields was very memorable. I thought I knew the facts but I learnt more to put me in my place

Read more
 
5 Clare, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

My highlight was riding an elephant through the Mekong River and then getting soaked as he sprayed water everywhere. Never to be repeated.

Read more
 
5 Shirley Anne Walsh, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the temples at Angkor Wat with the moats full of water and the reflections giving wonderful photographs and beautiful memories.

Read more
 
0 Alana, 27/10/11
Highlights were the people we met - the locals of each country but also our tour leader and local guides.  I was impressed with the way they treat each other with respect. Other highlights were the Mekong itself and the boat ride, plus Ankor Wat just to name two. I think this is a trip suitable for older travellers as you don't have to be particularly fit to enjoy it and feel it is one I could have done in my late 60s. The food also was fantastic and excellent value for money (BM -24th July 2011)
 
0 Stuart, 31/12/10
A trip with very little time couped-up in a minibus - a definite plus! Make sure you have loads of memory cards for your camera, (transfering photos onto CD along the way is quite easy to do, with a little planning) as its a photographers dream. You spend plenty time on boats just chilling and taking in the view, so take books/music/games (and don't forget that fleece, as early morning on the boat can be quite chilly). Luang Prabang is a great chill-out town, quite geared up for tourists (so plenty of shopping!). I'd definitely recommend getting up early at least once here to give alms to the monks - quite an experience!  Also, if you dont intend to swim, consider missing out Kuang Si Waterfalls - they are quite pretty, but just waterfalls!  Luang Prabang has so much to offer, you may want to skip this. If you're a vegetarian, dont expecet veg meals on the internal flights. The airline says you need to re-confirm the veg meals 72 hors before you fly, as they need to fly the meals in - I didnt know this until I arrived at the airport, so was too late! Siem Reap/Angkor Wat is incredibly crowded, but worthwhile. I'd suggest saving money and not bothering with the optional sunrise tour. Its quite expensive, and obviously, a nice orange sunrise isnt guaranteeed. In hindsight, I'd have stayed in bed hour for an extra 1.5 hours, and had a decent breakfast. If you do want to do it though, consider arranging it yourself using a tuk-tuk, as I'm sure you could do it a lot cheaper - especially if theres a group of you. Malaria tablets (doxycycline) are easily obtainable OTC without prescription in Boots (yes, the same company as in the UK) in Bangkok (much cheaper than UK). Boots are open late. Finally, the food.  Everywhere you go is pretty geared up for tourism, and the food is generally of a high quality, and cheap - enjoy! (BM - 21st November 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)(*)
    Please enter the tour code of your trip.
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA