It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Tour Du Mont Blanc MBT

Tour Duration 12 Days
  • On the trail
  • Amazing scenery
  • Picnic lunch
  • Glacial lakes
  • Scenic mountain paths
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Challenging
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Tour Du Mont Blanc tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Michelle Laverick, 10/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There are far too many highlights to mention. The scenery across 3 countries was stunning, the food was excellent the group were great fun, the tour leader was fantastic and you really felt like you'd achieved something at the end of the tour.

Read more
 
10 , 04/10/13

Name

Doreen Hedges

Tour Code

MBT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"Staying at the Auberge Gite ""Bon Abri"", the food was excellent. Seeing marmots while hiking. Enjoyed hiking up to the passes, fantastic views. The day in Les Houches was enjoyable. Fantastic views from the Aiguille Du Midi. "

Tour Leader Name

Simon Munnings

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our Tour Leader was Simon Munnings who made the trip. He was an excellent Tour Leader. He looked after the whole group and made sure we were all happy.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't go for a pizza at the La Palud restaurant, not very nice, almost needed a chain saw to cut the crust and there was a hassle over the bill.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Were too many sections of the trek hiked on via the road.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Marilyn Staib

Tour Code

MBT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Spectacular peaks of the Mont Blanc range from many different angles with a riot of wildflowers in the foreground.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Brilliant. Neil had the happy knack of a relaxed but safe approach supported by years of experience & great people skills. Always good humoured. Never patronizing & excellent at judging peoples trekking ability.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Requires a reasonable degree of fitness. Some of the terrain is quite steep & rough. Ear plugs for hostels nights + some road noise at many hotels (albeit hotel standards were good)

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I strongly advise Explore to include a paragraph in their dossier requesting clients restrict the use of their mobiles/smart phones etc whilst in the company of the rest of the group. I go on holidays to get away from this sort of thing. We had one lady who was texting/emailing CONSTANTLY from early morning, on the trail at every possible moment, at every meal - really the height of bad manners & difficult to ignore.

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Dave Jones

Tour Name

Tour Du Mont Blanc

Tour Code

TMB

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

scenery was fantastic but crossing into Italy on Col Ferrett was memorable. The cable car in Chamonix to 3800m is a must!

Tour Leader Name

Neil Milne

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent. Didn't bombard us with info. Just let us enjoy at our own pace.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

There are a few nights without access to your main bag so practice walking before you go with a heavier than normal day sac.

 
10 Simon, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Looking down into France and Italy from the Grand Col Ferret.  Also eating pork cheeks and drinking red wine at the refuge de la nova.

Read more
 
10 Alastair Walters, 15/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cable car to Helbronner - great weather, stunning views of MB and dramatic close views of the glacier.  Refuge on Col du Bonhommie suddenly appearing out of the clouds.  Grand col Ferret in the sunshine.

Read more
 
10 Eluned Harries, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We loved the tour as a whole family. We've always wanted to walk in the Alps and their beauty even exceeded our expectations. We find that walking together helps communication between us and the shared experience strengthens family bonds. We laughed hugely and we unexpectaedly rose to the challenge without sulking- particularly when the Col de Bonhomme refuge appeared as if by magic through the mist at EXACTLY the right time. We alos loved the marmots at the Col des seignes - oh and did we mention the spa - only a few times. Lying in a hot foaming tub seeing mountain rescue helicopters racing towards distant peaks was horribly pleasant. We loved the food, the company and the memories. AMAZING!

Read more
 
10 Chris, 27/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole trek was amazing, its by no means an easy trek, there were some very steep descents and ascents, but around every corner we were rewarded for our efforts with stunning views.  We had a good variety of accommodation, mainily in twin rooms, except on one occasion the whole group (15 of us) shared a dorm, which made for an interesting night!  We had a couple of really nice hotels, even with swimming pools - luxury trekking!  The first 2 days were really hot, too hot really, then we had a day with thunder & lighting, so it cooled down a bit.  The greatest highlight for me personally was spotting a bearded vulture above us - awesome!  And also celebrating my sister Wendy's 50th birthday with her mid way through the trek!

Read more
 
0 R Sellars, 27/10/11
This is one of the most tiring but also one of the most rewarding walking holidays we have done. We were blessed with almost perfect weather and so the scenery along the way was quite stunning and also surprisingly varied. The accommodation was what we have come to expect from Explore, quirky and pleasantly local in appearance and the food on the whole was satisfactory (not sure about the tongue at Le Buet. Thank goodness most meals were included because we found that everything was very expensive. If you take the trip be sure to go on the cable car to Aiguille du Midi. This for us was the highlight of the trip. (MBT -3rd August 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA