It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
591 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Transylvanian Backwaters BU

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 5 Days
 

Reviews for Transylvanian Backwaters

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Transylvanian Backwaters trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Transylvanian Backwaters reviews verified by Reevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Transylvanian BackwatersScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Caroline

Worthing
Romania is beautiful and the people were so friendly, and the food was fantastic (and very good prices).
It is a fairly full on trip but there is opportunity for some free time. The first day when you visit the Bears is a very long day but full of interesting sites so it's not a negative.
Oana and Horia (tour leader and assistant) were both really friendly and informative and helpful to everyone on the tour - nothing was too much trouble.
Don't take too much with you as apart from one day we didn't get back to the accommodation until after dinner but this wasn't an issue. Take layers. The weather forecast had been for rain and thunder storms and cold, but it was dry most of the time and a lot warmer in the mountains than I expected, although weather is so unpredictable especially in the mountains so carry a waterproof.
Overall a great weekend in a beautiful country.
Confirmed traveller: 06 June 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Dundee
Make sure if you are traveling with an on line Web check in ticket that you check in and get your boarding pass before leaving the UK. Not easy to check in in Romania an costs €35 at airport.

Baggage reclaim on two levels, so possible to miss representative.

Interesting and varied itinerary with opportunity for independent plans
Confirmed traveller: 06 June 2016
Published on: 14 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Douglas

Vancouver
Lucked out with the weather. Arrived 1 day early and had to cope with the horrendous taxi confusion at the airport. They need to streamline that process, QUICKLY. Many people very upset about the process. Minerva was fine. I had booked a superior room for the first night and paid extra to stay in it for the second night which was the first night of the explore trip. Loved Bucharest, much nicer than I expected. Easy to navigate on my own. Amazing architecture but most of it needing work. Emi the guide was great, low key but efficient. The one major criticism would be that on the first full day of the tour we were exhausted after touring the city and then having to be on the bus for 4 hours AND then being told that we were going to watch the bears which would be followed by dinner at the guest house. That needs to be changed. We sat in the blind for 2 hours, hot, tired and bored and didn't get back to the guest house until 10:00 whereupon we were expected to eat a heavy dinner. The simple solution would be to do the bear watch the second night as we would have been much more amenable and still have the dinner provided by the guest house the first night so that we would have been able to get to bed at a decent time. Wonderful castles and walks in the mountains.
Confirmed traveller: 23 May 2016
Published on: 28 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

London
We packed a lot into 3 days and it was a good introduction to Romania. A highlight was Ceaucescu's palace. I would have liked to hear some Romanian folk music along the way! The guide was very thoughtful, caring and discrete and he paid great attention to detail.
Confirmed traveller: 23 May 2016
Published on: 30 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Denyse

Aix en provence
Our guide Oana made this trip an absolute pleasure. Although very young, she was knowledgeable,fun and caring of the entire group's needs. Nothing was too much trouble and she was very organised. The guest house owner was very attentive and great fun, and the driver very careful and charming. The itinerary was well thought out and busy without being totally exhausting. We visited Rasnov Citadelle because one of the castles was closed while we were there. It was fabulous and well worth a visit. Don't just go for the bear watching......treat that as a bonus. The Bears only arrived as it was getting dark and at the last possible moment for viewing
Confirmed traveller: 19 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lisa

Reading
It was great to see the bears (and some very brave foxes), although we were further away then I expected to be. This was a nice paced trip, you felt like you got a lot fit into the time, but with three nights spent in a lovely guest house the evenings felt relaxing without the constant packing and unpacking you get on some trips where you are constantly moving between hotels. But do be prepared for rain and some disorganization at some of the castles/sights.
Confirmed traveller: 28 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

kirsten

London
Bear watching was amazing. We didn't see them on the planned evening due to low mist so paid for a 2nd optional excursion and saw several very clearly.
Confirmed traveller: 14 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Romania was a very pleasant surprise, it's a country that is very misunderstood. The scenery and sites were amazing, I'd recommend the Pelisor palace for it's unique and startling collection of Arts Nouveaux. Brassov medieval town is simply stunning. There isn't enough money to get to all the antiquities and buildings they want to show off. Visit before the character of the place changes.Extremely experienced, knowledgeable and showed empathy for the group regarding pace and content. Very open about the impacts of recent history from a personal point of view. Clearly used to modifying plans for site closures.
Confirmed traveller: 09 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Claire

Surrey
A great introduction to the country and it's history. Really enjoyed the varied itinerary and seeing the bears!
Confirmed traveller: 25 May 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015