It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
544 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Treasures Of Jordan DJD

Visiting: Jordan
Tour Duration 9 Days
 
Reviews for Treasures Of Jordan 4.5 out of 5 based on 12 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Treasures Of Jordan tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Beth Hawke, 23/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Walking through the Siq to reveal the Treasury basked in the morning sunlight, floating on the Dead Sea, stunning "off the beaten track" walks around tourist-free Petra, breathtaking views from the King's Highway, sensory overload in spice souks of Aqaba, heated political discussion in the coffee shops of Amman's "Rainbow Street" and of course the Middle Eastern cuisine!!

Read more
 
4 Anna Aliverti, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

the Monastery in Petra. Wadi Rum. swimming in the Dead Sea.

Read more
 
4 Christian Howells, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The excursion to Wadi rum was amazing, Petra was unbelievable, the hot and tiring walk to the monastery was well worth it. Snorkeling in the red sea was brilliant. The free morning by the pool and in the sun was lovely :-)

Read more
 
4.5 Richard Coates, 29/10/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So many! The walk through the Siq at Petra ...gazing at the 'Promised land' from Mount Nebo ... incredible Roman Jerash ...Lawrence's winter fort at Qasr Azraq ...Kerak .. Wadi Rum ...the Dead Sea .. AND our brilliant guide Awad Hajjara

Read more
 
5 Patrick Ryan, 02/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The evening walk down the Siq to see the Treasury in Petra followed by the day on the site.I think it was an exceptional tour group. We all gelled, nobody insisted on being in charge and we made genuine friendships. This is a great asset for Explore, attracting like minded people

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. We’ve noted your comments on the Wadi Rum excursion, and we’re looking into this – of course we should be offering something a little out of the ordinary. Not all groups get a tourist policeman on the bus: they have the right to join or leave as they see fit, and it’s very good to know that this one was so helpful!

 

 
2.5 paul, 22/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing petra and swimming in the dead sea,

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read of your disappointment with your tour leader Thale Musa; he gets very good feedback overall, but we want our leaders to meet everyone’s expectations, and we’ll follow your comments up with him. The restaurants we use are chosen for the food, value for money, and adherence to good standards of hygiene, rather than for the availability of alcohol. This is as you suggest not universally available in restaurants, but is usually possible to obtain in hotels.

 
5 , 04/10/13

Name

Elaine

Tour Code

DJD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The highlight of any trip to Jordan has to be petra, it was so much more spectacular than any of the photos I had seen had led me to expect. The heat was intense but this only added the the wonderful feeling of wonder and excitement. We felt like real explorers discovering a lost city. This feeling was heightened by the disturbing lack of tourists, a plus for us but a real worry for Jordan, I feel truly privileged to have have visited such a fantastic place in such a wonderful country

Tour Leader Name

awaerd

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our tour guide awaerd really was fantastic, he made the trip special for us and is the reason we would book another tour with explore. He moved the trip around to a more logical order which also ensured the last ancient monument we saw was petra a real plus as anything after that would have been a let down. His knowledge was second to none and he was always willing to engage with the group on any topic nothing was off the table politics and religion were welcome discussion topics. Many thanks once again for a fantastic trip

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Read up on the sites almost goes without saying but we found it very useful. I would also recommend reading up on religion and middle east politics so you can join in the lively discussions oh yes make sure you love early mornings, late nights and walking!!!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We were explore virgins before this trip and for the first few days I think it was obvious, I have travelled widely independently and am not used to the evening comity meeting to decide on the next days itinerary, whilst I understand (and embrace) the need for such discussions there can be a problem if you have strong willed individuals with personal agendas who are really only interested in the been there done that attitude. There were a couple of occasions when I was made to feel uncomfortable because I wanted to see the sites and not stay in my hotel room. The best advice I can give is stand up for the tour and the real travelers will stick with you. Do not let to minority ruin a fantastic experience.

 
5 , 12/09/13

Name

Nicola Van-Dyk

Tour Code

DJD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"The visit to Petra (and indeed most of the sites on the tour) with hardly any other tourists was incredible. The view of Petra and the surrounding mountains from the high place of sacrifice was breath-taking and well worth the climb. But more than the sites, I think my lasting memory of Jordan will be of the tremendous Jordanian hospitality (especially from our tour leader and driver, Awad and Abed) and the fact that I felt completely safe despite the turmoil that was going in in their neighbouring countries during the week we were there. "

Tour Leader Name

Awad Hajjara

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

"Awad was one of the best tour leaders I've had the pleasure of travelling with. He was flexible, friendly and seemed happy to answer our endless questions on Middle Eastern culture and politics. He told us early on about Jordanian hospitality and then went out of his way to demonstrate it e.g. offering to escourt myself and a fellow traveller around Amman on our last day after the tour had ended and even buying us lunch - above and beyond the call of duty but really appreciated! Awad also helped us reshuffle the itinerary so that we could fit in our request for a visit to Jesus' Baptism Site without missing anything on the original itinerary - again most appreciated and a special (if rather hot - 45 deg C!) experience. "

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Book your own flights. I changed to land only when I realised the group flight was only landing after mid-night (i.e. on day 2) and found very reasonably priced direct flights with timing that worked much better. Taxi fares from the airport are also far more reasonable than transfers (less than half the price) and it was very easy to get a taxi and I felt completely safe as a lone female passenger. Jordan is also more expensive than you might think. Prices generally in line with the UK. My only other advice is to go now while there are few tourists. It's a unique opportunity to see some of the sites almost deserted and (in my experience) the Explore leader and driver look after you very well and keep you far, far away from any trouble."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

If you're looking for beautiful desert scenery, spectacular sites and a safe glimpse of Middle Eastern life then Jordan is for you.

 
4 , 15/08/13

Name

John Coatman

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The visit to Petra was amazing and the highlight of the tour. However, our hotel was some way away from Petra and transport was needed to visit the site.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our tour leader took very good care of us and was knowledgeable. He took us to some interesting corners of the places we visited that added to the enjoyment greatly. However, we did get a bit of an overdose of Islam one day!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

This is a very busy tour so come prepared for long days. I found that there were too many meals and wish that I had taken snacks to have as alternative when I did not want another full meal.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Prices vary greatly and you can easily pay 4 or 5 times as much in one place than you will in another. Vigilance is essential if you do not want to overspend.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Mike Jones

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"1) Climbing up to the Monastery (Al-Deir) at Petra late in the day, after the crowds had gone. We sipped mint lemonade while the evening sun lit up the huge facade and then walked the short distance to see the view over the mountains to the Wadi Arabah rift valley. 2) Hearing the mid-day call to prayer echoing around the hills of Amman from the Citadel. 3) Floating and having a mud bath in the Dead Sea. "

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent. He was very responsive to our requests and made changes to the order in which we visited destinations so that we saw everything we had hoped to see. In particular, we went to central Amman on a working day when the mosque was quiet and shops and restaurants were open. The Jordanian guide had an in-depth knowledge of Jordan which a non-native might not have had. We felt very safe in Jordan and found everyone friendly.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"1) Take fewer clothes. Jordan is a lot less dusty than Egypt, for example! 2) Go on all the trips. We just managed to resist the temptation to relax by the hotel pool and really enjoyed both Petra by Night and Little Petra (Al-Beidha), especially clambering through numerous goats to see the ancient water cistern! "

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"1) This holiday included a good tour of Amman and visits to 3 local restaurants there. 2) All the restaurants we visited during the holiday were good. 3) We did not want to camp at Wadi Rum (a good decision we felt as the sand was blowing up a little). This Explore holiday seems to be one of the few non-camping holidays where the Wadi Rum trip includes sunset and starlight in the desert. "

 
0 Dawn, 23/12/10
Jordan was NOTHING like we expected... shocked to find a cosmopolitan city in Amman, lots of biblical references and Moses resting place. the sights and sounds are spectacular, from waking under the sky in Wadi Rum, to that first glimpse of Petra from the Siq. The cacophonous sounds of the call to prayer surrounding you in the valley, to the camels burping their way across the desert...     Hoels that inspired a calm, relaxing trip. Luxury (Jordanian style) all the way. (DJD - 23rd October 2010)
 
0 Carole Scott, 12/11/10
The wonderful thing about this trip was the experience of seeing so much in just a week without being hurried. Apart from the accomodation, ok this was 5 star as it was our 25th anniversary (Taybet Zamman is a must wouldnt want to stay anywhere else at Petra) the highlights were undoubtedly Petra and Wadi Rum.Being the least fit member of the group, I have never been able to do hills! I was personally delighted to make the trek up to the monastery encouraged by  guide Hellen  when my dear husband was being rather critical. I would not have missed this for anything and the memory will stay with me. Unexpected? The revelation that at Wadi Rum camp, Ibrahim turned out to be a member of the same tribe that had fought alongside Lawrence against the Turks and his great uncle had been executed by them. Just by talking to the local guides I learnt so much about the culture political and economic background to the country but this wasnt forced on us- if you ask you will learn lots! (DJD -15th May 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA