It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
539 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Annapurna Sanctuary AS

Visiting: Nepal
Tour Duration 15 Days
  • Annapurna Base Camp / Stuart Goulds
  • Sadhu Holy Men
  • Valley under Mt Machupuchure
  • Breakfast with a view! / David Laurie
  • Sharing photos with the locals
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
  • Trek Grade: Challenging
 

Book now!

6 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Annapurna Sanctuary tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 RH, 21/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The scenery was amazing but please go with the right expectations. This is a strenuous but not super challenging trek - because of the mixed group ability and altitude we sometimes walked no more than 3-4 hours a day, often sitting around in freezing tea houses for ages on end. Our guides kept the group VERY close together, which was really annoying - literally stepping on each other's toes. There are very comfortable paths - it really wasn't necessary.

Read more
 
10 Neil, 28/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Walking from Machhapuchhre Base Camp to Annapurna Base Camp, through fresh snow, was exhilarating.

 

Read more
 
0 Anne Thompson, 01/05/12
I enjoyed every aspect of the holiday. The Group of 31st March (otherwise known as Udaya's upstarts!), the views, the weather, the history of Kathmandu and around, the tranquility of Pokhara, perhaps most of all getting to ABC and seeing the Annapurnas in all their glory. Udaya, our guide, together with the Sherpas and porters were all so happy, helpful and friendly it was a pleasure to be with them. The walking was not as strenuous as I had feared but,having said that, the weather was great for walking and not too hot. The Tea Houses were an experience and as a group, I think, thoroughly enjoyed them. The staff in them was friendly. I had no problem charging batteries. I had taken a Pebble and a variety of adapters. Many Tea Houses had the normal UK 3-pin sockets. The bucket showers produced much laughter. Sadly, our last Tea House was the worst in that those upstairs were fine but downstairs we shared a room for 3. The room was damp and it smelt, there wasn't room for 3 to move at once, sleeping was ok but up and about just not possible. Two of us took our bags outside in the morning to re-pack. It was only one night but after the other tea houses was not a room we had expected to find ourselves in. The food on the trek was excellent and well balanced. Even the rains waited until we were inside before coming down. Such timing!! For future trekkers I would suggest that you travel with and open mind, a sense of humour and be prepared for anything. Thank you Explore and all my travel companions. A GREAT EXPERIENCE!
 
0 Ian Gatfield, 19/12/11
Recently returned, A fantastic experiance, The Tea Houses & Food were much better than expected, The views are stunning especially at Annapurna Base Camp. Be prepared majority of the Accents & Decents are by steps (not mentioned in the Itinery) so be prepared !! (AS - 5th November 2011)
 
0 PA, 27/10/11

i feel i must write regarding the previous review. i along with 4 others have just returned from AS tour, we all agreed that if you read the brochure and trip notes then you would not be disappointed with the accomodation. It was as described asclean and basic,if you want 4* luxury you do not go on a trek. If anything, the standard was better than described, we had hot water and electricity at all the teahouses.

The whole holiday was absolutely brilliant, wonderfully organised and the tour personnel could not do enough for us. I will definely be returning for another trip with explore.

DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY THE PREVIOUS REVIEWERS COMMENTS. just go with an open mind and enjoy the whole experience. (AS -25th September 2011)

 
0 Tim Clarke, 17/05/11
This was a fantastic holiday. I'm not going to tell you about the trekking because that's something you need to find out yourself when you are there. All I will say was that it was amazing. However here are a few useful tips.   Money- Explore seem to insist on trips and tips being paid for in US dollars ( odd decision) so only bring enough to cover what is required as mentioned in the trip notes. Otherwise just keep to sterling. Change this into Nepalese Rupees at the Hotel in Kathmandu. You won't be able to change sterling whilst on the trek.   Clothing- you can hire stuff when you are there but you want to make sure that you have a good sleeping bag, and walking sticks will save your knees.Weather-We went in April and the weather was incredibly changeable,so zip off trouser legs are good and quick drying clothes.   The Teahouses- they begin grim and generally get 'grimmer'. ( MBC was the worse)There is no heating,sometimes no electricity at all- which generally means no hot water. You can wash your clothes but there is no where to dry them. If the electricity is on you will be able to pay from £1 to £3 to charge your camera. I recommend you bring a spare camera battery. You will definitely need a good headtorch and your own toilet roll.Also bring your own squashable pillow.  I wouldn't recommend you visit the hot springs at Jhin Danda. It is a steep descent of about 20 mins, (which means 35 mins up) so any benefits of resting in the hot springs is quickly lost!      Health- go vegetarian for the whole holiday as it will reduce the chance of tummy trouble.Only wash your face in drinking water ( don't let water get on your face in the shower). Its also a good idea to bring a knee support just in case. Do what your tour guide says. Go slow when getting into altitude.  Hope this helps. It's an incredible holiday. Have a good one. (AS - 9th April 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA