It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Annapurna Sanctuary AS

Visiting: Nepal
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Annapurna Sanctuary

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Annapurna Sanctuary trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Annapurna Sanctuary reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Annapurna SanctuaryScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Eli

London
The Annapurna Base Camp Trek was a trip of a lifetime.
The highlight was when we set off in the snow in the night and reached ABC ( Annapurna Base Camp 4130 m) at 07:00. Just amazing! The most magical sunrise I have ever seen! 🇳🇵❤🙏
Our leader Su & his team were the best. They made sure we were safe & comfortable at all time.
I would recommend this trip without hesitation but make sure you are fit and don't mind roughing it at times.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Malcolm

Stroud, Gloucestershire
This was my first trip to Nepal and I think we saw a lot in 14 days. The trek was well-led by Kunjang Lama assisted by his excellent team. It was a good opportunity to visit Nepali villages and experience life there at first hand. Unfortunately, the path to the base camps was blocked by snow and so we had to follow an alternative itinerary. Our leader worked hard to ensure that this was both interesting and challenging, although we had a couple of "free"days where we were left kicking our heels. We had to tell the team that, as experienced travellers, we preferred local food over "western" food such as pasta shells and pizza, but once they got the message, they couldn't do enough for us. Overall, I rate it once again good value for money from Explore
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2017
Published on: 01 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Bob

Sussex
A brilliant trip. Very well organised and our tour leader Jangbu and his team were superb. Stunning scenery and excellent walking. Bring a down jacket and a good sleeping bag, it can be very cold at Machhapucchre Base Camp.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Heather

Leeds
Two holidays in one, relaxed yet exciting, every day different to the previous one .
One tour leader, sixteen innocents abroad, guides porters and lots off laughter and singing
what more could you want ?
OH don,t forget the Strepsils
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2016
Published on: 29 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

NIGEL

Northallerton
It would be better to fly to pokhara. The road was very long and dangerous
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2016
Published on: 27 October 2016

Thanks for your feedback Nigel. We don’t currently use any internal flights on our trips in Nepal as since December 2013 all air carriers in Nepal have been refused permission to operate air services to the EU due to safety concerns. The Nepal aviation authorities and individual airlines are working to improve safety and we hope to be able to include flights on our trips there again at some point in the future

(10 out of 10)

Rebecca

London
One of the best ever holidays! I just returned from Annapurna Sanctuary with Explore. Our party was 16-strong, led ably by Santos, Sirdar Sonam and their team of incredibly, sweet and hard-working sherpas and guides. We spent a few days in Kathmandu and Pokhara, then walked UP for 6 days, DOWN for 3. The pinnacle was the 2 nights at Machapichere Base Camp, then the ascent to Annapurna Basecamp on 17th Oct. Ascent successful! What an incredible feeling together with immense views. The food all the way along was spicy and tasty. Plenty of it. The Tea Houses varied, always basic, and required a bit of a strong spirit to enjoy. But the gang of 16 was indomitable and the nights ended with singing, dancing, stories and jokes. I would heartily recommend this to any keen walker, anyone keen on mountains, photography and scenery. It will remain with me for many many years. Thank you for looking after us so very well.
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 28 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Victor

Tonbridge
Fantastic trip. Stunning views. Very challenging. Great adventure. Very basic accommodation, as expected. Excellent tour leader. Well organised. Lovely people.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gina

Berkshire
Overall the Annapurna Sanctuary trek was great. There were some things the guide did (or didn't do) that were not quite right but overall it was a great trip. Most accommodation was good, however one teahouse we stayed in was so damp and dirty there was mould on walls and bedding.

Take plenty of water purification tablets.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Really enjoyed this tour. The sightseeing in Kathmandu was a little bit abbreviated as they continue to repair earthquake damage, but we were there for the mountains and all infrastructure is very much in place for some fabulous trekking.

Highlights had to be both the great variety of scenery through the trek and of course the unbelievable mountain scenery at the base camps, which definitely lived up to all expectations.
Confirmed traveller: 10 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Belper
Looking out from the windows of our first Teahouse and seeing the snow-clad mountains dominating the skyline.
Coming across families of Langur Monkeys playing and carousing in the forest around Dovan.
Reaching ABC! With the help and guidance of our lovely Sherpa (Jangbu) and his Sirdar (Fubar), not to mention the lovely porters who smiled and seemed to enjoy the experience as much as we did.

Patience is required on arrival at Kathmandu Airport, the baggage reclaim takes hours to deliver luggage. Apparently it is normal to wait for up to 3hrs, so don't panic if it seems to be taking a while!

We did not expect it to be so hot - temperatures in the mid to high 20c's for most of the time up to Deurali. However in the higher Teahouses, Deurali and MBC, it got really cold at night (the water froze overnight at MBC); we saw a few people with hot water bottles, I would recommend packing a small one too.

You need to be nimble as well as fit to negotiate the steps and rough paths; its a very pretty route with a variety of flora and geology to keep interest, however you will be observing your feet a lot! That said, Explore have been very clever in designing the itinerary to make it achievable and enjoyable; Challenging, yes, but the time allowed for walking each day was ample for the slowest of us.

Nepal is very much open for business and safe to visit. We saw signs, some hand-written, some printed, saying "Nepal is safe, please come visit". We would like to reiterate this sentiment and encourage people to return to Nepal; it is beautiful, fun and the people are lovely.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015