It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

High Atlas Trek HA

Visiting: Morocco
Tour Duration 15 Days
  • Mountain villages
  • Snow-capped peaks
  • A friendly smile from passing locals
  • Marrakech Rooftops
  • View across the High Atlas
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Basic
  • Trek Grade: Moderate to Challenging
 

Book now!

7 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the High Atlas Trek tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 , 04/10/13

Name

Kat

Tour Code

HA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The views were amazing and the people. Reaching the top of Mount Toubkal was a great achievement for us all!!

Tour Leader Name

Lachen Hamyouy

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our tour leader Lachen was great, he had a good sense of humour, listened to us and gave us lots of information throughout our trek. He also taught us some fun games in the evenings

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

It will be an amazing experience but make sure you have prepared yourself for the trekking, there is lots of trekking on steep uneven ground up and down. Poles are a must!!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"Our flights were not well organised by Explore. the timings meant we missed the whole of Day 1 and on Day 15 we left the hotel at 10am so effectively missing that day too. if sold as a 15 day holiday then that's what you should get. this is the reason why the holiday dropped to good rating, it would have been excellent otherwise"

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Stephanie

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

All of it! The people, the food, the views, the rewarding treks, the beauty all around.

Tour Leader Name

Mohammed

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Mohammed was amazing! Very knowledgeable, kind, patient, and took good care of us. The back marker, the cook, and the muleteers were also great and looked after us really well.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take a good sleeping bag! It's COLD up near Toubkal. Don't forget the sunscreen, it's hot and roasting in Marrakech. There are plugs and electricity in a lot of places you can bring your chargers (european 2 round prong plugs). If you don't do gluten (like me) think of bringing a couple of GF loaves of bread that will keep and they will carry them with the rest of the food. They are very accommodating to any food allergies, just let them know beforehand! BRING YOUR OWN PILLOW! Your neck will thank you.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

for more tips and photos: http://highatlasmountains.blogspot.com.es/

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Stephanie R

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

All of it!! The views were amazing, the treks hard but rewarding, the food was sooo good, the people (locals and trekkers) were fun and interesting, the weather was beautiful (although a bit cold at times), I learned tons about the local flora, fauna, culture, geography, etc... overall, the experience was incredible and I would repeat again.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Mohamed was excellent! Knowledgeable, patient, good-natured and took good care of us. The back-marker, Hassan, the cook, Ibrahim and the muleteers were also great, kind, and really helpful.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Get in shape before you go! Get used to carrying 4-5kgs on your back and walk up and down stairs with that weight. If you can try to climb to higher altitudes. Invest in a good sleeping bag. Take layers of good quality clothing (like merino wool). Don't skimp on boots - you'll need good grip and ankle support for most of the walks. If you are gluten intolerant (like me) - make and take your own bread!"

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"For more info: http://highatlasmountains.blogspot.com.es/ (Disclaimer: not all trips will be the same but this can give you a rough idea of what to expect)"

 
6 Susan Holliday, 09/11/12

How was your Explore Tour Leader?

I was not impressed with the tour leader he failed to make sure all walkers were catered for, I spent a lot of time walking out of sight of both the fast group and the slow group and had to ask the way on more than one occasion from the locals. When we arrived back at the holtel in Marracech we were not given any hints as to where would be goo to go he just dumped us and left (2 people without allocated rooms) When I have been on your holidays before the leader took great trouble to make sure single travellers were not left on thier own this di not happen at all,

Do you have anything else to add?

I have been on 2 previous holidays with your company which were very well run, I asume this holiday did not meet you usual standards

Our Response

This is being urgently followed up, as are your comments on the tour leader leaving the group before the hotel rooms were correctly allocated in Marrakech.  Thank you for letting us know about both matters

 
10 Vikki Goddard, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Hammam in Aremd!
Walk down to Amskere - beautiful scenery and a great day's walking
Ascent of Mt Toubkal
Sunset in Oukaimeden
Marrakesh at night
The group!"

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your review. We have noted your concern regarding the disposal of plastic water bottles on your trip. Our Operations Manager has contacted our local agent regarding this issue, as we believe that water purification tablets are safe for use in Morocco. This will result in less plastic bottles being disposed by our tour groups.  

 
0 John Rabbett, 22/09/10
Wow what a trip! Firstly the group I met were all amazing. Great people and now great friends. Secondly the guides and crew were great, more friends made there, but they also made the trip memorable. The highlight of the trip was the actual ascent of Mt. Toubkal... wow.. what a great climb and the view was amazing. We climbed past an amazing waterfall, followed by a climb through the snow line, up to the summit where we were given spectacular view of the Atlas mountains. Was so worth all the pain. The only advice I can give is bear in mind that there are many early starts. Other than that it was an amazing holiday and has inspired me to go with Explore again... (HA- 26th July 2010)
 
0 Lesley Bradshaw, 22/09/10
I can quite honestly say that this was one of the best holidays I've ever had, for lots of reasons. We've been with explore, so knew the routine. Picked up at the airport by our guide, meeting the rest of the party, being transported to our hotel to rest up before the trek. As always the organisation by the guide was fantastic. We had the most amazing guide. He was a local man, from a village in the high atlas mountains, and his knowledge of the country and area we were in was amazing. We felt we learned so much about all aspects of the country thanks to Mohammed.  The holiday itself was better than we'd imagined. Usually early starts to make sure we weren't out too long in the midday sun. We had some long days out walking which was pretty hard work, but the views and experience of it all made everything so worth it. We stayed at a different village most nights, with some nights in a tent, but definitely the best night was the night we spent sleeping on a roof top under the stars! The food was good too. We had our own cook!!! He travelled with us from village to village, feeding us with traditional moroccan food. He would often cook lunch in the middle of nowhere, or by a stream. He even made doughnuts while we were camping!!!!  The muleteers entertained us one night, with traditional Berber songs. It was great and we all got into the spirit of things and ended up dancing around our dining tent!! The main bit of advice i would give to anyone considering this trip, is to be fit. It is quite hard work, but so worthwhile. We had an amazing time, and it had a lot to do with the fact that we had an amazing guide. I would most definitely recommend this trip to anyone who likes to get away from it all, and likes to learn about a different way of life and different cultures. (HA- 18th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA