It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
635 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

On Foot In Northern Cyprus LNC

Visiting: North Cyprus
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for On Foot In Northern Cyprus

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the On Foot In Northern Cyprus trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

On Foot In Northern Cyprus reviews verified by reevooReevoo

46 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
On Foot In Northern CyprusScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 46 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Shirley

Monyash, Derbyshire
Highlights were the beautiful views from the 3 castles (Buffavento, Kantara and St Hilarion) - well worth the climbs up to each of them. Some of the trails were more strenuous than "easy to moderate" but this was largely due to the large amount of rain that had fallen the previous week.

Tour leader, Cemaliye, was pleasant and efficient. She usually led from the front but was always aware of where the back markers were. Our driver, Kemal, worked into the evening and provided transport (foc) to the various restaurants. Be prepared for mezes every evening and large quantities of food.

Hotel very pleasant. It was too cold to use the outdoor pool but if you asked the staff would uncover the indoor pool (which was jacuzzi temperature) and heat up the sauna and steam room.

An earlier start to Famagusta would allow more time to explore both the town itself and the excellent ruins at Salamis.

Our transfer from Ercan to the hotel was by a taxi driver who had no form of identification, didn't have a list of names of who he was expecting and was waiting outside of the terminal building - not ideal at 0230 when instructions are to look in the arrivals area for someone with an Explore sign.

Tour itinerary says that tour starts at 1900 in reception - no-one there until the following morning and no notice anywhere to let you know this
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2017
Published on: 06 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

London
Excellent tour leader (Cemaliye) , who adapted some of the walks to cope with the unexpected bad weather the week before. Lovely scenery, and I particularly enjoyed Buffavento and Kantara Castles and would recommend the optional day trip to Famagusta. It would be good to have more time at Salamis and in Famagusta. The outward flight connection via Istanbul was not good due to bad weather in Istanbul, which meant we missed our connection. Would recommend flying into Southern Cyprus and arranging transfer to Kyrenia from there.
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2017
Published on: 06 January 2017
(3 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Zürich
After the Lycian way last year with a great guide I was very enthusiastic booking a walking holiday again with explore but I was so disappointed and angry. First of all the highly praised guide Engin Sah did not turn up but an other lady and I was not very impressed by her. She organized well and knew the way but not more. She did not know anything about nature and not much about the history and she was talking more to her phone then to us. She just has not the personalitiy and the knowledge to be a guide.
Most of the walks were very boring on wide dusty roads (not her fault I guess) but she walked too fast and the slower ones never had a rest. She was waiting for them and as soon as they came she walked on. I was in the middle but her speed also stressed me. No time to look at details and so on. I heard that Cyprus is very famous for hiking and I am sure there would be nicer walks then on the dusty roads. The accommodation was just OK, the food excellent and the staff except the reception very nice. I forgot my swimming suit in the hotel and when I called three days later they told me that they threw them in the bin. I was very disappointed. Disappointed altogether from the trip. Thank god we had a lovely bunch of people and that helped a lot.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 03 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip, I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Unfortunately, Engin left the company a few days before your departure – Cem was a last minute replacement , but she is one of a newly trained leaders and has received some great feedback so far. I understand you were disappointed with her performance, but I do believe she will improve with more experience and we continue to work closely with her.

(6 out of 10)

Alison

Eastbourne
Lovely scenery, mostly good walks although a couple involved several miles along broad tracks which I found a little monotonous; the narrow mountain tracks were more fun! All walks were in lovely scenery, interspersed with visits to historic sights and swimming opportunities. Our accommodation was excellent. Our guide was disappointing - a pleasant and well-organised lady but limited by her local knowledge of the historic sights and her skills as a walking leader.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Peter

Braintree.
Was not the best trip I have done with Explore. It was a good holiday and most of the traveling companions were excellent. The weather was perfect and the sea temperature was beautiful after the walks. Some of the walks were a bit dull with very similar scenery.
When we went to the castle on the last day we had to climb up 616 steps and 616 steps down, this could have been conveyed a bit more and some people could have opted out if they had known and then enjoyed the proper itinerary walk instead of sitting out exhausted and they missed out on the best walk of the week.
Made some good friends on the trip. I like the centre based trips as they are less tiring and make for a relaxing holiday.
Kemal our driver was excellent 10/10.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 14 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Linda

London
Beautiful scenery - high mountains, fragrant pine trees, castles and much more. A very interesting and varied trip made enjoyable by the excellent local guide.
Confirmed traveller: 13 November 2016
Published on: 14 November 2016
(7 out of 10)

Catherine

Lancaster
No welcome. I expected to meet the tour leader when the trip was advertised to start ie 7pm Sunday but tour leader didn't come until 9.30 next morning. I was expecting a welcome from the tour leader and a group meal in Kyrenia for the first night.
The walking on 2 of the days was superb, on little mountain paths. 3 of the walks were on dirt roads and were nothing special (one of these did end at the seaside for a paddle and swim so it was worth it in the end). In the heat, these dirt road walks were a bit like route marches. Although she was good at giving us rest and water stops in the shade, she provided very little information about what we were seeing.
The 3 mountain castles were great.
Kyrenia castle was tacked on to the end of a long first day and we didn't see it all and we had no free time in kyrenia town. This was a source of frustration for most of the group. Tour leader was asked several times to offer a group meal in kyrenia town and/or time to just wander around but she seemed to have her list of restaurants elsewhere (some of them quite a long drive away) which she took us to in the evenings. Our tour bus passed through kyrenia at the end of several of the days and it should have been possible to let us have a free hour for a drink and a look around.
The driver (Mehmet) was great.
The tour leader Gemalia was often late when meeting up at start of day and for the evening meal.
The optional trip to Salamis and Famagusta was really good.
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Christopher

Gloucester
Some interesting walking with a variety of castles to see. My favourite day was the walk in the thunderstorm. Although we ate at different restaurants every night, the food was always the same and by the end of the week, I was all mezed out.
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Arthur

Kenilworth
Excellent holiday well led good group of people weather very hot
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julia

Hertfordshire
The trip was a good mixture of varied walking and sightseeing. Our tour leader was lovely and very helpful both during the day and on all our evening trips.

The description of the walks could have been a bit clearer in terms of length and difficulty. Appointing a back marker might have been useful.

The accommodation was beyond expectations ìn all respects.

Overall it was a most enjoyable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 13 October 2016