It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps TTA

Visiting: Romania
Tour Duration 8 Days
Reviews for Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps reviews verified by Reevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Trekking the Transylvanian AlpsScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Tony

Buckhurst Hill
Omu mountain hut was a unique experience. Very basic - about 30 of us in a single room for the night. I particularly enjoyed our two nights at the guesthouse in Moeicu. Comfortable, friendly and good food. The day on the Piatra Craiului ridge was very challenging. A tough climb to the ridge itself, unable to use my walking poles because we were repeatedly scrambling over rocks. Not much easier when we reached the ridge because it is narrow, undulating and we had to hold onto a chain on two tricky sections. Our guide Horea looked after us well on this difficult day giving detailed instructions to those who were struggling. Views from the ridge were excellent. The following day the descent through the Zarnesti Gorge was impressive. This holiday was more challenging than other Explore walking trips but very satisfying.
Confirmed traveller: 01 August 2015
Published on: 17 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The Guesthouse at moeicu. Excellent. Great sense of humour, and knowledge of the history of the region. Handled a big group with flexibility and safety.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I've been on many treks over the years but this ranks as one of the best. Great walks, showing the diversity of the countryside. Each day was different and had many highlights. Visits to Peles and Bran castles and Bucharest were fantastic and well led. The tour leaders were excellent.Very knowledgeable, friendly and responsive to the needs of the group.
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The trek was great and gave us the opportunity to visit a beautiful country with stunning overnight locations and friendly and welcoming people. Difficult to pick a highlight as the whole holiday was outstanding, but the welcome we received from Steffi & Theo at their guesthouse in Moeicu made us feel as if we had found a home from home in Romania.Experienced,knowledgeable,sociable with a great sense of humour & provided a real insight into Romania past and present.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Day 3, Trekking down at sunrise from the Omu Hut and crossing paths with a herd of chamois. Beautiful scenery and a lovely hot shower and cold beer when we arrived at the guest house at the end of the day. Both were well deserved! Excellent, very knowledgeable and with his past as a mountain rescue guide we felt in very safe hands indeed.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

First visit to an Eastern European country and we had the desire to hike. We were so glad we booked on the tour, as we got to experience and see new things each day from Castles, Landscapes and Wildlife. It was incredible how quickly the trip went the amount we could squeeze into a week. The Tours guide was excellent having grown up in the area, knowing all the highlights and the best to time of day to see them.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A very well organised trip, great local food, good scenary, excellent guide.Perfect guide, excellent local knowledge, professional but can also relax and enjoy a drink. Excellent English and very good communicator. Couldnt fault Tudor.
Confirmed traveller: 02 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

elizabeth

London
You need to be prepared for ascents, some steepish descents.poles very useful.
Beautiful scenery, a bit like Austria in places,far -reaching views from the ridge.
I enjoyed the soups- a Romanian speciality.
I also enjoyed learning more about the history and culture of the country.
The first hut quite basic, but fun! The other hut was more like a swiss chalet with lovely food.
I recommend this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Mike

Wiltshire
Highlights were the beautiful scenery, friendly locals, lovely group and excellent tour leader. My main tip is "read the tour notes regarding what kit you need, they are not making it up..!".
Confirmed traveller: 30 May 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015