It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps TTA

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps reviews verified by reevooReevoo

40 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Trekking the Transylvanian AlpsScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 40 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Alice

Barnoldswick
Fantastic trip with beautiful views. The accommodation is basic but this should be expected for mountain huts.

The tour guide was amazing, very knowledgeable and helpful. I had an extra day in Bucharest and was given plenty of options for activities.

This is a fast paced trip so be prepared and train beforehand.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2017
Published on: 23 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Robin

Charlwood
Re accommodation: it's a mountain hut in Romania. It will be basic and I fully expect that. So asking me how I rate the accommodation is a bit misleading. Trip overall was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2017
Published on: 23 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Gillian

Coventry
We had a wonderful time. The mountain scenery was stunning and the people (fellow tourists and hosts) were delightful. I was very impressed by the way everyone coped with our delayed flight on arrival--what happens when something goes wrong is the real test. Our tour leader was very knowledgeable about just about everything, and his organisational skills were great. No complaints whatsoever!
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2017
Published on: 22 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Samuel

Carlisle
Tudor was an exemplary tour leader. The tour was very well conceived - I have no suggestions as to how it could be improved. The highlight for me was the day which started and finished at the same hut - a super scramble and ridge walk carrying only a light daypack. Tip: make sure you have enough water when leaving the Omu hut (no natural water there or until reaching the destination)- your only chance to buy water before a long descent.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2017
Published on: 22 September 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sharon

Croydon
Great opportunity to get out into the countryside and get a feel for Romania that you can't get visiting museums etc.

Didn't really appreciate the village museum and would have preferred more time in Bucharest to explore.

First mountain hut was really basic but i thought it was ok (others on the tour we not quite as impressed). However, it was clean, warm and the ladies that ran it were friendly and helpful.

Bran castle was disappointing as it was far too busy. Perhaps better to visit after returning from the second hut rather than before the walk to avoid the heat and not feel so rushed.

Embrace the adventure and enjoy yourself!
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

A challenging trip - with long ascents and descents which are rewarded by special views. The accommodation in the huts is very basic and you need to carry the weight of water and lunches for 2/3 days which I was not used to doing. This did then lead to lovely accommodation in the guest house and the city. The final 2 days scrambling were the highlights for me. Our tour leader Oana was superb at supporting those new to scrambling and those with more experience. The group was friendly and light-hearted humour helped make this holiday really enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Victoria

Bournemouth
A beautiful and interesting place to trek. Walking was challenging and we walked longer than the trip notes indicated every day. 2 days we walked for 9 hours. Guest house was lovely and the hosts were really welcoming. The mountain huts were less lovely and the first mountain Hut was very very basic but had beer for sale.
Bran castle was very busy and pushy and shovey and I don't think I'd go in again as I found it quite unpleasant as there were so many people and it was impossible to really enjoy the castle.
The guide was fantastic and always making sure everyone was OK, very knowledgeable about the area and culture and always friendly.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Craig

Bracknell
There are many positive aspects on this hoilday for people who are looking at being physically and mentally challenged than this hoilday is for them. We got to see some exceptional views and attractions. Which include museums and local towns, my overall experience of this week long walking hoilday is that I would not have changed a single thing about it. I was lucky enough to have fantastic team members who supported me through hard times of the walking hoilday and vis versa. I would highly recommend this hoilday
to any of my friends and family .
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Absolute highlight - Oana, our trip leader. She couldn't do enough for the group.
Romania was incredible, the mountains beautiful. Don't underestimate how basic the first mountain hut is, and also ensure your day bag is large enough to carry up to three days walking gear plus lunches.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017