It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
543 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps TTA

Visiting: Romania
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Amazing views
  • Peles Castle
  • Omu Hut
  • Athenaeum in Bucharest
  • Memorial of Rebirth, Revolution Square, Bucharest
  • Tour Style: Simply
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
  • Trek Grade: Moderate to Challenging
 

Book now!

10 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 13/02/14

Name

Alison Butler

Tour Name

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Tour Code

TTA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Day 3, Trekking down at sunrise from the Omu Hut and crossing paths with a herd of chamois. Beautiful scenery and a lovely hot shower and cold beer when we arrived at the guest house at the end of the day. Both were well deserved!

Tour Leader Name

Tudor

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent, very knowledgeable and with his past as a mountain rescue guide we felt in very safe hands indeed.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be ready for a challenge as there are lots of ascents and descents and not much flat ground. Take ear plugs for the Omu Hut and wet wipes but don't let this put you off. It is a stunning location and well worth the element of 'roughing it'

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Great trip. I Felt a huge sense of achievement on completing it.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Catherine Barnes

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Highlight: the ridge walk on Wednesday. A fun, exciting walk with scrambling and scree running and also amazing views from the top. Memorable: sleeping in the Omu Hut of course.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Tudor was an excellent leader. Everything was very well organised and he led the walks at a suitable pace. He was also a mine of information on history, geography and just about anything - and good company as well.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you do enough preparation so your feet and legs can cope with the hills (up and down). Be prepared for very basic facilities at the Omu Hut - there is no running water (but perfectly good food). Ear plugs essential!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Lovely views, the hospitality of our hosts (in the huts and at the guesthouse), a great tour leader and the company of my fellow travellers made this a very enjoyable trip. I felt like I had been away much longer than one week.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

David Collins

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"Thank you very much for a fantastic holiday in a fabulous location. Everyday was different from the last, with wonderful weather and superb views and the trekking challenging and rewarding. The group were friendly and the tour guide very knowledgeable. Climbing to the peak of Omu and staying the night in a Cabana during a snow blizzard was my highlight from many. This is definitely the type of holiday that I will be enjoying in the future and I can't wait. David C"

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly, always ready to answer questions. His English was great and his patience and leadership were outstanding.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

To make sure that they read the trekking conditions and descriptions properly so to make sure that they have not signed up to something they cannot complete.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Looking forward to my next adventure.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

John Prosser

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The scenery of the country.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent. Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

This is a very demanding trek over severel days. The moderate walks are very few and far between. Our weather for this May trek was horrendous at times leading to treacherous walking conditions. It is NOT a trek for the casual walker but should left to those with experience. It can be very strenuous and exacting over many days and needs a high standard of physical fitness.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Good food and beer - not forgetting the snapps!

 
10 Phillip Alexander, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

For me, the best part of this tour, was the optional trek, with the early start, on the thursday morning. We had to travel light and fast to reach the peak, and then descend back to the mountain hut, in time to meet the late "wakers".

Read more
 
10 Gary Stocker, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Was the utter stillness and silence up in the mountains. Back home there is noise all the time, even in comparitively remote areas. There though it was utterly silent.

Read more
 
10 Tim, 06/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Beautiful scenery (think alpine) all through the trek, which was also very varied considering we were covering ground on foot. Also arriving at the guesthouse in Moeciu and the hut in Curmatura after a hard day's walking - they were great places to stay (location, service, food and drink).

Read more
 
10 Steve, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Hard to say as it was all excellent. If forced to pick, I'd have to go with having lunch up on the ridge with the lightning coming in all around us! Not everyones cup of tea it would appear, but right up my alley. In 2nd place would be running into the Chamois mother and infant during the optional walk. They just froze and we had a one minute stand-off with us all just watching each other, fantastic.

Read more
 
10 Susan Berry, 22/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Getting the opportunity to push myself hard on some fairly challenging treks through fantastic scenery.  The descent from Omu hut was particularly memorable as were the treks around Curmatura hut.

Read more
 
10 David Livesley, 09/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"The walk along the Piatra Craiului ridge - perfect weather, stunning views in all directions, enough scrambling to feel challenged, I didn't want it to end!
On a completely different note, standing in Revolution Square in Bucharest in front of the balcony from which Ceaucescu made his last speech, and recalling the grainy black and white TV pictures from 1989 of the moment he lost control of the crowd standing where we were standing, was very evocative."

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA