It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps TTA

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Trekking the Transylvanian AlpsScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Nigel

Lightwater
A good walking tour in the Carpathian Mountains with the opportunity to visit Peles & Bran Castles . The walking is a good standard being more strenuous than on other walking trips. The scenery is good. The accommodation at Omu Hut is very basic.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Caroline

Yorkshire
It is really hard to score the accommodation. Steffi and theo house was lovely. The hut accommodation by nature is basic. Our guide Horia was fantastic doing his up most to show us what Romania had to offer. So much so that we hope to return soon and explore more.
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vickie

Greenville, SC, USA
This was a great trek mostly because of the beauty of the land and our leader was awesome. It was a bit of a strenuous trek for us as we underestimated the ascents and descents and the length of the daily walk. I would have preferred shorter walks that would allow more time to "look around" and maybe take pictures more leisurely. Also the huts (especially the first one) were very basic with group sleeping and outdoor outhouses but I think to see these areas that is what you have to be willing to adjust to so that was ok.
Our leader was very thoughtful being insightful meeting the needs of each person. His knowledge of the area, both remote and in Bucharest, was great and appreciated. Our time in Bucharest was well planned down to every detail. He could have not been a better
leader. With a leader less sensitive and engaging the trek would have been much harder to enjoy.
Tips: Take 2 trekking poles and adequate changes of clothing to accommodate wet, cold and warm weather. Take any meds that might be needed for illness such as ibuprofen, tylenol, imodium, pepto bismol, etc as the leader cannot provide them. Take hand sanitizer, baby wipes or such, and toilet paper. And of course a head lamp and all else suggested.
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kirsty

Aberdeen
Fantastic walking, challenging at times but amazing and varied scenery. We enjoyed all of it from basic huts to guest houses to hotel. Wonderful simple food and lots of laughter. Guide managed to keep us smiling despite missing out on the ridge walk. Only downside was very long first day with late night and early start; and castles very crowded. Personally would have liked more time in the countryside and more commentary on daily life and less castles/royalist history.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mary

Cirencester
This was a wonderful trip with varied and spectacular scenery. Highlights include the views from Omu Hut, beautiful meadows brimming with wild flowers, Zarnesti Gorge and thick forests. Tips: Get fit but also accustom your feet to extreme ware and tear as the terrain is challenging. Carrying your own kit for many miles can be very tiring in the heat. Take walking poles, wet wipes, loo paper and tick remover (and know how to use it). Take Lei as Euros were not accepted.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sheila

Horndean
It is difficult to rate the accommodation. The guest houses were excellent whereas the mountain huts could be described as an experience! I enjoyed the holiday very much despite not being able to walk along the main ridge. An alternative challenge was found but it would have been nice to have stayed​ an extra day to see if the weather changed (which it did)
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Andrew

I rated the accommodation as low due the last night bein spoilt in a 2 star hotel room in a 4 star hotel. Everything else was great.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Oliver

Dublin
Very well organised and a good itinerary.
Overall the tour leader was excellent though there were a couple of cases where things could have been a bit clearer / a little lost in translation.

I think it would be better, if possible, to make the Village Museum visit optional as I think some people would have preferred more time in Bucharest.

As this was a trekking holiday and the description advised people should be able to carry their own luggage I thought this meant on the trek but this was not the case. I think it should be made clearer that your main luggage is transferred for you.

The B&B accommodation was good and the food was excellent. My room at Hotel Minerva was not great...dirty carpet, no hot water and no reception on tv. I didn't complain to hotel as I was only staying a few hours. This is just feedback to you, in case of similar complaints.

Omu Hut was very basic. A better description would be good just so people know what to expect but I had no issue with it.

Curmatura Hut was luxurious in comparison to Omu. Great location and food.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback on the TTA, Oliver and, in particular, what your expectations were based on our descriptions and information provided. I have adjusted the trip notes to try and make the luggage information clearer and also to describe the accommodation a little better – this should then, in turn, make things easier for those booking from now on. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the Minerva, although it is a shame it wasn’t raised at the time as they should hopefully have been able to move you, I will raise it with our local agent to make sure that they keep on top of this sort of issue. Thanks again for your feedback, it is very helpful to enable us to improve the information we provide and I’m also so pleased that you had such a great holiday and had such good feedback for your tour leader as well.

(9 out of 10)

Richard

Anglesey
Fantastic views, flora and fauna and superb guides. At times it is as described (moderate to challenging) with some fun scrambling and steep ascents. Sleeping arrangements at Omu Hut are very cramped so bring ear plugs for the snorers and bring plenty of wet wipes for cleaning and toilet. I particularly loved the cold beer handed to us the moment we arrive at the guest house in Moieciu after a 9 hour slog. Very appreciated. Stupid queues at Bran Castle whereby people seem to rush at the gates but our guides Emi and Oana handled very well. Wonderful in depth history of Romania throughout and the walks really take you deep into the quaint villages where life seems to have stood still for hundreds of years. Watching whole families come together to harvest the fields with rakes and scythes and shepherds with sheep and cattle with bells around their necks. Beautiful. Recommended. Just don't expect much sleep if you are not used to communal sleeping.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016