It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps TTA

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Trekking the Transylvanian Alps

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trekking the Transylvanian Alps trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trekking the Transylvanian Alps reviews verified by reevooReevoo

36 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Trekking the Transylvanian AlpsScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 36 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sharon

Croydon
Great opportunity to get out into the countryside and get a feel for Romania that you can't get visiting museums etc.

Didn't really appreciate the village museum and would have preferred more time in Bucharest to explore.

First mountain hut was really basic but i thought it was ok (others on the tour we not quite as impressed). However, it was clean, warm and the ladies that ran it were friendly and helpful.

Bran castle was disappointing as it was far too busy. Perhaps better to visit after returning from the second hut rather than before the walk to avoid the heat and not feel so rushed.

Embrace the adventure and enjoy yourself!
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

A challenging trip - with long ascents and descents which are rewarded by special views. The accommodation in the huts is very basic and you need to carry the weight of water and lunches for 2/3 days which I was not used to doing. This did then lead to lovely accommodation in the guest house and the city. The final 2 days scrambling were the highlights for me. Our tour leader Oana was superb at supporting those new to scrambling and those with more experience. The group was friendly and light-hearted humour helped make this holiday really enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 18 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Victoria

Bournemouth
A beautiful and interesting place to trek. Walking was challenging and we walked longer than the trip notes indicated every day. 2 days we walked for 9 hours. Guest house was lovely and the hosts were really welcoming. The mountain huts were less lovely and the first mountain Hut was very very basic but had beer for sale.
Bran castle was very busy and pushy and shovey and I don't think I'd go in again as I found it quite unpleasant as there were so many people and it was impossible to really enjoy the castle.
The guide was fantastic and always making sure everyone was OK, very knowledgeable about the area and culture and always friendly.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Craig

Bracknell
There are many positive aspects on this hoilday for people who are looking at being physically and mentally challenged than this hoilday is for them. We got to see some exceptional views and attractions. Which include museums and local towns, my overall experience of this week long walking hoilday is that I would not have changed a single thing about it. I was lucky enough to have fantastic team members who supported me through hard times of the walking hoilday and vis versa. I would highly recommend this hoilday
to any of my friends and family .
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Claire

Absolute highlight - Oana, our trip leader. She couldn't do enough for the group.
Romania was incredible, the mountains beautiful. Don't underestimate how basic the first mountain hut is, and also ensure your day bag is large enough to carry up to three days walking gear plus lunches.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Leigh

Horley
Trekking the Transylvanian alps was a fanitatic trip, made even better by our tour leader Oana.

The first mountain hut stay was an experience! Bring plenty of baby wipes as there is no running water and be prepared for cramped sleeping conditions, but the amazing views and hospitality make up for it.

The stay at Cumatura hut was my highlight, the scenery was fantastic. Again the facilities are limited but better than Omu hut.

My only criticism of the trip would be that the guidelines in the trip notes regarding the lengths of the walks were not very accurate. If the notes stated that the walk would take 4 hours, it took 6 and we were not slow walkers. Still, the walking was challenging at times but very enjoyable.

Overall I would highly recommend this trip to those who enjoy trekking in beautiful surroundings and aren't afraid of a few accents and descents!
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nigel

Lightwater
A good walking tour in the Carpathian Mountains with the opportunity to visit Peles & Bran Castles . The walking is a good standard being more strenuous than on other walking trips. The scenery is good. The accommodation at Omu Hut is very basic.
Confirmed traveller: 16 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Caroline

Yorkshire
It is really hard to score the accommodation. Steffi and theo house was lovely. The hut accommodation by nature is basic. Our guide Horia was fantastic doing his up most to show us what Romania had to offer. So much so that we hope to return soon and explore more.
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vickie

Greenville, SC, USA
This was a great trek mostly because of the beauty of the land and our leader was awesome. It was a bit of a strenuous trek for us as we underestimated the ascents and descents and the length of the daily walk. I would have preferred shorter walks that would allow more time to "look around" and maybe take pictures more leisurely. Also the huts (especially the first one) were very basic with group sleeping and outdoor outhouses but I think to see these areas that is what you have to be willing to adjust to so that was ok.
Our leader was very thoughtful being insightful meeting the needs of each person. His knowledge of the area, both remote and in Bucharest, was great and appreciated. Our time in Bucharest was well planned down to every detail. He could have not been a better
leader. With a leader less sensitive and engaging the trek would have been much harder to enjoy.
Tips: Take 2 trekking poles and adequate changes of clothing to accommodate wet, cold and warm weather. Take any meds that might be needed for illness such as ibuprofen, tylenol, imodium, pepto bismol, etc as the leader cannot provide them. Take hand sanitizer, baby wipes or such, and toilet paper. And of course a head lamp and all else suggested.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017