It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
637 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Tribes and Festivals of Southern China

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Tribes and Festivals of Southern China trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Tribes and Festivals of Southern China reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Tribes and Festivals of Southern ChinaScores 9.7 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Nancy

Brooklyn, New York
The festivals were wonderful, very interesting and fun. I especially liked the festivals in Nande and the Dragon Festival in Leishan. Being a participant in dragon dancing was a very special experience. This trip had wonderful interaction with local people that is very rare.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Bristol
Very difficult tour tough audience, weather was against us for photography.
Highlights home stay a better authentic experience great photos, the trip could not fail
under one of the best guides in the business Andrew Perryman worth his weight in gold.
Tips i would add a longhorn village home stay and perhaps stage set some kind off
preparation in one of the villages, after all that is what the tour was about for me i wanted
to be nearer to the people and the festivals.
The trip to the park to me was a wasted day ?
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Graham

Coffs Harbour (Australia)
Hey, if your idea of a fun holiday is queuing with scores of busloads of tourists to pass through turnstiles to see interactive displays coloured lights and perspex, and stick things in your ear to listen to bored, robotic tour guides, then give this trip a wide berth. We visited several spectacular ethnic festivals that are still largely unsullied by tourism, with ornate, colourful costumes and original music and dancing. And not only did we SEE several festivals, we actually PARTICIPATED in one, a fire dragon destival, where we were adopted by a village that had specially made a dragon and vests for us. They gave us a tutorial on how to be part of the marches through the streets and the big event in an arena in the centre of Leishan. We even featured on television and newspapers, as quite possibly the only non-Western dragon festival participants in history! An experience not only we but also our village hosts will remember forever.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Diana

St Albans
Visit to Homestay in the small traditional village of Nande?near Leisham it was beautifully basic - very cold - no heating - no glass in their traditionally built houses but the villagers where so welcoming with their traditional ways - the festival - the costumes - it was fab !! Also the other small village Zhi an the other side of Leishan who taught us how to dance with our Dragon that they had made for us to take to the Leishan village Dragon Dance Festival - where 10 of us actually danced in the arena it was exceptional and the villagers welcomed us especially the last night of the festival with a Hugh village feast !!
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Victor

Wilmslow
Attending each of the festivals and the supper in the village after the Dragon festival, Be prepared for cold nights.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Marlborough
Unique experience of festivals and culture but prepare to be flexible. Some hotels are not the best but are in good locations. Breakfast at some hotels has to be supplemented by Explore Team. Some filling in of time is also necessary due to festival times etc. Highlight was opportunity to take part in Dragon parade and dance at Festival in Luishan. A lot of easy walking and standing inevitable.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 19 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Linda

London
Highlights - The festivals, good leaders and group.
The home flight connections should have been longer as all the groups' bags didn't arrive with us at London Heathrow.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 06 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

What an amazing tip.Fantastic program. Never did I envisage such diversity and colour. This would have to be one of the best tours in terms of what we experienced that I have ever done.Extremely capable tour leader. Well organised,
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015