It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
548 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Active Turkey! MAT

Visiting: Turkey
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Walking in the Taurus foothills
  • Picturesque harbour
  • Local textiles
  • Ancient ruins
  • Coastal trekking
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Centre Based
  • Activity Grade: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Active Turkey! tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 James Kelly, 10/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I enjoyed the water activities especially the sea kayaking and cruise day as it was so nice to swim in the clear blue sea and lie on deck in the sunshine but my highlight was the town of Kas itself. Its a lovely harbour town with lots of character and good restaurants. Make sure you take time to explore and take in the sights. I would happily go back to Kas anytime.

Read more
 
9 , 03/10/13

Name

Simon Morris

Tour Name

Active Turkey!

Tour Code

MAT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So diverse,it is hard to pick out one; the mountain walk/canoeing & company (including our great guide) were all good. Great coastline,hotel and food.

Tour Leader Name

Ozgur

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent; he was available 24/7, amusing and knowledgeable ( he clearly loves the area ) and expertly managed a diverse group.....his enthusiasm was infectious......

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't worry if you are out of the target group("20-30 somethings")its all manageable and fun

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Would be 10/10, if there was a 3/4 day extension to do some walking/activity around Fetihye or Dalyan 8 days was good but a bit short given the wonderful location.

 
9 , 08/09/13

Name

Stan Wroe

Tour Name

Active Turkey!

Tour Code

MAT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Just a great holiday with various activities to keep me occupied.

Tour Leader Name

Ozgur

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ozgur was very professional, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and had a good sense of humour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I've suggested to Explore that in reviews we should let following tours know about prices. So to do what I've suggested here goes. August 2013 average prices (exchange rate was 2.90 to the £): 50ml bottle Efes - avg price 8 Turkish Lira (TKL) Soft drinks e.g. can of coke or fanta etc 3 or 4 TKL Evening meal - range 18TKL - 50TKL. Depends whether you're happy to have a kebab or want a steak or something somewhere inbetween Wine - Angora (local) is around 35TKL. However there are other 'better' wines available. These can be upto 50/60TKL.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Don't forget your cycling gloves - not only are they good for the mountain biking they also come in handy for the sea kayaking and the Patara river canoe (given the heat in Turkey they will always dry overnight for the next activity!)

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Joanne

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

All of it was amazing, I loved every day and every activity. The mountain biking maybe had an edge over everything else as its an activity I enjoy at home but it was all thoroughly enjoyable.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our leader Ozgur was fantastic, had local knowledge, and was very helpful. We knew what we were doing and what we required to take with us every day every step of the way.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't hesitate, book it now. By far the best holiday I have ever had, not a single thing I could moan or complain about, it was very well organised with each day bringing something new and different and although its a busy week it's all in a relaxed manner, nothing is rushed. Kas is also the perfect base. I can't wait to book my next trip and would definitely recommend Explore and this trip.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

First time I have travelled alone and with Explore but it certainly won't be the last. Great people, great organisation, great tour leader and amazing holiday. Thank you.

 
10 Phillipa Benjamin, 12/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So much of the tour was a memorable moment, the cycling, swimming in the beautiful blue sea, drinking cocktails on the hotel terrace, laughing around the dinner table with the rest of the group and the tour leader.....

Read more
 
8 Chris Chapman, 26/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The sea kayaking was good although the pace could have been a bit slower with more points of interest. The beach we went to was good and a few of went for a swim. The lunch stop was excellent with a visit to some ruins and the perfect restaurant offering perfect food.

Read more
 
0 Helen Garratt, 27/10/11
This was a fantastic trip. The activities were well planned and we were looked after with care and enthusiasm by our guide. The hotel was fine. Clean and comfortable with a good sized pool. I would suggest some more thought with regards to the difficulty level of the mountain biking. It was fine as those who found it too challenging could follow the group by bus but it was not made clear that the pace would be too fast for less confident cyclists. Everything else was just about perfect though. This was our third Explore! trip and we will definitely be joining one again. (MAT -8th August 2011)
 
0 Helen Crook, 19/10/10
The whole trip surpassed my expectations as myself and my husband were able to combine and enjoy the range of activities on offer together with the relaxing in the stunning environment and scenery of Kas. Particular highlights were kayaking over the sunken city of Kekova, paddling along the tranquil stunning coastline, suprise encounters with turtles as they popped their heads up for air gave a sense of both calm and being at one with nature whilst having fun and adventure at the same time. We were impressed by the standard of the hotel, the pool and inhouse turkish bath which provided a treat not to be missed and yet another talking point for shared experiences within the group over the week. The organisation of each activity with fully supported vehicles enabled each activity to be undertaken at a level to suit all abilities , this was for us an unexpected bonus as it enabled us to both fully enjoy all the activities within our own capabilities. Active Turkey was certainly an active week but thouroughly enjoyable from start to finish. A week combining good company, great food, fanatastic environment and great activities all planned and organised in a way to enable you to relax and enjoy everything to the full without having to worry about a thing. A truly wonderful trip which I would recommend to anyone looking for more than a beach holiday. My advice to anyone travelling on this tour in the future would be to try everything, relax and enjoy it, be prepared to have some serious fun in the sun. (MAT - 13th September)
 
0 Emily Williams, 22/09/10
Absolutely amazing holiday. The activities were well organised and sufficiently supervised yet it still felt like an adventure. Kas as a base was perfect! A vibrant relaxed harbour town. (MAT- 26th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA