It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trails of Hidden Tuscany TTY

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Trails of Hidden Tuscany

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trails of Hidden Tuscany trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trails of Hidden Tuscany reviews verified by Reevoo

40 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Trails of Hidden TuscanyScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 40 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Laura

Barcelona
I'd skip the Cinque Terre walk. In my point of view it's not worth the very long train journey ( which includes changing train 3 times) only to elbow your way through the swarms of tourists while coping with the scorching heat.

The accommodation was perfect in all aspects and the people who run the agriturismo were extremely helpful and friendly. However, it was to isolated. It is difficult from there to go sightseeing or visiting other places. And some days your walk is not that long and you are at LaVilla around 4pm. Maybe it could be good considering a two-center holiday for this tour.

The walks were awesome but for the one around the villages neighboring La Villa. Be as it might, in order to avoid the heat it would have been much better to have an earlier start.
Confirmed traveller: 03 July 2016
Published on: 13 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Newcastle-upon-Tyne
We stayed at the agriturismo La Costa in La Villa, in the Garfagnana Valley, which was fantastic. It was a converted convent, with more than ample accommodation and we were fortunate to have a balcony with stunning views across the valley. The owners were particularly welcoming and the food provided was excellent.
Our guide, Ben, was also excellent. He went beyond the call of duty to ensure that we all had a great week, (although his aim with a snowball could be improved.)
The walking involved a rich mixture of terrain, and achieved a nice balance of pleasant valley walking and demanding hill climbing. The group size of just eight was ideal.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 28 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Maidstone
Location is wonderful up in the hills. Accommodation is beautiful with spacious rooms and also a great pool with a view!
Great mix of walks and time for exploration on your own. Don't under estimate the level of fitness required to complete walks, they are not graded easy for a reason!
Food was very good in the whole, perhaps a little more substantial breakfast wouldn't go amiss, given the level of activity. The packed lunches provided were very nice and filling.
Tour leader, Ben, was great. Relaxed, informative and just the right mix of being there to assist, but giving you room to be independent.
Only suggestion I would make is that it would be good if you could combine this more remote Tuscany with a week in the more well know region, which is more gentle. The contrast would make a great trip!
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Bridgnorth
The tour was better than I expected with superb accommodation and location. Ben the tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and supportive. From my perspective I thought a bit more information on some of the ascents prior to the trip would have been useful as I did find some of the climbs difficult and should have prepared better with some hill walking. The Cinque Terre day for me could have been better spent on amore local walk but that is personal preference.
Confirmed traveller: 26 June 2016
Published on: 27 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Foon

West Sussex
Very enjoyable walks, this is an area of stunning beauty. I particularly loved the Cinque Terre and the walk up to Monte Forato. Lucca was a lovely place to visit on the free day, and it was also good to be able to visit Pisa on the last day while waiting for the flight home. Our group got on well. Tip - please note that you may not be able to leave your luggage at the luggage depository at Pisa airport on departure day when you arrive late morning and your flight is later on in the evening, as they had no security staff to check it. We had to take a short bus ride to the train station where they were able to keep it for us for 5 euros. It would have been helpful if we had been advised that this may happen.

I was disappointed that we did not stop at the medieval bridge on the way to Pisa on the last day as stated in itinerary.

Overall a great experience, good fun
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 25 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jen

London
A beautiful part of the world, and a great chance to stay off the tourist trail in the rurality of Tuscany's hills. The agroturismo where we stayed was beautiful and really made the experience. With the exception of the Cinque Terre walk which was busy but stunning, the other trails were all very quiet, which was an added bonus!
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 13 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Manningtree, Essex
Excellent tour with varied walks and a contrasting day off in Lucca. Downside was crowds in cinqueterre but they could not be avoided. Also suffered a bit of car sickness getting to start position of walks but this also was inevitable given how windy roads were
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 08 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Irene

Reading
Loved every minute. Rupert and Angela were very welcoming, food was excellent,local and plentiful. The itinerary was varied and adaptable to the weather and Rupert was an excellent leader who looked after and encouraged everyone and the area was beautiful. Most relaxing week I've had in a long time and physical tiredness meant I slept like a log!
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Roger

south petherton
Varied walking between villages in the mountains, along the coast & on the rest day in Lucca & on the final day in Pisa. The walking experience is very much weather dependent.
Also the walks can be very slippery if it is wet. The key attraction of this trip is the variety of beautiful landscapes within which to walk.
Meals are a highlight that are welcome after a wet walk. Accommodation is excellent with friendly & helpful hosts. Excellent guides with knowledge and enthusiasm.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Charles

Trip to coast was very long. Coastal path too busy.
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Ben is a great guy, perfect leader. Angela is a chArming hostess, nothing is too much trouble.
Rupert also came up trumps on our free day , he provided transport to Lucca during one day train strike
All in all good fun.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 26 April 2016