It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
543 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Trails of Hidden Tuscany TTY

Visiting: Italy
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Trails of Hidden Tuscany 5 out of 5 based on 14 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trails of Hidden Tuscany tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
3.5 Roman Prychidko, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Staying in the 12th Century farmhouse with wonderful vies of the valley and church which was lit up at night.

Read more
 
5 Tracey Garrett, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many memorable moments. Getting to the top of the first hill on the first day seeing the amazing views across the mountains. There was the tasting evening at the local restaurant. There was hitting the pool at 11pm after dinner and there was doing the Gay Gordons on the terrace with the whole group!

Read more
 
4.5 Jane Creaney, 24/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Enjoyed the Cinque Terre coastal path walk. All the walks were good and in particular the Monte Prado final day hike was a good way to end the holiday

Read more
 
4.5 Enter name, 24/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Enjoyed the Cinque Terre coastal path walk. All the walks were good and in particular the Monte Prado final day hike was a good way to end the holiday

Read more
 
4.5 Cinque Terre coastal path walk, 24/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Enjoyed the Cinque Terre coastal path walk. All the walks were good and in particular the Monte Prado final day hike was a good way to end the holiday

Read more
 
5 Emily Quinn, 09/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The highlights for me was the Cinque Terre coastal walk, the rock arch at Monte Forato and Appenine ridge walk to Tuscany's highest summit on the last day. I would highly recommend this tour if you enjoy walking and are looking for a break away in a beautiful, remote location.

Read more
 
5 Lsc, 25/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Fabulous walking holiday with great accommodation and very knowledgeable guide (Ben) La Ville was an amazing place to stay with a delightful swimming pool and sun terrace, just what you need after a long hot days walking. You do need to be fairly fit to climb up to the Appenine ridge as a long steep climb but the views are amazing. Food delicious with plenty of red wine flowing. Will definitely be looking at going on another walking holiday with Explore.

Read more
 
5 Emily Quinn, 17/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The highlights for me was the Cinque Terre coastal walk, the rock arch at Monte Forato and Appenine ridge walk to Tuscany's highest summit on the last day. I would highly recommend this tour if you enjoy walking and are looking for a break away in a beautiful, remote location.

Read more
 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Denise Obst

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Whilst I thoroughly enjoyed the walking which was varied and interesting and gave me a chance to really experience Tuscany " up close" I would have to say that the highlight of the tour was the experience of feeling a local rather than a visitor. This was due in part to Ben's well organised walks and in part to the unique experience of enjoying Angela's wonderful home cooking in such lovely surroundings. I felt part of an Italian family experience.

Tour Leader Name

TTY

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ben was patient, caring and above all well organised. Couldn't ask for more.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Enjoy

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I think the experience and comraderie of all eating together and enjoying Angela's cooking added significanlty to the trip

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Jan Harrison

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"The first was seeing the fireflies dance from the terrace of the villa after our evening meal. I had never seen them before. Sometimes they seemed to accompany me back to the lodge we were staying in. Our last evening was made very memorable by Rupert's offer to take us to a nearby village where there was a food festival taking place. It involved having different courses (five in all) in different parts of the village, all in a beautiful medieval setting which was lit with torches as it got darker. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming and it felt quite special to be a part of it."

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

"We had Ben at the start of the week. He was very knowledgeable, efficient and and friendly in a quiet sort of way. He spoke excellent Italian and organised everything well. At the end of the week we had Rupert who, along with his wife Angela, owns and runs the villa. He was equally well organised and efficient but a more lively character and clearly passionate about the area in which he has made his home. There was a lovely family feeling about the villa: Angela was very warm and encouraging with my attempts to speak Italian and the children were happy to talk to us and ask about our walks. "

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Try the pizzas in the village restaurant - they are the best I have tasted. Eat Italian ice cream at every available opportunity. I found walking poles useful for the hill walks. If you want to travel from an airport other than a London one, it is probably better and cheaper to book your own flights."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"My postcard home: At Braccicorti near Villetta. A pool, bright sunshine - life couldn't be better. Our own little lodge within the grounds And at night the fireflies flit around. A high ridge walk in the Apennines Then rustic food an local wines. The coastal path to bella Corniglia All those steps in this heat - what could be sillier! We stood on the arch atop Monte Forata Then when we came down - even smarter Sarah discovered, oh my golly In the bar at the foot - Mojito ice lolly (so we all had one!) Tomorrow we sample fair Lucca's delights. I can't believe we go home in three nights."

 
5 Jayne Mcdonald, 21/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The summit of Monte Prado at 2054 metres and the Tuscan countryside, amazing.

Read more
 
5 Sally Kerr, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"This was my first trip with Explore as a single traveller. But from the start to the finish I had a wonderful time, my fellow companions were good company, fun and easy to get a long with. The family run farm, Agriturismo Venturo, was excellent - comfortable, good food and very welcoming. The homemade sandwiches for our packed lunches (with their own cheese and baked bread) was much enjoyed to sustain our hot and wonderful walks. The pool was a welcome relief to aching limbs, a good swim before our evening meal.
Amazing scenery, plus a wonderful guide - Ben. He got us all organised, spoke the language and was knowledgeable of Italy and the area we were walking which added to the memorable trip.    "

Read more
 
5 AR, 28/05/12
Lovely trip.  Very relaxing to stay in the same place all week - in an excellent farmhouse with a friendly family.  They kept producing wonderful local food and wine which was all included in the price of the trip.  Walks were varied with spectacular scenery.  Guides were excellent.  A highly recommended, physically energetic but mentally relaxing break.
Read more
 
0 CM, 15/05/12
Fantastic holiday - not your traditional idea of Tuscany, with Alpine-like mountains and wild scenery. Views were amazing on all the walks and we encountered a huge variety of landscapes throughout the week, from up in the mountains (walking through 6 inches of snow at times), to down in the valley, and along some beautiful cliffs and coastal paths in brilliant sunshine. Not to mention the pretty train journey to Lucca were we spent our free day, a charming town full of character and history and a perfect place to rest weary feet and recharge the battereis. The farmhouse accomodation was lovely, home-made and copious food at every meal - just what was needed after a day of energetic walking. Altogether a wonderful holiday which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA