It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trails of Hidden Tuscany TTY

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Trails of Hidden Tuscany

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trails of Hidden Tuscany trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Trails of Hidden Tuscany reviews verified by reevooReevoo

54 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Trails of Hidden TuscanyScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 54 reviews
(8 out of 10)


The accommodation was excellent, as was the food (and drink) provided.
All the walks were testing, but doable. Maybe too much driving to and from, but otherwise good.
Despite a surprise train strike, the tour leader kept things together and made alternative arrangements relatively quickly.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(7 out of 10)


I greatly enjoyed the trip. The accommodation and meal provided were very good with no problems concerning diet, noise, etc. The tour leader was friendly and helpful (even though he infected many of us with a very nasty cold!). The walks were very enjoyable, if a little more strenuous in parts than expected, but easily completed by those in good health with reasonable fitness.

There was a problem with a trip to walk the Cinque Terre path which ended half way there because of a train strike.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


A fantastically enjoyable holiday in a beautifully scenic, peaceful part of Tuscany!

We stayed at La Costa, a converted convent in a stunning location, looking out over the Garfagnana Valley. The accommodation was spacious, with a luxurious feel, spread out over several terraced levels. One of our walks was straight from the door of the door of the convent, through the quiet local villages and surrounding hills, allowing us to really get a good taste of the local area.

The walking itinerary was very varied, which made for an interesting and challenging week. Personally, my favourite was the Monte Forato walk to the natural rock arch - the 360 degree views from the high point were simply stunning and the fact this walk was slightly more technical than the others made you feel proud that you'd really worked to get up there too. As others have commented, the Cinque Terre day unavoidably felt a little rushed due to the length of the journey required to reach this area. Though the crowds were a shock after the peace of the Garfagnana, I was still happy to have seen the area. I was really glad I chose to do the second walk of the day (which is optional) as the views open out and the scenery becomes more spectacular than the first walk of the day. On our trip, the route was also quieter, though this may not always be the case.

The excursion to Lucca on the free day was an enjoyable change of pace and a chance to soak up the atmosphere in a typical Tuscan city.

Our tour leader, Steve, was a real professional, knowledgeable about the area and with an infectious enthusiasm for the outdoors. He made the effort to chat to everyone within the group, and was adept at spotting and supporting anyone who would benefit from that without any fuss - a few of us were a little wary of scrambling for example, but his approach really inspired focus and confidence and got the entire group up the mountain successfully. Our group was a great mix of interesting people, of widely varying ages and gelled really well anyway, but having a leader who complimented this with first rate people skills was the icing on the cake.

In terms of packing, I found a hat and insect repellent indispensable (British insects usually leave me alone and I was a bit surprised to find that wasn't the case in Tuscany). Bite cream may also be handy. We encountered heat, humidity, and chilly wind requiring layers and gloves in the space of the week, so pack for any weather.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


stunning scenery,first class walking itinerary,supurb accommodation with excellent hosts in hill top location plus steve an outstanding leader in all respects and an excellent group of 13 people.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 23 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Lovely accommodation at La Costa, the spacious rooms in this beautifully restored building, with a lovely pool area and great home cooking and hospitality, more than makes up for the remote location. Enjoy the quietness and the views at La Costa.

Walks were challenging for those of us less used to this type of terrain (but achievable). We were supported and cheerfully encouraged by our guide Steve. A friendly group, great company for the week.

Check alternatives to the standard flight and tour package offered by Explore; you might not want to wait at Pisa airport until mid-evening on your departure day. A couple of hours in Pisa is sufficient to look around.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Fabulous trip. Wonderful place to stay. Rooms were huge. Lovely hosts. The hikes were great. Lots of things to see and do with down time too if when wanted that. Absolutely loved it all. Our hike leader Steve had lots of experience and stories to share. Great for those who enjoy hiking a seeing some tourist sites as well.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


A lovely week in stunning countryside. Spacious rooms in a beautiful converted farm built around a courtyard, where we dined al fresco on four evenings, and a swimming pool with spectacular views. Steve was a great guide - knowledgeable, encouraging, friendly and fun. I found the walks challenging, mainly because of the heat, but felt a sense of achievement at the end of each day.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


The tour is based at an Italian farmhouse in the foothills of the Apennines from which you are taken out by minibus for various walks in the surrounding hills and countryside. The walking is of moderate difficulty with a few steep ascents and descents. Meals are provided in the farmhouse on 4 nights, and on the other 3 nights you visit local restaurants. The tour I was on consisted mostly of single people in the 40 - 50 age bracket. The food at the farmhouse was fairly basic but we were given unlimited carafes of the local wine, followed up by the owner's homemade grappa! The highlights for me were the walks themselves which included some stunning scenery and, apart from the coastal walk, were very peaceful and un-crowded.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


Perfect location and hosts. Excellent guide and varied itinary, highly recommended. Great group on the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 15 August 2016
(10 out of 10)


Anglesey N Wales
Excellent tour, exceeded my expectations by far. Beautiful scenery, superb weather- sun, hot, only one session of rain!Accommodation could not be faulted neither could the food. Despite the calories used in the walks I put on 4lbs! Amadeus and Rosealba have achieved extremely high standards in their restoration and the apartment provided spaciousness for myself and Helen. A wide mix of individuals and professions provided lively conversations. Ben- unassuming, supportive, encouraging, a really nice guy and excellent tour leader, guide and mini bus driver
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 07 September 2016