It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trails of Hidden Tuscany TTY

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Trails of Hidden Tuscany

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trails of Hidden Tuscany trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trails of Hidden Tuscany reviews verified by Reevoo

31 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Trails of Hidden TuscanyScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 31 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Irene

Reading
Loved every minute. Rupert and Angela were very welcoming, food was excellent,local and plentiful. The itinerary was varied and adaptable to the weather and Rupert was an excellent leader who looked after and encouraged everyone and the area was beautiful. Most relaxing week I've had in a long time and physical tiredness meant I slept like a log!
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Roger

south petherton
Varied walking between villages in the mountains, along the coast & on the rest day in Lucca & on the final day in Pisa. The walking experience is very much weather dependent.
Also the walks can be very slippery if it is wet. The key attraction of this trip is the variety of beautiful landscapes within which to walk.
Meals are a highlight that are welcome after a wet walk. Accommodation is excellent with friendly & helpful hosts. Excellent guides with knowledge and enthusiasm.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Charles

Trip to coast was very long. Coastal path too busy.
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Ben is a great guy, perfect leader. Angela is a chArming hostess, nothing is too much trouble.
Rupert also came up trumps on our free day , he provided transport to Lucca during one day train strike
All in all good fun.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 26 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Holly

London
Rupert and Angela and their farm were fantastic. The food and hospitality were outstanding. The photos don't do the trip justice. The walking was challenging but do-able and made the Italian homemade food and home grown wine all the more enjoyable at the end of the day! I was unaware of how mountainous northern Tuscany is and we went up to snow tipped peaks with stunning alpine views and to the coast in glorious sunshine. The variety was superb and I felt as if I was on a different holiday each day. I would reccomend this trip highly.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

An uncrowded area off the normal tourist routes(except for the busy Cinque Terre villages.)
Agriturismo La Costa was a very high quality conversion of old buildings run by a friendly local couple. Wholesome simple local food.
It is difficult to pick highlights from such a scenic area but I would say the Monte Forato arch, Cinque Terre walk and villages and the highest peak Monte Prado.
Most of us went to Lucca on our day off which is a wonderful compact city with walks on the intact city walls.
Where else would you get an Italian/Glaswegian bus driver and a bar owner of similar extraction straight out of Central Casting. The latter provided a multi course meal at a knock down price.
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Martin

Bromsgrove
After joining many Explore treks this was my first Centre Based walking holiday. It was superb. The guide and his wife Angela made us very welcome. The accommodation and meals were excellent. The walking itinery was varied and the countryside incredibly beautiful. Rupert our guide has lived and worked in this wonderful valley for many years and gave us real insight into Tuscan life and culture. Our spare time was arranged with a rail journey to Lucca and a couple of evening meals in traditional restaurants. Overall a superb holiday and highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 11 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

the highlights for me was the Cinque Terre coastal walk, the rock arch at Monte Forato and Appenine ridge walk to Tuscany's highest summit on the last day. I would highly recommend this tour if you enjoy walking and are looking for a break away in a beautiful, remote location.Ben was a fantastic leader, knowledgeable, fit, calm and had great leadership skills.
Confirmed traveller: 17 May 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jeffrey

Calgary, Canada
Agriturismo was great! Hikes were well thought out. The isolation from the "big cities" and the true Tuscan experience was wonderful.
Make sure you understand what "moderate" means... 15kms with upwards of 800 vertical metres is a good challenge. Plan a full day in Pisa before meeting your tour in the late afternoon.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 13 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Climbing the mountain to see the Hugh arch. Visiting lucca and the cinque terre walk and the coast. Also the amazing mountain scenery Very good a great leader and had a vast knowledge of the area
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Tuscany's hill villages, in one of which we stayed, are steeped in history. The walks we took were spectacular and Lucca, where we spent a relaxing day, is an unspoilt mediaeval masterpice. One walk, along the Ligurian Coast, was magical. Our converted convent was very high spec, the food very wholesome and the owners - with no English - charming.Charming, efficient, supportive,good sense of humour, informative. Pretty darned good!
Confirmed traveller: 17 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015