It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Trails of Hidden Tuscany TTY

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Trails of Hidden Tuscany

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Trails of Hidden Tuscany trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Trails of Hidden Tuscany reviews verified by reevooReevoo

82 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Trails of Hidden TuscanyScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 82 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Barbara

hailsham
all so much better than expected great accommodation and a nice fellow group of travellers who stuck together on day to Lucca and final day in Pisa a variety of walks and meals the walking a bit harder than I thought so you do need to be quite fit and ready to climb! all in all a great holiday and wonderful part of Italy planning to do the wine trails next!
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2017
Published on: 20 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Clare

Northwich
The farm at La Villa turned out to be one of the highlights of this holiday - such a beautiful place with amazing views and beautiful home cooked dinners. It's also a lovely place to relax if you don't feel like walking one day. The walks are varied and interesting and all provide great reward in terms of views. It's also worth mentioning that you get back from each day's walk with ample time for a swim in the pool and a snooze before dinner. Our guide, Ben, was very good - helpful, calm and professional.
The Cinque Terre day was not for me - the villages are hideously busy, touristy places - but that's just my personal view.
We used our spare day to visit Lucca which is easy and convenient.
The shuttle from the airport into Pisa only takes 5 minutes and is well worth doing if you have time - we found Pisa quite beautiful.
All in all, a stress free, relaxing holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Patricia

Greensboro, North Carolina, USA
The Hidden Trails of Tuscany was an outstanding trip and excellent adventure! The trip leader, Benjamin Bath, with Garfagnana Tours, was a major plus. Not only was he an experienced hike leader in the Tuscany region, ready to share his historic and geographic knowledge but he is also fluent in Italian! His planning was detailed and flawlessly executed. He managed the logistics of moving 16 people all week long with ease and he always provided options for any who might not want to participate in the full hike. For those of us who did, he added challenges such as hiking onto the natural rock arch at Monte Forte or inviting us to add other peaks to the downhill descent from Mt.Prado.
Besides the camaraderie of hiking with this group,the highlights for me were the hikes to Monte Forte Natural Rock Arch and to the summit of Mt.Prado in the Apennines.
A day or 2 extension for more hiking in the Apennines would be an awesome option.
The views from the agritourismo are breathtaking and the accommodations comfortable.
A portable fan in the sleeping area would be helpful in moving the warm August Tuscan night air and discouraging mosquitoes.
Each day was outstanding and Ben provided wonderful local stops at the end of the hiking day, to try chestnut beer, bilberry wine or enjoy a local dinner and gelato.
I most definitely give this trip a Gold Star !
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Phillip

Northampton
Very well paced holiday with excellent leader Ben
Accomodation at La Costa was unusual but very good. The location was stunning with views all round however there were no cafes / bars / restaurants available nearby.
This made the free day where no evening meal was provided meant going out by taxi.
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patrick

Chertsey
Fantastic base location in a beautiful traditional building with large airy rooms. Great food, lots of local wine and our hosts, Amedeo and his family, were great hosts and lots of fun.
The itinerary was a good blend of achievable (but occasionally slightly challenging) hikes and time to relax.
Our guide, Ben, provided all the information needed to prepare for the walks and proved to have a wealth of knowedge about the countryside and local people. Pace was adjusted to the slowest member and no one was lost or left behind.
Great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 13 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The itinerary was good except that I found Cinque Terre unpleasantly crowded, both in the town and on the beach, most of which was private. In July the path round the coast was very hot so everyone opted to omit the afternoon walk and take the boat instead.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Simon

London
Good trip. Accommodation basic bedrooms dark no fans or baths very cheap towels and beds only made once.
Otherwise excellent good walks and good tour leader. Will.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Vivienne

Newhaven
A great location, lovely accommodation, pool and home cooked meals. The walks are quite challenging and a good level of fitness is required. Ben our guide has excellent local knowledge and worked tirelessly to ensure we had an enjoyable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Lee

London
A brilliant way to explore Tuscany. Ben, our tour leader, was exceptionally brilliant and was highly knowledgable about the history, culture, people, food and customs of the area and Italy in general which made it a highly enjoyable break. Superb!! Lee
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017