It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
639 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Gorilla and Chimp Safari UG

Visiting: Uganda
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Gorilla and Chimp Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Gorilla and Chimp Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Gorilla and Chimp Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Gorilla and Chimp SafariScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Guernsey Channel Islands
Highlights - the wonderful accommodation throughout with spectacular views, the friendly people everywhere and the gorilla and chimpanzee treks + a great group of people
Tips -advised by staff that better to get visa on arrival with no preliminary application as this all took too long
- no need to take too many dollars as better rate and easy to change sterling
- on gorilla trek more challenging group should only be for those fit enough as we were slowed down by someone clearly not
- no need for walking poles as almost 'made' to use the ones at the lodge
- trip notes seemed exactly the same whenever departure was and should be date specific so not advised to take completely unnecessary warm fleece during dry season
- main tour leader Noel lovely and very responsible but rather too quietly spoken so many often could not hear instructions
Confirmed traveller: 15 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Tina

Chania, Crete
The trip exceeded our expectations. The Gorillas in Bwindi were mind blowing. Noel, our tour leader was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable and professional. The accommodation was very good especially Mahogany Springs in Bwindi and Primate Lodge in Kibale.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2017
Published on: 17 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Charles

Cambridge
This is a wonderful trip. The close encounters (and they were close) with chimps and then mountain gorillas were experiences never to be forgotten. It was both exciting and very moving. The breath-taking wildlife experience is not limited to that. In particular, the boat trip on the Kazinga Channel with the profusion of birds and animals was a real high point. Uganda is also a stunningly beautiful country, especially the area around Buhoma (Bwindi Impenetrable Forest) and above all, Lake Bunyonyi. I loved all the lodges where we stayed. The accommodation was excellent, the views invariably magnificent and the welcome very warm. Full marks Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 05 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Lynda

Kamloops
This was a fantastic trip. It met all my expectations.
I loved Peter but I think the language factor may have affected clear communication along with keeping things consis and simple.
He was however an expert and putting up with difficult travellers and we had 2 in our group who thought it was their right to be catered to because of a "disability" they called car sickness.
They were the only negative in this whole trip and thankfully the woman I travelled with called them on their behviour.
I would not have had the patience Peter did and most of us voiced the same. These people knew it as a road trip but didn't want to travel a minute over the itinery.
Thank you Explore for making a trip of a lifetime and something I've been wanting to do for 50 years.
I will certainly recommend it!
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 04 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Alan

Bordon ,Hants
Overall a very good trip , but some of the driving times are wildly inaccurate. The highlights were the primates and the birds.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Camilla

I've just filled in a holiday feedback questionnaire for Explore so won't say more here.
Confirmed traveller: 21 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Karen

Hull
Peter our tour guide was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very friendly and accommodating. The gorilla trek was hard work but everything I hoped it would be. To see a gorilla family including the silverback and infants was an experience I will not forget. We got the opportunity to do more game drives than expected and the trip on the Kazinga channel was also a highlight. Our first Explore trip but don't think it will be our last
Confirmed traveller: 14 September 2016
Published on: 23 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Bournemouth.
Uganda is a beautiful country with a great diversity of animals, an abundance of bird life & the friendliest of people.
There were many highlights on our tour but the driving force behind my decision to travel here, was a desire to see our closest relatives the gorilla.
Our trek was strenuous but made much easier with the help of a hired porter who carried our back packs & assist with a helping hand when the path became steep & slippery.
I felt humbled & privileged to observe the gorilla family at such close quarters. They appeared to accept us, carrying out their day to day activities unfazed by our presence.
Like a scene from East Enders, the family dynamics started to unfold.
We witnessed an argument between the black backs & silver back......were enchanted by a 6 month old baby & mother....& thrilled to watch youngsters frolicking in the branches above our heads.
When our designated time was over, we slowly descended through the Biwindi Impenetrable Forest in total silence. Soaking in our surroundings, reflecting on our close encounter.
Many many thanks to all at Explore for making this experience possible.
A special thank you must go to Peter, Noel & Umal our fantastic guides & drivers.
I encourage you to go to Uganda now!
A truly magical experience.
One never to be forgotten.




Sent from my iPad
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2016
Published on: 05 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Heather

Ferndown, Dorset
The chimps and gorillas were wonderful and so were the leopards which I saw on optional night safari on last night.

Go on the night safari. An extra night at the last stop -the magical Rwaboko Safari Lodge - would make this trip just about perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Susan

London
Being close to chimps and gorillas was amazing. The guides made it possible for everyone to share the experience even those not super fit.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015