It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Gorilla and Chimp Safari UG

Visiting: Uganda
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Gorilla and Chimp Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Gorilla and Chimp Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Gorilla and Chimp Safari reviews verified by Reevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Gorilla and Chimp SafariScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Bournemouth.
Uganda is a beautiful country with a great diversity of animals, an abundance of bird life & the friendliest of people.
There were many highlights on our tour but the driving force behind my decision to travel here, was a desire to see our closest relatives the gorilla.
Our trek was strenuous but made much easier with the help of a hired porter who carried our back packs & assist with a helping hand when the path became steep & slippery.
I felt humbled & privileged to observe the gorilla family at such close quarters. They appeared to accept us, carrying out their day to day activities unfazed by our presence.
Like a scene from East Enders, the family dynamics started to unfold.
We witnessed an argument between the black backs & silver back......were enchanted by a 6 month old baby & mother....& thrilled to watch youngsters frolicking in the branches above our heads.
When our designated time was over, we slowly descended through the Biwindi Impenetrable Forest in total silence. Soaking in our surroundings, reflecting on our close encounter.
Many many thanks to all at Explore for making this experience possible.
A special thank you must go to Peter, Noel & Umal our fantastic guides & drivers.
I encourage you to go to Uganda now!
A truly magical experience.
One never to be forgotten.




Sent from my iPad
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2016
Published on: 05 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Heather

Ferndown, Dorset
The chimps and gorillas were wonderful and so were the leopards which I saw on optional night safari on last night.

Go on the night safari. An extra night at the last stop -the magical Rwaboko Safari Lodge - would make this trip just about perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 23 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Susan

London
Being close to chimps and gorillas was amazing. The guides made it possible for everyone to share the experience even those not super fit.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Elaine

Liverpool
Explore arrange everything from the first enquiry telephone call to final documents with ease. Guides are very knowledgeable and make it all seem so easy. Although I am sure there is lots of organising in the background. I like the security of being with a group of people who soon become friends. Looking forward to booking my next holiday with them.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(9 out of 10)

Paula

Hampshire
This was, as is always the case with Explore, an excellent trip. The itinerary not only covered the once in a lifetime encounters with Gorillas and Chimps but also took in other wildlife and allowed us to see much more of Uganda than we may have expected. The Tour Leaders were knowledgeable, personable, helpful, approachable and great fun - real pleasure to spend time with them.
Uganda is a fantastic country and I'm so glad that I booked an Explore trip rather than arranging only to do gorilla trekking.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2015
Published on: 30 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michelle

San Jose, CA USA
Loved the gorilla trekking, of course, but also found the chimp trekking to be much more interesting than I expected. Explore guides were really great and went out of their way to make sure everyone had a good holiday. Uganda sometimes is given a bad rap in the western press - largely because of what is happening in neighboring countries - but it really is a beautiful place with warm, friendly people & amazing wildlife and very safe.
Confirmed traveller: 15 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Manchester
This is the second explore trip I have done and I have to say the on the ground organisation is top quality. My only disappointment was the free included insurance, I was unable to extend the insurance to give me annual cover.
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was our first Explore trip. All the lodges exceeded our expectations. Food was good and all the staff were lovely. We originally went to see the Gorillas, but for myself I loved the Chimps, with their screeching, and we actually got closer to them than the Gorillas. I also loved the Lions at Ishasha. That was amazing. Our Gorilla track started early, and we were to see the ORUZOGO group, which we came upon around half an hour into our treck. It wasn't an easy treck as it was down a steep ravine and very slippery. My porter was my lifesaver, but she could'nt save me from falling when we left her. We came upon 2 silverbacks, 1 grumpy black back, 1 female, and a baby climbing a tree. We could see the bushes moving all around us so knew the other group was there, but they were shy. Never the less, we got some amazing pics. All our other activities were brilliant. From the walks to visiting villages and schools. Uganda is a beautiful country, and we were amazed at some of the stunning views.Peter was such a laid back gentle funny person. He had to deal with a couple of difficult people on our tour on several occasions, and did so with dignity. He was with Robert, who was a keen bird watcher and very informative, along with Umar, who had a quiet personality, but was lovely, and also had very good knowledge of the country and wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 25 July 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was our first Explore trip. All the lodges exceeded our expectations. Food was good and all the staff were lovely. We originally went to see the Gorillas, but for myself I loved the Chimps, with their screeching, and we actually got closer to them than the Gorillas. I also loved the Lions at Ishasha. That was amazing. Our Gorilla track started early, and we were to see the ORUZOGO group, which we came upon around half an hour into our treck. It wasn't an easy treck as it was down a steep ravine and very slippery. My porter was my lifesaver, but she could'nt save me from falling when we left her. We came upon 2 silverbacks, 1 grumpy black back, 1 female, and a baby climbing a tree. We could see the bushes moving all around us so knew the other group was there, but they were shy. Never the less, we got some amazing pics. All our other activities were brilliant. From the walks to visiting villages and schools. Uganda is a beautiful country, and we were amazed at some of the stunning views.Peter was such a laid back gentle funny person. He had to deal with a couple of difficult people on our tour on several occasions, and did so with dignity. He was with Robert, who was a keen bird watcher and very informative, along with Umar, who had a quiet personality, but was lovely, and also had very good knowledge of the country and wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 25 July 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016