It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Gorilla and Chimp Safari UG

Visiting: Uganda
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Gorilla and Chimp Safari

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Gorilla and Chimp Safari trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Gorilla and Chimp Safari reviews verified by reevooReevoo

37 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Gorilla and Chimp SafariScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 37 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Siobhan

Worksop
I would highly recommend this tour, loved the spectacular landscapes, wildlife and the
friendly Ugandan people.
One tip is to take nature blending coloured clothes on the Gorilla and Chimp tracking, my
waterproof was a bit too brightly coloured but our wonderful Tour Leader Peter very
kindly lent me his.
Also I would say brushing up on some hill walking before the tour is worthwhile for
overall enjoyment on the Gorilla tracking as it can be quite steep, I didn't bother and my
muscles ached a bit the next day! It was so worth it though!
I agree with my fellow tour mate Diana's comments below, I have given the tour 10
because of the sense of adventure and the way we were looked after, the lodges all had
amazing views and friendly staff, food was very good and usually more than I could eat!

Special thank you to Peter, I always felt I was in safe hands and loved his sense of humour!
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2017
Published on: 17 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Diana

Hove
The gorilla trek was tough but the reward was well worth it, especially when they came down from the trees and we could view them closely. It was an excellent holiday with a well balanced itinerary. My only criticism was there was a little too much spare time at Lake Bunyonyi and would have appreciated a more relaxed start to the day but believe that extra time was allowed in case road conditions were bad crossing Bwindi National Park. Peter, the leader worked extremely hard as guide, leader and driver.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2017
Published on: 05 September 2017
(10 out of 10)

Barbara

Hobart tasmania
Where do I start - from my first meeting with our guide Peter and other travelling companions I had a great time. We met each evening before dinner to discuss the following day and I really appreciate that. I would like the tour to be a little longer as I felt the two single nights at the end of the trip were too short - there was no way that we could have put the two nights together as it was too far for Peter to drive . I think Peter had very long days as he was the driver guide for seven of us - he was always calm, helpful and nothing but nothing was too much trouble. I think that when visiting the gorillas everyone should have a porter irrespective of how fit they believe themselves to be. Good walking shoes or boots are a must - waterproof jackets and trousers need to be in the packing list - believe me when it rains it pours and walking for hours in wet gear would be no fun at all. Obviously the gorilla were a major highlight but we also visited other primates, saw some beautiful countryside and met some wonderful local peoples. During the tour we visited a village school, a hospital, a charity supporting women, two interesting and very different villages where we met the medicine man, saw the ladies doing handcrafts, witnessed banana beer being prepared and so on. Uganda has a high percentage of what I think of as absolute poverty - imagine earning a U.K. Pound a day!!. The school we visited is in great need of help - 500+children in only seven classes - as many children again don't go to school there at all. Peter told us the village desperately needs an incinerator and certainly there is a lot of rubbish about (much unfortunately plastic) - if Explore or individuals want to help with that I would definitely be in it. For me the hardest thing about Uganda is that there is so much need I don't know how or where to try and help.
Confirmed traveller: 29 August 2017
Published on: 12 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Angela

Devizes
The itinerary provided a varied and fascinating insight into this beautiful country, but the highlight has to be the gorillas - the experience of a lifetime!
Confirmed traveller: 19 July 2017
Published on: 28 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sharon

Woking
This varied and fascinating trip provided a great introduction to Uganda. We saw plenty of wildlife, had good opportunities to meet the locals on village walks, and had time to enjoy the wonderful scenery. The highlights for me were the gorillas (a fairly hard trek but well and truly worth it to spend an hour in their company), getting good views (and photos) of a leopard in Queen Elizabeth National Park and the boat cruise on the Kazinga Channel. Myself and a couple of others in the group chose to spend an afternoon learning to weave with the lovely women at the Ride 4 a Woman charity in Bwindi. I would highly recommend this. It was a very relaxing afternoon spent chatting to, and learning about the locals. I would also recommend trying the local food - it's delicious! The trip itinerary sets out that on the first day you could 'spend an afternoon relaxing by the pool'. Our flight was on time and we didn't get a chance to do this due to Kampala traffic - we ended up getting to the hotel in the evening! Also, I wish we could have had a second night at the atmospheric Rwakobo Rock lodge just to take it all in...and to enjoy some of the other activities/facilities on site. All in all though, a brilliant trip to a wonderful country. I am definitely planning a return visit sometime!
Confirmed traveller: 19 July 2017
Published on: 27 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Olivia

Willoughby on the Wolds
Excellent trip with Peter and Gerald who are both great guides. Peter was very accomodating on re-arranging my chimp safari when I recieved an unexpected invitation for a telephone job interview! Group size ideal (10). More than that would have been too many. Accomodation v good apart from Kingfisher Lodge in Q Elizabeth Park - actually quite a way from the park on awful roads and our room had an abundant array of insects and had probably not been used / slept in for some months. The transport was good because we were divided between two minibuses with raisable rooves (for game viewing). The wildlife in Uganda is as good as or better than most other African countries. Apart from an excellent chimp viewing (on my delayed chimp trek) and brilliant close up viewing of gorillas, we saw lions in trees, a leopard, eland etc etc. Great birds as well. The food in Uganda is very good. There were several occasions where we were offered buffet meals and some in the group were wary of these because of concerns re the higher risk of gastroenteritis. One person got really upset about this issue which made our guides very concerned that they were not doing a good job. I can emphatically confirm that Peter and Gerald made every effort to give us the best holiday ever. An issue also arose when one person discovered that the time of her flight home had been brought forward. This meant that half the group needed to return to Entebbe a bit earlier missing a further early morning game drive. Peter and Gerald dealt with this very well by giving us all a longer game drive the preceding evening and offering a visit to the very interesting Botanical Gardens in Entebbe (with a guide) to those agreeable to making the earlier journey back.
Confirmed traveller: 19 July 2017
Published on: 27 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

harrogate
This was a super trip particularly for those who like to bird watch. The highlight was without doubt the Gorilla trek and I did it twice - very different experiences but both fantastic. If you can afford it buy 2 permits before you leave as it is cheaper. I would also recommend that you do the hard and medium treks - as although not guaranteed it does give you the most fantastic walk thorough the jungle and excitements of finally tracking them down. the accommodation was of good standard all the way with character lodges/ cottages. I would recommend 3-4 days in Kampala prior to the trip as it has a lot to offer with the walking tour/ cycling with on the go tours/ Boda boda tours and shoe bill spotting.
Sitting with Gorillas is a unique experience which is a must for wildlife lovers.
Confirmed traveller: 19 July 2017
Published on: 23 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Lawrence

Nottingham
Can highly recommend this trip. Noel was a fantastic leader, alongside Beki. Very professional, impeccable organisation, vast knowledge, and very welcoming. The vans are comfortable and not over-filled which is great. Most of the roads are bumpy but the journeys are broken up and there is so much to see as you drive cross country. The accommodation throughout was great, all offering unique rooms with stunning views and some of the best service I've ever experienced! The choice and quality of food is very good, as vegetarians we ate incredibly well. It's definitely worth trying the local dishes and the fresh fruit is delicious.

Every activity in the itinery offers an amazing experience that you will not forget. My personal highlights were the gorilla trek in Bwindi impenetrable forest, and the boat ride along the Kazinga channel.

Tips: Definitely take gardening gloves for the gorilla trek - once you have found the gorillas you will spend around an hour scrambling up and down thorny vegetation which you will want to hold on to for stability!
Pack light - you really don't need a lot of clothes and there are plenty of opportunities to get some laundry done. Best to take a durable holdall as the lodges don't tend to have flat paths for roller bags and holdalls are much easier for you / the porters to carry.

Definitely book this trip - you will not regret it. Uganda is a beautiful country which does not disappoint.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Guernsey Channel Islands
Highlights - the wonderful accommodation throughout with spectacular views, the friendly people everywhere and the gorilla and chimpanzee treks + a great group of people
Tips -advised by staff that better to get visa on arrival with no preliminary application as this all took too long
- no need to take too many dollars as better rate and easy to change sterling
- on gorilla trek more challenging group should only be for those fit enough as we were slowed down by someone clearly not
- no need for walking poles as almost 'made' to use the ones at the lodge
- trip notes seemed exactly the same whenever departure was and should be date specific so not advised to take completely unnecessary warm fleece during dry season
- main tour leader Noel lovely and very responsible but rather too quietly spoken so many often could not hear instructions
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 February 2017
Published on: 18 February 2017