It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Undiscovered Balkans KOA

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Undiscovered Balkans

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Undiscovered Balkans trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Undiscovered Balkans reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Undiscovered BalkansScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Tracy

Everything was a highlight. I would have included extra time in Matka Canyon Park so that a boat ride could have been taken. I took the "Ancient Macedonia" trip a few years ago which did have the boat trip in Matka Canyon, and it was a highlight that should not be missed.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Susanne

Winchester
A very enjoyable trip with lots of interest - stunning landscapes, fascinating monasteries, mosques and cities, comfortable hotels and delicious fresh, seasonal local food; the countries visited are all in transition so provide lots of interest from the political, cultural and economic perspectives. Although still "evolving" the tourist infrastructure is generally good but be aware that it is not the Western Mediterranean or Northern Europe! Ed was an excellent, experienced leader who ensured both that everything "worked" and also gave us insights into the history, politics and culture of all the countries visited; he was sensitive to the needs and the interests of the of the group including "flexing" timings to take account of the very hot weather. Wifi was generally available and good (even in remote areas) but it is important to recognise that electricity supplies may be a bit erratic! Hotels were generally excellent, food is cheap and good with vegetarian options available although meat is important in the local cuisine; wine and beer are good and we enjoyed our visits to 2 wineries in Kosovo. As a small group we travelled very comfortably in a Ford Transit (with good air conditioning) which enabled us to access everywhere. The walks were enjoyable and it was possible to opt out if they were beyond your fitness levels and Ed gave us good advice and ensured we were safe; walking poles helped me. I also enjoyed the "Highlights of Albania" tour last year and would thoroughly recommend both; I intend to explore the Balkan region further.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Derry

Wonderful scenery throughout the tour. Centre of Skopje was like being in Las Vegas; massive statues everywhere and monumental architecture. People were very friendly and helpful. We had very mixed ability group, so the walks in the Valpona valley and especially the Rugova highlands proved to be very challenging for some members of the group; would recommd that those considering this tour to be used to hill walking if they wish to do these walks. Overall, I was very pleased to do this tour before it became too exposed to mass tourism.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 16 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Cynthia

Kingston upon Thames
New locations for me, really liked the wonderful mountain scenery and cultural elements.
I appreciated the travelling distances not being too long between venues.
Leader gave more detailed historic information than I could handle.
Walks were more difficult than expected, especially in the summer heat.
Our driver was very good.
Would have preferred eating more traditional food in small local restaurants/cafes .
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 17 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

A very well organised and led tour. The Balkans and particularly Albania are fantastic places to visit. The highlights were many, in particular, the lake kolman ferry, the valbona valley and lake ohrid. Tips are don't bring too much money as everything is cheap.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 15 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Taplow, Maidenhead
An excellent tour with a wide range of experiences ranging from cities to mountains. Would have preferred a little more leisure time in the countryside, the scenery exceeded all expectations.
Our guide, Alfred, was superb, I would rate him at 10+. Alfred's knowledge of the area was very good and nothing was too much trouble. Being 73 years old I found some of the walking a challenge, but thanks to Alfred I did not miss anything.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 12 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Alexandria, Virginia
I was very lucky to find this tour thanks to the power of the Internet, as this part of the Balkans is very poorly covered by the USA-based companies. Too many churches and mosques on the itinerary -- maybe reduce by one each, and add something else to make up the time. Would have liked to spend more time in the Valbona Valley, but I recognize that this is probably better done on another tour more oriented to hikers and other nature lovers. Definitely worth the money - great company, terrific tour guide and drivers, and wonderful places to visit.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Cornwall
Walk in Kosovo. Wine tasting. Kruje. Everywhere we went in Albania.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Tony

Dundee
Highlights were Albania, and the Valbona Valley in particular - a special place indeed.
Peja, Kosovo and Prizren were also great. Skopje was weird, but nice. Ohrid was fantastic.

Overall, a well balanced trip with just enough of everything to keep each day different!

Don't forget your sink plug, although the standard of hotels was generally high - with the notable exception of Hotel Briliant, somewhere near Prishtina, Kosovo.

Albania is incredibly cheap - 3 course meal, with 3 alcoholic drinks = £6. Kosovo gets a bit more expensive, and Macedonia is ridiculous - imagine actually paying £1 for a beer!

Endrit, our guide, and Fati, the driver, were a great team and kept us informed and entertained throughout.

The walks were not at all strenuous, if you are used to walking. But there are opportunities to avoid the walking entirely, if you wish (wouldn't advise it though!)

Only slight drawback was that doing the last trip of the season, we arrived at some places too late at night to be able to see anything (due to the dark!) - in particular, Mavrovo National Park, Macedonia - and then left first thing in the morning. Not a major issue.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your trip to the Balkans, but we’re sorry that you were disappointed with the Hotel Briliant. Following customer feedback we have now changed this and our groups stay at a different hotel in Pristina.