It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search
Point to Point cycling

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Vélo En Provence CVP

Visiting: France
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Vélo En Provence

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Vélo En Provence trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Vélo En Provence reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Vélo En ProvenceScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Durham
A well structured tour with an easy/moderate grading. The small friendly group of six was ideal as it allowed us more flexibility to include things in our day otherwise not possible had the group been larger.

Our leader Andrew Perryman was an excellent knowledgable guide and riding companion who supported every individual member of our group.

This was my first time with Explore and I will not hesitate to travel with them again.

Value for money and with a single supplement more reasonable than any other similar company offered.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 12 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Frances

Badger Shropshire
Despite ridiculous temperatures....40 plus in the afternoons it was a great week. Andrew is very well organised and helped the small group really enjoy the cycling experience. Orange and its amphitheater was worth a visit. I loved St Remy de Provence. Lovely hotel close to the Roman remains and the asylum where Van Gogh spent some time. The town is very attractive and lively.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 09 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ron

SS Marie
If bicycling from one quaint village to another on quiet back roads while enjoying an expertly guided tour, this is your trip. You will see historic sights and architecture thousands of years old. You will eat well in a vineyard picnic and dine in authentic restaurants. The tour pace is not demanding and stopping for pictures expected.
Confirmed traveller: 20 May 2017
Published on: 16 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Maureen

Nottingham
Thank you explore for a lovely cycling holiday in Provence. A wonderful part of France,just perfect for touring on a bike. The highlight for us was St.Remy. A lovely hotel just 5 minutes from an ancient roman town and the Van Goch museum.
Thank you Andrew for being a patient tour guide and thank you Canadians for waiting for me:)
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Newport, South Wales
This tour was so much more interesting and educational than I expected. The tour guide, Andrew, had put a great deal of thought into providing a very interesting experience. He had to deal with a very divergent group. He kept us all together whilst providing interest for all members of the group. Well done, Andrew. I have done nothing but talk about the trip since returned home. My only disappointment was with the accommodation at Orange.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Joyanne

I had to pinch myself, the country scenes and mountaintop villages were so beautiful. This cycling trip went way beyond my expectations. Our leader Andrew made it A-1!
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Simon

Norwich
Well organised and with an excellent itinerary, we cycled through a lovely part of France with time to savour the local food and wine, as well as explore the local towns and villages we passed through- the routes well chosen to avoid busy roads where possible. The last hotel, Villa Glanum, was particularly well chosen, the swimming pool the must-do after a long day's hot journey, and with an excellent restaurant. Andrew went out of his way to be helpful, and the "extras" he organised were very welcome.
We overnighted in Avignon before the tour started, and would recommend that as the town is well worth a visit.
Some in our group suffered through not drinking enough during the rides- the on road temperatures got above 40c, electrolyte tablets really useful to bring along.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jesper

Kalundborg, Denmark
Extremely well organised tour thanks to our helpful and knowledgable tour leader! On top of that, the breathtaking landscapes and the fabulous climate made our tour a perfect cycling experience for my wife and I.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 August 2016
(3 out of 10)

Rooz

It was toward the end of the season which possibly explained the problems with bike and kit, including insufficient maps which led to one client getting completely lost on her own. And the tour leader was disinterested to put it mildly. Amongst other issues, he seemed to think his convenience was more important than us enjoying the holiday for which we paid good money. When I raised concerns with head office I was told it was the group's fault! The accommodation, with one exception, was poor quality. It's a lovely area and the routes were nice. The attitude of the leader and the handling by head office ruined it for me. My next similar holiday is with exodus.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2015
Published on: 01 March 2017

Thank you for your review, Rooz, although it’s particularly disappointing this trip didn’t rate as highly for you as it normally does for our customers.

As you mention, we’ve been in touch with you directly about your concerns so I think it’s fair to share the details of our response. We received some comments that a number of the group members on your trip were especially rude and unpleasant to your Explore Leader – as well as to other travellers in the group – and we feel that this may have altered the group dynamic overall. Further comments also note that the group was made up of a very mixed bag of travellers with rather diverse interests, so we understand that Andrew had to work much harder to accommodate everyone, and was less available as a consequence.

I’m keen to highlight that we’ve never had a single complaint in the 20 or so years Andrew has worked with us, but we mentioned to you at the time that we’d monitor all the subsequent feedback we received and, as all the other reviews confirm, his ratings and feedback remain high. I am genuinely sorry this wasn’t your experience.

(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I've taken three tours with Explore, all cycling holidays in France. Velo en Provence had the most variety of sightseeing options and of levels of difficulty on the routes. You spend two nights in Orange, two in Carpentras, and three in St-Remy. Scenery was incredible, not to mention the smells which varied from lavender to fruit to freshly baked baguettes. Being in France and bicycling in the sun every day was a highlight all unto itself. Andrew incorporated his knowledge of the region into the itinerary, including wine tastings, a Roman amphitheatre, a party in the carpark in Carpentras, the market in Gordes, a bullfighting festival, and an art gallery built into a cave. Climbing the Vaucluse to get to Gordes was an accomplishment for cyclists of any level.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016