It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
639 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Vietnam and Angkor in Comfort DVNC

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Vietnam and Angkor in Comfort

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Vietnam and Angkor in Comfort trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Vietnam and Angkor Odyssey reviews verified by reevooReevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Vietnam and Angkor OdysseyScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Jilly

London
Great trip. Saw so much, busy all the time but also had the opportunity to chill out just us. Highlights: Tai Chi on the top of the boat in Halong Bay, cookery class in Hoi An, walking around Angkor Wat with no tourists in sightn - magical.
Confirmed traveller: 15 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lynda

Burntwood
Hanoi was hectic with the crazy traffic & the pavements unavailable to walk on. We were ready to move on after 4 days in the city. But as we travelled south towards Halong Bay the scenery became tranquil & beautiful. our overnight stay on the Junk was wonderful however the early morning beach trip was a waste of time for 2 hours & would recommend the caves instead. The pearl factory was fascinating and our visit to Da Nang beach was a welcome stop although too short. Our stay at Hoi An was our favourite stop. We just fell in love with the town. Pedestrian lantern lined streets, beautiful restaurants and the cooking lessons were great. Another highlight was the War Museum in Saigon and although distressing is a large part of Vietnam history. The Chi tunnels were also very interesting. Cambodia had a calmer atmosphere with its beautiful temples at Siemp Reap. Our hotel Tara Angkor was excellent, but what made this trip so memorable was our guide Trung Diem Le. His knowledge was outstanding, his organisation of our trip and his stories and humour made it very special. At the end of our tour my husband and I had a 4 night beach extension in Sihanoukville Cambodia and we got so used to Diem accompanying & organising us it seemed strange when we found ourselves on our own in Sihanoukville Cambodia.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Marie

Northampton
This was our 1st time on a tour holiday so we were not sure what to expect, but we loved it. It was packed with busy days but with time for relaxation. The accommodation was excellent.

The itinerary was good, but for me it could have been improved, I didn't enjoy Ho Chi Minh so much and would have preferred more time in Halong Bay on the boat. The drive to Halong Bay was quite long and our time on the boat seemed quite rushed, but this is just my opinion, my husband enjoyed Ho Chi Minh!!

Cambodia was fantastic - 2 very long busy days touring the temples, we added a few more days on the end of our tour to spend sometime around the pool relaxing and we were very glad we did, we also hired a tuk-tuk for the day to explore the less touristy temples which was excellent. I felt this really was a better way to explore the temples you really get the feeling of being there and enjoying the drive and taking in the local life, which is much harder to do on a coach, perhaps Explore should consider half a day on a tuk-tuk.

I have saved the best till last, our guide Theo. He was excellent, he had an extraordinary amount of knowledge which made all the difference when looking around different places. Nothing was too much trouble for him, he even got us all a small refund when one of the evenings arranged wasn't so good. He was very patient with the different needs of the group, arranging group evening meals and extra trips for those who wanted them. His caring attitude was second to none and he is a asset to your company.

For me the highlights were:
Hoi An - it was Tet (new year) when we were there so extremely busy, I would love to go back at a less busy time.
Hue - looking around the Imperial City and the extra trip Theo organised in the afternoon (in the pouring rain!) The evening meal dressed up as King and Queen and concubines, excellent food.
Ha Long Bay - amazing just like the pictures.
Hanoi - mad busy traffic learning to cross the road in a whole different way!!
Cambodia - the Temples!

Top tips - if you don't fancy the itinerary for the day let your guide know and go explore on your own!
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ulrika

Glastonbury
Everything was very good, but rather intense . I would have welcomed a bit more time to chill out.
Highlights: Halong Bay was lovely. Most places we visited were great and the guide was excellent , but it was a lot to see in a short time.
Confirmed traveller: 08 February 2017
Published on: 16 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Portsmouth
This was a very interesting and varied trip from the smoggy bustle of Hanoi to the temples of Siem Riep. It is hard to pick one highlight because there was so much variety and everywhere had its own particular attraction, but Halong Bay and Siem Riep are places you must experience at least once in a lifetime! You will want to take plenty of photographs so make sure you have plenty of memory card and a spare battery.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sacha

West sussex
Late check outs and early check in should be organised by explore team and it is not nice to spend hours before or after a long flight waiting around
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lynne

London
I arrived in Hanoi ahead of the tour, to visit Sapa with a guide, organised by Explore. Unfortunately I had a bad fall day after I arrived and broke three fingers on my left hand, so had to get that fixed and put in a big cast. I carried on with the tour, but trip was coloured by my bad luck and prospect of weeks of physio on return. The tour was very good, but the day on the Mekong Delta was disappointing because it was advertised as visiting a colourful floating market, which we just didn't see. If it does still take place, the bus ride from Saigon takes do long it's finished by the time we got there. The lunch venue was delightful, but I was sorry not to see a floating market. One of the recommended restaurants in Saigon wasn't very good. Halong Bay was an undoubted highlight, also Hoi An was delightful. Our tour guide Hung was outstanding, extremely professional, knowledgeable and personable, with a superb command of English, my only criticism would be that he didn't offer much help to me at all, struggling with one hand completely out of action. Regarding the extension to Sapa which I did at the beginning of my trip, the home stay was not for the faint hearted! I think more specific information about the conditions should be available to anyone thinking of doing a home stay. As a westerner, I did expect a bit more comfort for the high price, for instance the lavatory being outside the house, extremely difficult to negotiate in the pitch dark and a bit frightening because it was so utterly dark, very dirty wash basin in the 'shower room', large hole in the mosquito net, and very thin mattress on the floor, so a very uncomfortable night indeed. I don't think Explore should recommend this to single travellers, because the host family didn't speak any English which makes for a long lonely evening. Explore need to have some accurate feedback on the home stay as I don't suppose many of their sales people have ever been to one, so don't have any direct experience. Having said all that, the guide Duc (from Vidotour) was very kind in the help he gave me with luggage etc after the accident, and on the day it happened (which should have been his day off), he was brilliant, coming quickly and taking me to two hospitals in Hanoi and staying with me all day and then on to the night train to Sapa, as per plan.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 21 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ward

San Francisco
Sometimes it seemed as though we were giving each of the sites short shrift by racing around trying to do too many things. I would eliminate the cooking class in Hoi An and the bicycle excursion. The highlight was probably the Halong Bay boat trip and the temples at Angkor Wat. We had a particularly good tour guide for that (Tony Toy Boy). I would have liked a more leisurely and in depth pace at the citadel in Hue(Perhaps with a very knowledgeable local guide).Some of the stops between Hoi An and Hue were not that interesting. We chose not to do the Chu Chi Tunnels. I would have preferred an earlier flight that day to Siem Reap or spending more time in Saigon instead.The walking tour in Hanoi was not that good.Most of the time was spent dodging motorscooters instead of focusing on the Old Quarter sights.Fortunately we had arrived three days early and were able to investigate the Old Quarter on our own. It would have been nice to have a hotel in Hoi An closer to the old town. In fact there is a very old hotel in the old downtown with 6 rooms that would have been perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Melanie

london
Overall a great trip. Group were lovely and everything seemed very well organised. some of the hotels couldve been better. I really enjoyed the whole trip so very hard to say what was the best bit!! Hue was lovely with pretty markets as well as vibrant Saigon - Angkor wat was incredible and seeing this wonderful complete different culture was exhilerating! The whole trip was incredible... :-)
Confirmed traveller: 31 March 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeremy

London
The itinerary and route are very good, this was my second trip with Explore. Highlights are almost too many, arriving in Hanoi, Halong Bay on a junk, Mekong Delta and the Angkors which are outstanding..... just to name a few. The two tips I would pass on are do take at least some USD cash with you and if flying Vietnam Airlines (the only direct flight), upgrade as I did to Premium Economy, as they now have new Dreamliners on these routes and it was excellent for space and recline.
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016