It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Vietnam and Angkor in Comfort DVNC

Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Vietnam and Angkor in Comfort

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Vietnam and Angkor in Comfort trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Vietnam and Angkor Odyssey reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Vietnam and Angkor OdysseyScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Sacha

West sussex
Late check outs and early check in should be organised by explore team and it is not nice to spend hours before or after a long flight waiting around
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lynne

London
I arrived in Hanoi ahead of the tour, to visit Sapa with a guide, organised by Explore. Unfortunately I had a bad fall day after I arrived and broke three fingers on my left hand, so had to get that fixed and put in a big cast. I carried on with the tour, but trip was coloured by my bad luck and prospect of weeks of physio on return. The tour was very good, but the day on the Mekong Delta was disappointing because it was advertised as visiting a colourful floating market, which we just didn't see. If it does still take place, the bus ride from Saigon takes do long it's finished by the time we got there. The lunch venue was delightful, but I was sorry not to see a floating market. One of the recommended restaurants in Saigon wasn't very good. Halong Bay was an undoubted highlight, also Hoi An was delightful. Our tour guide Hung was outstanding, extremely professional, knowledgeable and personable, with a superb command of English, my only criticism would be that he didn't offer much help to me at all, struggling with one hand completely out of action. Regarding the extension to Sapa which I did at the beginning of my trip, the home stay was not for the faint hearted! I think more specific information about the conditions should be available to anyone thinking of doing a home stay. As a westerner, I did expect a bit more comfort for the high price, for instance the lavatory being outside the house, extremely difficult to negotiate in the pitch dark and a bit frightening because it was so utterly dark, very dirty wash basin in the 'shower room', large hole in the mosquito net, and very thin mattress on the floor, so a very uncomfortable night indeed. I don't think Explore should recommend this to single travellers, because the host family didn't speak any English which makes for a long lonely evening. Explore need to have some accurate feedback on the home stay as I don't suppose many of their sales people have ever been to one, so don't have any direct experience. Having said all that, the guide Duc (from Vidotour) was very kind in the help he gave me with luggage etc after the accident, and on the day it happened (which should have been his day off), he was brilliant, coming quickly and taking me to two hospitals in Hanoi and staying with me all day and then on to the night train to Sapa, as per plan.
Confirmed traveller: 16 November 2016
Published on: 21 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ward

San Francisco
Sometimes it seemed as though we were giving each of the sites short shrift by racing around trying to do too many things. I would eliminate the cooking class in Hoi An and the bicycle excursion. The highlight was probably the Halong Bay boat trip and the temples at Angkor Wat. We had a particularly good tour guide for that (Tony Toy Boy). I would have liked a more leisurely and in depth pace at the citadel in Hue(Perhaps with a very knowledgeable local guide).Some of the stops between Hoi An and Hue were not that interesting. We chose not to do the Chu Chi Tunnels. I would have preferred an earlier flight that day to Siem Reap or spending more time in Saigon instead.The walking tour in Hanoi was not that good.Most of the time was spent dodging motorscooters instead of focusing on the Old Quarter sights.Fortunately we had arrived three days early and were able to investigate the Old Quarter on our own. It would have been nice to have a hotel in Hoi An closer to the old town. In fact there is a very old hotel in the old downtown with 6 rooms that would have been perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Melanie

london
Overall a great trip. Group were lovely and everything seemed very well organised. some of the hotels couldve been better. I really enjoyed the whole trip so very hard to say what was the best bit!! Hue was lovely with pretty markets as well as vibrant Saigon - Angkor wat was incredible and seeing this wonderful complete different culture was exhilerating! The whole trip was incredible... :-)
Confirmed traveller: 31 March 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeremy

London
The itinerary and route are very good, this was my second trip with Explore. Highlights are almost too many, arriving in Hanoi, Halong Bay on a junk, Mekong Delta and the Angkors which are outstanding..... just to name a few. The two tips I would pass on are do take at least some USD cash with you and if flying Vietnam Airlines (the only direct flight), upgrade as I did to Premium Economy, as they now have new Dreamliners on these routes and it was excellent for space and recline.
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sandra

wallasey
I thought this trip was well worth its cost as I saw and experienced so much. The itinerary included a variety of sights and activities and the options were worth doing too. Our guide was excellent and the Vietnamese people were so friendly and helpful. The highlights for me were Halong Bay in a luxurious ship and the huge temple complex at Angkor Wat. The most spectacular temples and my favourites were Bayon at Angkor Thom and Taprohm where the jungle has taken over the site.
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Helen

Nottingham
Highlights included the overnight cruise on Halong Bay; beautiful Hoi An with its old merchant houses, lovely bars and restaurants; Imperial Palace and gardens at Hue; temple visits to Angkor Wat. This is a full on trip and you get to see an amazing amount of local character, history and scenery. Recommend that some of the hotels on the standard tour be upgraded. Our guides in Vietnam and Cambodia were knowledgeable and went out of their way to make sure the trip was a special one.
Confirmed traveller: 29 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

In summary, the tour went exactly as planned with no problems. In fact it exceeded our expectations in that there was only 5 of us on the trip which made everything easier as far as transport and eating arrangements were concerned. No doubt this made the tour leader's job easier as well although Diem is a very good organiser and knowledgeable guide who added that bit extra to our holiday and whom I'm sure would be equally effective with any number of clients.
With such a varied trip as this it is difficult to identify a single highlight but Halong Bay and Angkor Wat stand out although the impromptu visit to a beach-side hotel and swim in the sea just North of the Col des Nuages also ranks highly.
Confirmed traveller: 09 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Woodham, Addlestone
There were many highlight including Halong Bay overnight cruise, Hoi An, Imperial City Hue, Mekong River day cruise, Cu Chi tunnels and last but not least the temples of Cambodia
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

James

South Kent
Very well organised and executed throughout by Explore. Enquiries were effectively and warmly handled both prior to departure and throughout the tour.
The tour represented very good value for money.....having previously travelled with many of the larger and perhaps better known tour operators, I know! I signed up for the tour with quite a few reservations in the back of my mind and none of them arose....and, more importantly, I would very readily travel with Explore again.
Confirmed traveller: 03 March 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015