It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension VNC

Visiting: Vietnam
Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

46 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Inside Vietnam and Cambodia extensionScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 46 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Roger

Milton Keynes
My recent trip was the first I had been on with Explore and we managed to see so much of Vietnam during the 13 days there and the tour guide Douane' was Excellent and very popular with the group. Despite the fact that his wife had just given birth to their first son he continued to give us all Excellent service which must have been difficult when quite understandably he would be wanting to spend time with his family. The itinerary was very good overall although it would have been nice to have spent more time at Halong Bay as friends of mine have done 2 days there with an overnight stay on a boat allowing more time to see the sights there. The Cambodia extension was also very good and lots of interesting things to see and again the tour guide Leo' was very good
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Janet

Northants
We really enjoyed our 2 weeks in Vietnam. Chuong, our guide was excellent both in local knowledge and people skills. The country is buzzing and full of life (if you can escape the scooters) Hoi An was charming and even though the weather could have been better at Halong Bay it was quite spectacular.

We were dissapointed with Cambodia apart from Angkor Wat although we realise the country has alot of problems.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 07 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Pamela

Swansea
It was a very busy tour with lots to see. One of the tour highlights was the time spent at the homestay in the Mekong Delta and visiting the villages there.
Hoi An was perhaps my favourite place, with all the colourful lanterns lighting up the streets at night and the bustling market.
Cruising around Healing bay was an experience not to be missed and the temples in Cambodia were awe inspiring. Altogether a wonderful trip!
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Southport, Merseyside
Vietnam's a beautiful country with great sites, good food and nice people.
The temples of Angkor make a visit to Cambodia a must.
I loved every bit of the 3 weeks
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Susan

Stourbridge
Had an amazing time on my first trip with Explore. Overall very good accommodation. Itinerary of the trip was good however on the odd day I felt it was too compact with the heat as well.
One of the highlights for me was the home stay in Vietnam living with a family.
Both of the tour guides in Vietnam and Cambodia were very good. Particularly Vuthar in Cambodia whose english was excellent, interacted well with all the group and his knowledge was amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 07 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joyce

Truro
The places visited and itinerary were all very good. Hanoi and Hoi An were particularly interesting cities to visit and spend time in. Although traffic is busy in Hanoi the overall feel of the city is friendly and as two ladies travelling we felt extremely comfortable walking around and exploring not only Hanoi and Hoi An but every venue we visited in Vietnam. The HomeStay was a great addition, the shared dormitory accommodation was adequate and the atmosphere was very relaxing and really enjoyable. I found parts of Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City) unpleasant, in that the traffic was so bad we preferred not to walk there. There is a pedestrianised area close to the hotel we stayed in that was pleasant, but when we ventured further into the city on foot it was very noisy with heavy pollution from vehicles. However, I know others in our group enjoyed Saigon!

One major issue and which could be easily remedied, was the visit to Halong Bay. The coach trip from Hanoi took 4 hours, arriving in time to spend the night in a hotel in the City. (A further 4 hours coach trip return the following afternoon). Unfortunately there is now a great deal of development being undertaken in the City providing more accommodation, a Casino and Theme Park with roller coaster - the roller coaster blocking the view of the Bay from our hotel. The trip around the bay was beautiful, and a real improvement would be to have a one or two night stay on one of the many boats on the Bay - spending time on the Bay is the whole point of this visit.

Son, our tour leader in Vietnam was thoughtful and attentive and very knowledgeable.

Cambodia, again we felt extremely comfortable in all areas, we were able to walk around with confidence and enjoy the area.

The Temples are amazing, but they can be extremely busy, and there are numerous stalls at every Temple venue with vendors approaching every bus to try and obtain a sale. Having said that, all the local people extremely polite and there was no undue bother.

Vuthar our tour leader was exceptional. His speaking of the English language was very good indeed, as was his knowledge of all matters relating to the tour, and his insight into Cambodian life - past and present. He was a massive enhancement to our tour.

It would have been good to spend a little more time in the countryside in both Vietnam and Cambodia, but the tour was as described in the itinerary. Perhaps an additional day or two somewhere within the itinerary to spend time relaxing away from a City - either countryside or beach.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 27 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jack

Grande Cache, Alberta
Our trip to Vietnam and Cambodia was excellent. We saw many of the key sights in both countries. Our tour leaders, Son in Vietnam and Vuthah in Cambodia were superb. Their English was first class and their knowledge and stories helped to make the trip a success. The vacation gave us a great feel for the countries, although a little more "rural"visitation would be appreciated. The home stay in the Mekong Delta was a highlight, friendly people, great food and excellent activities.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Steve

Glasgow
This is a 13-night tour of Vietnam followed by an essentially separate 7-night tour of Cambodia with a new tour guide. Of the 15 of us on the Vietnam tour, 6 of us continued to Cambodia with 3 new people joining the group.

The Vietnam tour started in Hanoi, made a detour to Ha Long Bay, headed south to Hue and then Hoi An, before finishing up in the Mekong Delta and Ho Chi Minh City/Saigon. For me, the best part of this trip was the three nights we had in lovely, largely pedestrianised Hoi An, especially the (additional) cycle ride we had around the island in the river. I did not particularly like Hanoi but found HCM City/Saigon surprisingly cosmopolitan and pleasant. Culturally and historically, most interest was centred on Hue and Hoi An but, unfortunately, we had some very poor weather on this part of the trip.

The Cambodia tour started badly with a rather tortuous border crossing and slow journey to Phnom Penh. But then it improved. Phnom Penh itself was surprisingly interesting, while the Angkor temples... well, they are simply not to be missed. The weather in Cambodia was reliably hot and sunny, making a welcome change from the very variable weather in Vietnam. The tours of the Angkor temples were rather gruelling in the heat and several of us felt they could have been planned better, with perhaps three days starting at 7.30 am and finishing at 2 pm rather than the two VERY long days we had before an (largely unexplained) short third day.

The hotels were OK, although I found the one in Phnom Penh disappointing and a bit seedy. Throughout the trip we always sensed that we were given the budget rooms, with several of our group often getting windowless rooms. One thing I missed, compared with my trip last year to Bali and Flores, was the occasional garden-style hotel. The trip as a whole felt like it was very focused on cities and city hotels. I think this is why the Mekong homestay and (to a lesser extent) Hoi An were such a welcome change.

There were the usual frustrations of group tours and tour guides. I can understand why this happens but the guides always seem to try and play everything very safe, with wide margins for error. Predictably, lunch took too long on pretty much every day and often involved an unnecessarily large meal. Luckily for me, unlike my previous Explore trips to Morocco and Indonesia, on the Vietnam part of the tour there were a few like-minded individuals who were prepared to rebel occasionally against some of the duller, more restrictive plans of the tour guide.

As a left-field choice, I would say that my overall highlight of the whole trip was listening to our local guide ("Paul") in Phnom Penh describing his childhood during the Khmer Rouge/Pol Pot era. I could have listened to him all day. His quiet dignity while describing such vile abominations against the human spirit was most impressive.
Confirmed traveller: 24 February 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Cathy

Fleet
I absolutely loved this trip. It was 3 weeks of full on entertainment and interest and you get exposed to both Vietnams' and Cambodias' history and living. Culture, food and people were amazing. Would recommend this trip. Hotels were generally good to excellent. Highlights for me were Halong Bay, Floating village, Mekong home stay and Angkor. Tips, take clothes suitable for temples, eg. cover knees and shoulders, you'll be visiting lots of them.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 10 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Janette

Durham
This was my first Explore tour and my first ever long haul trip as I have only done short walking trips in Europe. It was well paced, the hotels were of surprisingly good quality, the tours were well organised and the quality of bus transport was good. Highlights were the Home Stay - whilst more basic and shared accommodation, the setting was superb, the food utterly amazing. The overnight train was good fun and the trip on Halong Bay, although, too short, was great. The river tours on the Mekong River in Vietnam and the floating village of Chong Kneas in Cambodia were superb. Along with the Killing Fields and S21 tour, which were very moving and the many temples in Cambodia and the Marble Mountain in Vietnam. It was also very much appreciated, that fresh bottled water was provided on every tour or coach journey. Excellent. 18 in our group. Too many.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017