It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
615 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Saigon to Hanoi CVIE

Visiting: Vietnam
Tour Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle Saigon to Hanoi

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Saigon to Hanoi tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Saigon to Hanoi reviews verified by Reevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle Saigon to HanoiScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

What an amazing experience, the Vietnamese people were so friendly and welcoming, the landscape breath-taking and the traffic was organised chaos. The highlights for me were Hoi An, where the markets and shopping are the best and Halong Bay...wished we had more time to explore this wonderful place. The cycling was a lot easier than expected with plenty of rest stops along the way. Riding in the rain was a truly exhilarating as it was like riding in a warm shower. The accommodation was fantastic, better than expected with great breakfasts.
Confirmed traveller: 09 December 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was my first cycling holiday and I am really hooked. It is a great way to see a country. We were so well looked after. it was very hot, and some of the cycling quite a challenge, but a great feeling of achievement when we made it to the top. Vietnam is a fascinating place. The war still hangs over it but the people are welcoming and the food is lovely. One of the highlights was Hoi-an, a pretty place with great restaurants and you can have some clothes run up in no time. Another was seeing the farmland and waterways of the Mekong Delta. The cruise around Ha Long was short but beautiful and the boat excellent. Sadly we didn't see Hanoi in the sunshine and there wasn't much time to explore the city. But you can't do it all.Thai was amazing. He is such a cycling enthusiast which was very motivating. Nothing was too much trouble and he made sure everything on the tour fitted together. He was also willing to alter the route if conditions required it. He came up with some amazing picnics! His crew were there to sort out the bikes or just provide transport if anyone needed a rest. Great stuff.
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alexander

Aberdeenshire
Asking $100 from each member on day one to cover water fruit and ice for the cycling stops over the two weeks, then our guide blatantly asking for his tip On the last day leaves us with a sour taste, for what other than that was a well orgised trip that all went according to plan.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 11 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ming

London
Two hill climbs; riding past desolate beaches after Nha Trang; high-fiving kids whilst cycling past; Christmas Eve dinner with the group including the Guide + Support Team, visiting Hoi An plus Quang Ngai (My Lai massacre).

Tips: Make sure you ask about expected contributions for the tips and snacks kitty. Bring thick padded cycling shorts, padded seat cover + chamois cream to protect your derriere + lots of sunblock and insect repellent!
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 18 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Walsall
There were so many highlights from wandering around the bustling cities, sampling the food, cycling through the beautiful countryside and villages that no one experience stands out and the whole 2 weeks were just one massive exciting adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(3 out of 10)

Lisa

Reading
This trip is a lengthy coach trip with cycling thrown in. I believe we spent a total of 30 hours on a coach and an over night trip on a filthy train with its very own prostitute/thief. There were cockroaches in the cabin. The other guests on the trip were great and good fun. The cycling is largely through industrial wastelands, long arterial roads, along bays with endless highrise skyscrapers being built. There are brief moments, perhaps 3 days in total when one felt one was cycling in Vietnam as opposed to a tourist trap/resort/building site.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with aspects of your trip, especially as the feedback we have received from the rest of your group has been very positive, including the scenery on the cycling routes. In our trip notes, we do outline the distance you will be cycling every day, but we are currently looking into updating the itinerary accordingly to also mention journey times.

(8 out of 10)

Helen

Liverpool
This was my first time travelling alone and I was slightly apprehensive joining a group of people I did not know. However I would do it again in a heart beat as I met fabulous people some of which I am sure will be lifelong friends. With regards to the actual trip, it was amazing and interesting and I loved the cycling especially achieving the big ascents and the thrill of the descents. For this trip I would recommend people must have moderate or more fitness as its very hot and humid and on two days there are big climbs. I loved the Vietnamese people as they were very welcoming and our team leader was good fun and excellent and ensured we ate local food and experienced Vietnamese cuisine. My only negative comments would be that the itinerary needs to explain that the trip includes very long bus journeys on some days and also the overnight train journey is very basic and rough.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Collin

Belfast
Great experience, seen a lot of the real Vietnam, enjoyed the local food and shared with like minded people with an enthusiasm for travel. Tip for others, sleeping tablets help to get used to the time zone difference.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015