It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cycle Saigon to Hanoi CVIE

Visiting: Vietnam
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Cycle Saigon to Hanoi

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Saigon to Hanoi trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cycle Saigon to Hanoi reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle Saigon to HanoiScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Peter

Nottingham
There was a tremendous amount of variety and different experiences packed into two weeks. The tour leader luong Gia was excellent and kept us entertained and organised! Highlights were history: the cu chi tunnels and my lai , cycling: going through the rural back roads and cycling down hill fast, the Mekong area, and Halong bay boat trip. Overall a great trip.
Some things not so good: there is a lot of coastal development between north and south and we spent a lot of time peddling on dual carriageways (albeit pretty empty) going on forever it felt. We also stopped at tourist supermarkets a lot where we could be doing something else. The advert should warn people that there is a lot of coach riding which might not suit those who might get car sick. The halong bay cave trip had maybe 200 people queuing to get in- it wasn't worth it.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Reading
Fabulous holiday with the best tour leader.
Cycling over the pass with the most amazing views was my highlight. Cycling with a great group of people made it extra special.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alexander

Aberdeenshire
Asking $100 from each member on day one to cover water fruit and ice for the cycling stops over the two weeks, then our guide blatantly asking for his tip On the last day leaves us with a sour taste, for what other than that was a well orgised trip that all went according to plan.
Confirmed traveller: 06 February 2016
Published on: 11 February 2016

Thank you for your feedback in regards to the above trip, we’re sorry that you were unhappy with the tips kitty process. We’re working with our Local Partners and Explore Leaders to ensure that kitty payments in smaller groups are better managed in the future, We’re glad that you enjoyed the trip overall and thank you for bringing this to our attention

(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Walsall
There were so many highlights from wandering around the bustling cities, sampling the food, cycling through the beautiful countryside and villages that no one experience stands out and the whole 2 weeks were just one massive exciting adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Ming

London
Two hill climbs; riding past desolate beaches after Nha Trang; high-fiving kids whilst cycling past; Christmas Eve dinner with the group including the Guide + Support Team, visiting Hoi An plus Quang Ngai (My Lai massacre).

Tips: Make sure you ask about expected contributions for the tips and snacks kitty. Bring thick padded cycling shorts, padded seat cover + chamois cream to protect your derriere + lots of sunblock and insect repellent!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 18 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

What an amazing experience, the Vietnamese people were so friendly and welcoming, the landscape breath-taking and the traffic was organised chaos. The highlights for me were Hoi An, where the markets and shopping are the best and Halong Bay...wished we had more time to explore this wonderful place. The cycling was a lot easier than expected with plenty of rest stops along the way. Riding in the rain was a truly exhilarating as it was like riding in a warm shower. The accommodation was fantastic, better than expected with great breakfasts.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 December 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(3 out of 10)

Lisa

Reading
This trip is a lengthy coach trip with cycling thrown in. I believe we spent a total of 30 hours on a coach and an over night trip on a filthy train with its very own prostitute/thief. There were cockroaches in the cabin. The other guests on the trip were great and good fun. The cycling is largely through industrial wastelands, long arterial roads, along bays with endless highrise skyscrapers being built. There are brief moments, perhaps 3 days in total when one felt one was cycling in Vietnam as opposed to a tourist trap/resort/building site.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015

Thank you for your feedback.

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with aspects of your trip, especially as the feedback we have received from the rest of your group has been very positive, including the scenery on the cycling routes. In our trip notes, we do outline the distance you will be cycling every day, but we are currently looking into updating the itinerary accordingly to also mention journey times.

(8 out of 10)

Helen

Liverpool
This was my first time travelling alone and I was slightly apprehensive joining a group of people I did not know. However I would do it again in a heart beat as I met fabulous people some of which I am sure will be lifelong friends. With regards to the actual trip, it was amazing and interesting and I loved the cycling especially achieving the big ascents and the thrill of the descents. For this trip I would recommend people must have moderate or more fitness as its very hot and humid and on two days there are big climbs. I loved the Vietnamese people as they were very welcoming and our team leader was good fun and excellent and ensured we ate local food and experienced Vietnamese cuisine. My only negative comments would be that the itinerary needs to explain that the trip includes very long bus journeys on some days and also the overnight train journey is very basic and rough.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Collin

Belfast
Great experience, seen a lot of the real Vietnam, enjoyed the local food and shared with like minded people with an enthusiasm for travel. Tip for others, sleeping tablets help to get used to the time zone difference.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015