It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Vietnam Explorer VE

Visiting: Vietnam
Trip Duration 21 Days
 

Reviews for Vietnam Explorer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Vietnam Explorer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Vietnam Explorer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Vietnam ExplorerScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Greg

Vancouver, BC Canada
Disturbing, interesting history. Vibrant, occasionally (esp rush hour HCMC/Saigon) challenging urban pulse (whoa scooters! on sidewalks! i.e., everywhere! in droves). Noticeable cultural shift from north to south (direction of our tour). English language wanting (more so in the north), especially with growing tourism and resulting employment opportunities.

Itinerary was very good. Enjoyed Huế's Citadel/Imperial City (could well have done without noisy, boring boat excursion on Perfume River). Unfortunately, no way around lengthy bus rides to/from Highlands. Loved Hoi An, Mekong, and HCMC/Saigon.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(7 out of 10)

Salma

London
The tour covered an extensive area of Vietnam. Highlight was that it was during the Tet festival. Mekong delta stay was an eye opener.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

John

Glasgow
The itinerary covered the major highlights of the country and was well organised. Although most of the holiday was spent visiting the main tourist centres, there were lots of opportunities to see how the people lived and Binh, the local tour guide was very keen to ensure that we learnt about the history and traditions of the country.
The two boat trips were different and were the main highlight of the holiday and the food provided was exceptional.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Steve

Colchester
This three week "Vietnam Explorer" tour is the longest covering just Vietnam, and we were really pleased we decided to spend the extra week in the country, rather than going on the more usual 2 week tours. Most Vietnam tours cover a broadly similar itinerary, but the extra time with this one was well worth it. We really liked the two days and nights cruising on Halong Bay, the several days off the beaten track in the Central Highlands, and the two days and nights cruising in the Mekong Delta (where, by the way, our on-board food was the best we'd encountered all holiday) - all experiences you don't get on the 2-week tours.
Our tour leader, Hua, was a real character - his previous career was as a teacher, and it showed in his ability to remember helpful facts and figures, and the daily routine of Vietnamese lessons on the bus! Great fun. We were also very fortunate to have a very good mix of group members, so it was a pretty relaxed tour throughout.
One tip for those who are thinking of doing a Vietnam tour. As the Explore trip notes recommended taking dollars , I thought that Vietnam would be a bit like Cambodia and that US dollars would be, in effect, the normal currency to use. This is not so in Vietnam - although there were occasions when dollars could be used in shops/restaurants, the rate of exchange was poor, and everyone expected Vietnamese Dong. In future, I'd have only taken some of my money in dollars, and instead relied on firstly changing pounds at the airport on arrival, and then changing dollars/euros/pounds at the good currency exchanges in Hoi An and Saigon. There are always ATMs, although a bit of a fuss finding one that worked.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 15 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Ferndown
The highlight of the tour was unplanned as whilst in the Central Highlands we'd just finished a paddle down the river in dug-out canoes when we chanced upon wedding celebrations in the village, where we were made very welcome.
Our guide, Hoang Hoa, was very knowledgeable and a great guy. Every morning on the bus we had a lesson trying to learn Vietnamese - a bit like being back at school, but in a very fun way. Hoa really made the trip and looked after us very well.
The more enjoyable parts of the trip for me was when we were in the rural areas, away from touristy gift shops, seeing the natural beauty of Vietnam and the very hospitable local people.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 08 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Guernsey
The variety of experience was amazing! Some aspects were beyond expectation such as the Halong Bay cruise and the visit to tribal villages. I would suggest that participants read their itinerary carefully to realise that overnight bags etc. are required.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Weiluen

Matlock
An incredible trip. Three weeks was barely enough to experience and appreciate the diversity of the people, country, culture, history and cuisine.

Highlights: Everyday was a highlight. Travelling by different types of boat, train, kayak, elephant, cyclo was memorable. Being able to participate/witness all the cottage industries (noodle, mat ,conical hat ,coracle ,joss stick making etc was a bonus).

Tour guide: Bing was extremely efficient and very organised. There were no hiccups in any of our varied transportation . He was very informative and was excellent in guiding us around the places of interest, villages, explaining the agriculture of the land . ( I feel that this is where Bing really comes alive and is totally animated) . Learnt a lot about cultivation of different crops and fruit.

Comments: However for the kayaking in Halong Bay, it is important that all guides should try to keep the group together. We had varied experience of kayakers , some of which had not been before. So important some basic instructions were given and advice should have been given to keep the group together. Despite my comments, we all had a fantastic time
once we got used to the kayaks, and loved it!!!

Tips: More time could have been spent in the highlands and Hanoi. Perhaps leave out Nha Trang as it is extremely touristy and not depicting the real life of the local folks.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 07 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A great tour. We appreciated the extra nights on Halong Bay and Mekong delta as well as the trip into the central highlands, compared with the 2 week tour.Vinh looked after us very well. His English is excellent. He gave us a wealth of information and was able to answer our many questions. There being only 4 in our group, we were able to have plenty of conversation with him.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

So many highlights; so much packed into the holiday - really, really fab Diem really made this trip wonderful. His knowledge of all areas is excellent, he was full of information, and really took care in giving us the best advice on what to see and where to eat in our spare time. He had a very caring attitude, really looked after everyone, and was incredibly patient with everyone, and had a great sense of humour! I felt he really went the extra mile to ensure our trip was excellent. He is a real asset to Explore. I cannot thank him enough.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015