It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
546 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Inside Vietnam VN

Visiting: Vietnam
Tour Duration 14 Days
  • Fishing in Hoi An
  • Ha Long Bay
  • Hanoi Old Quarter / Vidotour
  • Working in a water pond in the Imperial City of Hue / Kym Garcia
  • Hoi an, Old Town
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

8 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside Vietnam tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Miriam Shire, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Taking the small long boat through the Mekong Delta to arrive on the river-banks of our Hospitality Home Visit. We stepped off back into history where we were greeted with warmth from our hosts. Following a superb home cooked dinner we sat outside watching the stars and listening to the evening night sounds - we were in Paradise.

Read more
 
8 , 27/01/14

Name

Darcy Hurford

Tour Name

Inside Vietnam

Tour Code

VN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were quite a few. Celebrating New Year's Eve outside some random hotel in Halong Bay with crowds of excited (but friendly and sober) Vietnamese teenagers was fun, as was window shopping in Hoi An and visiting temples in Ho Chi Minh City.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great (even he likes Top Gear a lot more than I do).

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Hanoi is colder than you might think in late December/early January, so bring suitable clothes. And after crossing the road a few times in Vietnam you will never look at UK traffic the same way again!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was a shame the simple homestay in the Mekong Delta has been changed to a hotel - and there was no visit to a floating market. I think the tour notes should be changed to reflect this.

Our Response

Thank you for your review.

We were very surprised to hear that you did not visit the floating markets on your trip and we have followed this up with our local agent to ensure each group visits the markets.

We have now also changed the accommodation in Ben Tre for our 2014 tours and have reverted back to staying in the homestay. At the end of 2013, the homestay was undergoing maintenance and building work so we could not use it during this time, however now the work has finished; we are using the homestay again for our tour groups.

 
 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Shona

Tour Code

VN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"Mekong sail and ha long bay, also crossing road in hanoi most memorable. unforgettable: cu chi tunnels and war crimes museum. most fun: shopping in hoi an."

Tour Leader Name

HUA

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Extremely well organised and willing to share personal experiences of recent history.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"In hoi an look around tailors etc early in the morning and get your orders in by 10, you'll then have plenty of time for fittings. in saigon recommend la habana bar for a lively last night[very good live music],turn left out of asian ruby hotel then first left and its about half way down the block."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"Food excellent if you stick to fish and possibly chicken locals very friendly and helpful if you get lost don't over pack, loads of lovely cheap silk tops and t.shirts available everywhere , I don't normally shop on explore holidays but oh dear!"

 
8 Simon Longworth, 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Halong bay is beautiful but its great to see a country doing so well, lovely people.

 

 

Read more
Our Response

 We are also concerned by your comments on the group meals; menus should always be available so that customers can see clearly what options are available and at what prices.  This too is being followed up.

 
10 Jacqueline Lamb, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Homestay was very comfortable and our host  cooked us a wonderful local meal as well us taking the group to visit a local home occupied by an elderly lady who was welcoming and adorable.

Read more
 
8 Nick Sutton, 21/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"We had a good holiday, particular highlights were the historical aspects, notably the Temple of Literature, the War Remnants Museum, the trip to My Lai and the Cu Chi Tunnels.

Vietnam, the people and the food can be superb. Well worth a visit."

Read more
Our Response

Our Operations Manager has been made aware of the issues you encountered at The Asian Ruby Hotel in Saigon and we will be closely monitoring the feedback we receive from future groups about this hotel. If there has been a drop in standards at this hotel, we will consider utilising alternative accommodation.

 
0 Mel Budd (Explore Staff), 31/12/10
Brilliant! Wow I never thought I'd have to learn how to cross the road again at my age but learn I did. I'm still amazed at what they manage to transport on the back of a bike, has to be seen to be believed. From relaxing in Ha Long bay and the Mekong Delta, shopping in Hoi An to the thought provoking visits to My Lai massacre sight and the Cu Chi tunnels. Everyday of this trip was brought alive by the local tour leader. His knowledge and enthusiam for Vietnam was inspiring. The food was delicious, so fresh and tasty, didn't try dog or chicken feet but the seafood, soups, noodles, rice paper spring rolls etc Yum!  Vietnam is a facinating country with wonderful people living there. (VN - 20th November 2010)
 
0 D.M.V, 20/09/10
Day one, Hanoi City- waking early to the sounds of eastern music; loud, close with a tinny piped quality; I'm momentarily confused. Realization quickly dawns; the square opposite the hotel has transformed itself into a huge Tai Chi arena. Many diverse groups, some waving red flags others wielding batons are all moving rhythmically with uninhibited focus. It's immediately exciting, exotic and totally different. in true "Explore" fashion we are thus introduced to Hanoi City and North Vietnam. From learning to cross the road, I joke not (just walk steadily and the millions of motor cycles will part and allow you to cross unscathed) to enjoying Halong Bay with its incredibly dramatic islands we begin to appreciate and love this amazing country. Highlights would have to include; the over night train journey south, dress design and construction in Hoi An for my daughters wedding, the mind blowing Cu Chi tunnels and the beautiful fascinating Mekong Delta complete with home stay.  Travelling with Explore has once again been a fabulous experience; educating and thought provoking; leaving enduring, very special memories. (VN- 16th Januray 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA