It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
588 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inside Vietnam VN

Visiting: Vietnam
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Inside Vietnam

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside Vietnam trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inside Vietnam reviews verified by Reevoo

31 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inside VietnamScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 31 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Stoke-on-Trent
Excellent tour with a great variety of activities and experiences, made all the more enjoyable by an enthusiastic and knowledgable tour leader. We were very impressed by the standard of the accommodation, even the overnight train was comfortable-compared to Thailand!
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 20 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Marlborough
A great experience and fascinating country. It is hard to highlight one outstanding experience. The different places we visited contrasted and complemented each other to produce the overall experience. I would not say it was relaxed, because the heat and humidity combined with the bustle and traffic, and the general attack on the senses could be pretty exhausting. For that reason the proportion of free time was about right. Our tour guide, 'Duane', was excellent. He clearly loves his job, was efficient and informative and always so helpful. I hope you can find some way of conveying that message to his company. I have learned a lot about Vietnam and would recommend this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ian

Milton Keynes
Good mix of activities and history.
Breaks during the day were well paced and always took account of the heat of the day.Doan was an excellent tour guide. We never had a local guide. He brought his own knowledge to every section of the visit. An absolute mine of information on the history of Vietnam and its current position geopolitically.
Was sensitive to the groups needs when walking through markets. Bought us local delicasies to try. A real treat.
Highlights were many and varied. Cycling, homestay, overnight train, walking tours, evening shows.
Drivers were punctual, helpful and courteous. Water was always available on the bus. Very much appreciated.

One tip....hotels all changed US dollars into Dongs, negating the need for the group to be looking for a bank or change facility. Really useful.

As usual 'Explore' has provided us with a holiday to remember.
Thank you.

One difficulty was that the food on Vietnam Airlines was appalling, both in terms of availability and quality. One couple on our tour had travelled via Singapore, on Singapore Airlines and had enjoyed a much better experience.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Dublin
This was our favourite trip anywhere to date. The itinerary was well balanced and well paced with plenty of free time for self-exploration. All of the hotel accommodation was of a high standard and we were very happy with our room allocations. The overnight train journey/sleeper compartment was an adventure and the homestay in the Mekong Delta was one of the highlights of the whole trip (with some of the best food in a country of great food). We also loved the variety of eating places organised throughout the trip, particularly the simpler, more local options. On the Halong Bay cruise (another highlight of our trip) we were expecting something in the order of a packed lunch but returned from one of our island stops to find beautifully laid tables and a sumptuous lunch on board.

Hanoi provided a wonderfully chaotic and colourful introduction to Vietnam. Hue was elegant and fascinating but we would have appreciated more time on the Citadel visit. Lovely Hoi An was charm itself and the lantern-lit evenings provided a feast for the senses. The central location of our hotel meant we could maximise our stay in this beautiful town and the hotel swimming pool was a lovely extra.

Bac, our guide, was excellent - knowledgeable, patient, friendly, professional and relaxed, he really made the trip for us. We are independent travellers who aren't terribly keen on organised tours (with the exception of Explore, of course) and his light touch meant that we didn't feel we were being herded to a schedule around the country. We also enjoyed the input of the various local guides and love that Explore continues to provide layers of local knowledge as well as work opportunities in this way.

Many thanks for the birthday cake which was a surprise and much appreciated. It was truly exquisite and lovely to be able to share it with our group.

It was the first Explore experience for one of us, and the fourth for the other although it had been fourteen years since the last trip. As always, it was an excellent experience and we hope to be Exploring again before too long. Many thanks!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

Brent Knoll
Very good trip.Full on with lots of sights and things to do
Would have liked another day in Hoi An and the homestead. Also a day by the beach
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 28 March 2016
(6 out of 10)

Judith

We enjoyed the trip, very interesting but not loads of Wow, could have ended the trip on the Thursday rather than Saturday
Confirmed traveller: 10 March 2016
Published on: 21 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Hertfordshire
Excellent tour seeing a range of places in Vietnam. Well planned and superbly led.

Exactly the right pace with good balance between tours and free time.

Our tour guide (Chuong) did everything he could to make it a memorable experience, in particular in his choice of restaurants.

Highlights included the Hue Citadel, the old town of Hoi An, My Lai and the visit to the Mekong Delta.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 12 March 2016
(7 out of 10)

Victoria

Norwich
The highlights of the tour were My Son, Halong Bay/Surprise Cave, Hoi An, rickshaw ride round Hue, Marble Mountains, sailing down the Mekong in a sampan, cycling round local villages and taking a cookery class. Loved the hotel in Hoi An. Was a great experience to ride on a sleeper train and the food everywhere was excellent. You get occasional hassle from people trying to sell you things but it's not too bad. One thing to master while you're out there is walking across the road and letting the traffic drive around you!
Confirmed traveller: 07 February 2016
Published on: 15 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Stafford
Our guide Son was excellent and ensured we were well catered for. He encouraged us to support local people by using local enterprise such as laundry, rather than the hotel service. One particular highlight was cycling in the countryside with local people waving at us as we passed by. Hoi An was lovely with all the lanterns. Iconic Halong Bay was atmospheric even in the mist, though travellers' expectations of Halong City need to be managed as that is currently a building site. Some aspects of the written itinerary could probably be tweaked - for instance the optional tour to My Lai isn't really feasible as it's a four hour journey. Hotel accommodation was as expected - mid range rather than top end but always in excellent location. Overall very good first experience with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 31 January 2016
Published on: 18 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Simon

Bury St Edmunds
Hoi An and the Mekong Delta overnight stay were my highlights
overall a very good itinerary to suit a variety of people

I can't praise our tour leader enough ..."Bee" was absolutely brilliant. He made the whole trip that extra bit special
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016