It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
539 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Inside Vietnam VN

Visiting: Vietnam
Tour Duration 14 Days
 
Reviews for Inside Vietnam 4.5 out of 5 based on 17 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside Vietnam tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Steve Gilbert, 31/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Evening walks and dinner in Hoi An.

Interesting from start to finish

Read more
 
4.5 Clare Gilbert, 31/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Excellent Food at so many restaurants in the many locations we stayed at.

Interesting & varied

Read more
 
5 Glynis Johns, 27/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

If you want to see and eat your way around Vietnam, I really recommend this trip. I can honestly say it really was excellent.

Simply Brilliant.

Read more
 
5 Chris Geary, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Really there were several highlights. We particularly enjoyed the tailor-made part you provided at the start, especially the rainforest experience, but Hoi An was really nice and we enjoyed visiting the places around the Mekong Delta.

Read more
 
4.5 Terry Edden, 24/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The many varied trips and the culture of the people and country. A life changing experience! Very small group only 7. Could not have been improved.

Read more
 
5 KELLY, 15/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Lots of memorable and amazing experiences for me….. Hanoi – The night market (fantastic fun and goes on for miles!) Halong Bay – Waking up early and seeing the sunrise, also the cruise, absolutely breath taking. The overnight train from Hanoi to Hue – Entertaining other passengers with the group playing the “post it note” game. Take a sleeping bag liner! Hue – The blind massage, a once in a lifetime experience Hoi An – The visit to My Son, shopping, cycling, seeing local crafts being carried out, Mr Hong’s cookery class Mekong Delta – Being made to feel welcome by a family, the coconut candy (especially nice when warm!) Ho Chi Minh City – The massages, Food, Cocktails, Cu Chi War Tunnels.

Read more
 
5 Steph, 08/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Everything was a highlight but I specifically enjoyed the Mekong Homestay and Halong Bay.

Read more
 
5 Jez, 21/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It has to be the Homestay, the host family were so welcoming and friendly and the food excellent and the Mekong Delta is a lovely place to be. The company only added to the experience.

Read more
 
5 Claire Satchell, 17/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This was my first time travelling to Vietnam and SE Asia and it was a brilliant experience. There were so many highlights. It was great to have a combination of cities and countryside. Each place we visited was so diverse and fascinating. Re-learning to cross the road as you watch the mopeds drive around you is something I will never forget. My favourite place was Hoi An. It’s great to enjoy a meal (all of the food is amazing there) or a drink at one of the riverside restaurants and watch the world go by or shop for souvenirs and clothes in its many shops.

Read more
 
5 Miriam Shire, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Taking the small long boat through the Mekong Delta to arrive on the river-banks of our Hospitality Home Visit. We stepped off back into history where we were greeted with warmth from our hosts. Following a superb home cooked dinner we sat outside watching the stars and listening to the evening night sounds - we were in Paradise.

Read more
 
4 , 27/01/14

Name

Darcy Hurford

Tour Name

Inside Vietnam

Tour Code

VN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were quite a few. Celebrating New Year's Eve outside some random hotel in Halong Bay with crowds of excited (but friendly and sober) Vietnamese teenagers was fun, as was window shopping in Hoi An and visiting temples in Ho Chi Minh City.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great (even he likes Top Gear a lot more than I do).

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Hanoi is colder than you might think in late December/early January, so bring suitable clothes. And after crossing the road a few times in Vietnam you will never look at UK traffic the same way again!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was a shame the simple homestay in the Mekong Delta has been changed to a hotel - and there was no visit to a floating market. I think the tour notes should be changed to reflect this.

Our Response

Thank you for your review.

We were very surprised to hear that you did not visit the floating markets on your trip and we have followed this up with our local agent to ensure each group visits the markets.

We have now also changed the accommodation in Ben Tre for our 2014 tours and have reverted back to staying in the homestay. At the end of 2013, the homestay was undergoing maintenance and building work so we could not use it during this time, however now the work has finished; we are using the homestay again for our tour groups.

 
 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Shona

Tour Code

VN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"Mekong sail and ha long bay, also crossing road in hanoi most memorable. unforgettable: cu chi tunnels and war crimes museum. most fun: shopping in hoi an."

Tour Leader Name

HUA

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Extremely well organised and willing to share personal experiences of recent history.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"In hoi an look around tailors etc early in the morning and get your orders in by 10, you'll then have plenty of time for fittings. in saigon recommend la habana bar for a lively last night[very good live music],turn left out of asian ruby hotel then first left and its about half way down the block."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"Food excellent if you stick to fish and possibly chicken locals very friendly and helpful if you get lost don't over pack, loads of lovely cheap silk tops and t.shirts available everywhere , I don't normally shop on explore holidays but oh dear!"

 
4 Simon Longworth, 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Halong bay is beautiful but its great to see a country doing so well, lovely people.

 

 

Read more
Our Response

 We are also concerned by your comments on the group meals; menus should always be available so that customers can see clearly what options are available and at what prices.  This too is being followed up.

 
5 Jacqueline Lamb, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Homestay was very comfortable and our host  cooked us a wonderful local meal as well us taking the group to visit a local home occupied by an elderly lady who was welcoming and adorable.

Read more
 
4 Nick Sutton, 21/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"We had a good holiday, particular highlights were the historical aspects, notably the Temple of Literature, the War Remnants Museum, the trip to My Lai and the Cu Chi Tunnels.

Vietnam, the people and the food can be superb. Well worth a visit."

Read more
Our Response

Our Operations Manager has been made aware of the issues you encountered at The Asian Ruby Hotel in Saigon and we will be closely monitoring the feedback we receive from future groups about this hotel. If there has been a drop in standards at this hotel, we will consider utilising alternative accommodation.

 
0 Mel Budd (Explore Staff), 31/12/10
Brilliant! Wow I never thought I'd have to learn how to cross the road again at my age but learn I did. I'm still amazed at what they manage to transport on the back of a bike, has to be seen to be believed. From relaxing in Ha Long bay and the Mekong Delta, shopping in Hoi An to the thought provoking visits to My Lai massacre sight and the Cu Chi tunnels. Everyday of this trip was brought alive by the local tour leader. His knowledge and enthusiam for Vietnam was inspiring. The food was delicious, so fresh and tasty, didn't try dog or chicken feet but the seafood, soups, noodles, rice paper spring rolls etc Yum!  Vietnam is a facinating country with wonderful people living there. (VN - 20th November 2010)
 
0 D.M.V, 20/09/10
Day one, Hanoi City- waking early to the sounds of eastern music; loud, close with a tinny piped quality; I'm momentarily confused. Realization quickly dawns; the square opposite the hotel has transformed itself into a huge Tai Chi arena. Many diverse groups, some waving red flags others wielding batons are all moving rhythmically with uninhibited focus. It's immediately exciting, exotic and totally different. in true "Explore" fashion we are thus introduced to Hanoi City and North Vietnam. From learning to cross the road, I joke not (just walk steadily and the millions of motor cycles will part and allow you to cross unscathed) to enjoying Halong Bay with its incredibly dramatic islands we begin to appreciate and love this amazing country. Highlights would have to include; the over night train journey south, dress design and construction in Hoi An for my daughters wedding, the mind blowing Cu Chi tunnels and the beautiful fascinating Mekong Delta complete with home stay.  Travelling with Explore has once again been a fabulous experience; educating and thought provoking; leaving enduring, very special memories. (VN- 16th Januray 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA