It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inside Vietnam VN

Visiting: Vietnam
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for Inside Vietnam

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inside Vietnam trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inside Vietnam reviews verified by reevooReevoo

38 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inside VietnamScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 38 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Graham

Reading
I thought the trip was well organised and provided a great insight into Vietnamese history.

Tour leader was good and explained lots with good detail.

Only thing I would change is potentially drop a night in Hue to have an extra night in Ha long bay (maybe a stay in one of junk boats). An extra night in the Mekong to maybe visit one of the floating markets would also have been good.
Confirmed traveller: 06 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Pauline

Ashtead
Our guide anticipated or need. Nothing was to much trouble and he went far beyond the call of duty to ensure each and every one of us enjoyed it all.
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 01 January 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Stourbridge
Very well organised from the word go, excellent tour leader and generally hotels were equal or above the normal Explore standard except the Asian Ruby Luxury in Saigon where there is construction opposite including a night shift!
Would recommend this trip ,it is an excellent balance between recent and ancient history, the highlights for me were the Mekong delta home stay and the local cuisine during the entire trip. Even in the dry season do not expect sunshine all the time , Hue for us was a wash out.
Confirmed traveller: 25 December 2016
Published on: 26 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Pauliina

London
It was an excellent trip! Vietnam is a truly fascinating country and we saw a lot - but of course you can never see everything in two weeks. Everything was very well organised and our tour leader Hoan was fantastic. He really went the extra mile to make sure we got the most out of our trip and he was very knowledgeable too and fun company to travel with. The standard of the accommodation varied quite a bit throughout the trip but overall I thought it was described fairly accurately in the trip notes. For someone who had never travelled as part of a tour group before I thought we had a good balance of organised activity and free time. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in Vietnam and its history and culture.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 19 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Isobel

Reading
Excellent insight into the country, its history, people food and language. Highlights were the homestay in the Mekong Delta, overnight train ride, rickshaw ride through Hanoi, cookery lesson.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sherry

Athens, Ohio
A wide ranging tour that gives an overview of the country from north to south, large cities to small towns. Good deal of history and culture and always opportunities for wonderful food. Builds in free time so that individuals can decide for themselves what they would like to or see. The biggest benefit, I thought, was that the transport was well organized and would be expensive and difficult for an individual. We did everything from boats, bikes, trains, buses, etc.
Confirmed traveller: 22 October 2016
Published on: 25 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Stoke-on-Trent
Excellent tour with a great variety of activities and experiences, made all the more enjoyable by an enthusiastic and knowledgable tour leader. We were very impressed by the standard of the accommodation, even the overnight train was comfortable-compared to Thailand!
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 20 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ian

Milton Keynes
Good mix of activities and history.
Breaks during the day were well paced and always took account of the heat of the day.Doan was an excellent tour guide. We never had a local guide. He brought his own knowledge to every section of the visit. An absolute mine of information on the history of Vietnam and its current position geopolitically.
Was sensitive to the groups needs when walking through markets. Bought us local delicasies to try. A real treat.
Highlights were many and varied. Cycling, homestay, overnight train, walking tours, evening shows.
Drivers were punctual, helpful and courteous. Water was always available on the bus. Very much appreciated.

One tip....hotels all changed US dollars into Dongs, negating the need for the group to be looking for a bank or change facility. Really useful.

As usual 'Explore' has provided us with a holiday to remember.
Thank you.

One difficulty was that the food on Vietnam Airlines was appalling, both in terms of availability and quality. One couple on our tour had travelled via Singapore, on Singapore Airlines and had enjoyed a much better experience.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Marlborough
A great experience and fascinating country. It is hard to highlight one outstanding experience. The different places we visited contrasted and complemented each other to produce the overall experience. I would not say it was relaxed, because the heat and humidity combined with the bustle and traffic, and the general attack on the senses could be pretty exhausting. For that reason the proportion of free time was about right. Our tour guide, 'Duane', was excellent. He clearly loves his job, was efficient and informative and always so helpful. I hope you can find some way of conveying that message to his company. I have learned a lot about Vietnam and would recommend this holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Dublin
This was our favourite trip anywhere to date. The itinerary was well balanced and well paced with plenty of free time for self-exploration. All of the hotel accommodation was of a high standard and we were very happy with our room allocations. The overnight train journey/sleeper compartment was an adventure and the homestay in the Mekong Delta was one of the highlights of the whole trip (with some of the best food in a country of great food). We also loved the variety of eating places organised throughout the trip, particularly the simpler, more local options. On the Halong Bay cruise (another highlight of our trip) we were expecting something in the order of a packed lunch but returned from one of our island stops to find beautifully laid tables and a sumptuous lunch on board.

Hanoi provided a wonderfully chaotic and colourful introduction to Vietnam. Hue was elegant and fascinating but we would have appreciated more time on the Citadel visit. Lovely Hoi An was charm itself and the lantern-lit evenings provided a feast for the senses. The central location of our hotel meant we could maximise our stay in this beautiful town and the hotel swimming pool was a lovely extra.

Bac, our guide, was excellent - knowledgeable, patient, friendly, professional and relaxed, he really made the trip for us. We are independent travellers who aren't terribly keen on organised tours (with the exception of Explore, of course) and his light touch meant that we didn't feel we were being herded to a schedule around the country. We also enjoyed the input of the various local guides and love that Explore continues to provide layers of local knowledge as well as work opportunities in this way.

Many thanks for the birthday cake which was a surprise and much appreciated. It was truly exquisite and lovely to be able to share it with our group.

It was the first Explore experience for one of us, and the fourth for the other although it had been fourteen years since the last trip. As always, it was an excellent experience and we hope to be Exploring again before too long. Many thanks!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016