It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
593 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Backroads from Hanoi to Bangkok QLT

Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Backroads from Hanoi to Bangkok

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Backroads from Hanoi to Bangkok trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Backroads from Hanoi to Bangkok reviews verified by Reevoo

6 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Backroads from Hanoi to BangkokScores 6.8 out of 10 based on 6 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Alasdair

Edinburgh
Highlights were overnight boat in Halong Bay, visiting Luang Prabang and cycle trip in Chiang Mai. But compared to other Explore trips I have been on (this was my seventh) having three different guides - one in each country - was a definite disadvantage. Our third and last guide, Ning in Thailand, was outstanding and much better than the other two guides. Also I did not enjoy the overnight train trip from Chiang Mai to Bangkok.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alice

Hamamatsu, Japan
Highlights included exploring Hanoi, seeing the alms giving in Laos, visiting a small village without electricity in Laos and visiting all the beautiful temples in Thailand. Laos in itself was a highlight, a great country. Be ready for a fast pace and busy holiday, it was hectic but worth it because we got to see so much. Due to moving from country from country you change guides three times.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 04 February 2016
(4 out of 10)

Laura

London
We included an add on to our tour to Siem Reap and the tour guide there was excellent as was the accommodation.

The tour guides appeared to be knowledgeable however the itinerary could detail more one what we could expect to see and why/where we were stopping for the day. Additional expedition costs could be detailed beforehand so travellers can determine how much to budget.

Lack of communication between Hanoi and Laos agencies, resulted in myself calling the Hanoi tour guide to organise a pick up at the Laos airport.

Accommodations were hit and miss. Excellent hotel in Siem Reap, Chang Mai and Bangkok. Laos could be improved.

Additional charges between the Lao and Thailand border were not properly communicated, leaving to our group requiring to borrow funds from each other to pay. Our local Laos funds had gone to the tip for the tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 11 January 2016
Published on: 19 January 2016

We are pleased you found our guide excellent, as well as rating the accommodation in Siem Reap so highly, although it’s disappointing you weren’t entirely happy with the trip. Our ‘simply’ tours are generally designed to have as lower a base price as possible. This means that often things like meals, transport and optional activities aren’t included as standard. The idea of these tours is to let our customers travel to countries the might not ordinarily be able to, and then choose how much or little they wish to spend and see once there. This accounts for the lack of detail in the itinerary as it allows for you to plan in your own exploration or excursions. We will review our guidelines about the visa costs at the Lao/Thailand border and make any necessary changes.

(5 out of 10)

Roger

Ross on Wye, Herefordshire
I like to think that I am something of a photographer, and was hoping that this itinerary would give many opportunities, but without proper guidance it was not the case.

Hanoi was utterly busy and confusing, thank god for hotel cards to get you home again in a tuk-tuk.

Laos was a washout as it has not been setup for visitors and will take many years to do so, also, many dinner-table cockerels kept in the yard just outside of your bedroom window giving time checks at midnight and three am [why?] were not appreciated by anyone, resulting in a very poor night's sleep, and resulting in folk being very jaded during the day.

The two day river Mekong boat trip to Bangkok was simply boring, same-same, same-same, so if you like long boat rides ok, if not avoid it.

Bangkok was the only real jewel of the fortnight, so Thailand is really the way to go in future, pleasant people cooperative taxi / tuk-tuk drivers, and the 'smog' really wasn't a problem at all.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 22 December 2015

Thank you for your review.

Most people tend to agree that the hustle and bustle of Hanoi is certainly an interesting experience and we’ve always felt that taking groups to developing countries like Laos is a great way to encounter a country whilst it is still growing. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the end of your tour in Bangkok