It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Romania TD

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Romania

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Romania trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Village Folklore and Danube Delta reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Village Folklore and Danube DeltaScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Justin

Preston near it
Delay a bucharest and railway trip and merry cemetery
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Sylvia

Staffordshire
This trip is great for people who want to undertake a number of long walks inbetween the sightseeing. However, I would rate the walking as moderate (with occasional strenuous bits), rather than easy to moderate. There are some very steep uphill bits that go on for over an hour, so very good walking boots are needed as well as poles. On my trip, after experiencing the first walk, half the group opted to take a more relaxed walk option or to opt out of the walks when the ground underfoot was muddy with a slightly precarious decline.

The bus journeys between regions were quite long. I didn't mind them, as the scenery was lovely. But it did mean we arrived at some overnight hotels at a late hour, which was not relaxing for some.

But sightseeing of castles, palaces, monastries, etc. was really interesting, and we could have spent more time going round some of these.

A suggestion would be to include all the present itinerary, as its a lovely comprehensive tour of Romania, but mention there are options for shorter walks or to sightsee where tour guide (who was brilliant) indicates a walk would be challenging - and to make the whole trip 2 or 3 days longer so you could arrive at tourist spots with more time to go round, and also arrive at hotels with some time to relax before eve meal.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Keith

Norfolk
This is a great way to see and experience the highlights of the country - history, people scenery and wildlife.

Be prepared to climb hills, even when the temperature id rising to over 30C.

The Danube Delta is great - easy to see the birds on small boat safaris.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 07 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Angela

San Francisco, CA
Tour was very enjoyable with Christian an excellent leader. Only downside was the bus was not very comfortable and too cramped.

Also the hike up from the train in Vaser Valley was exceedingly muddy with the uphill climb somewhat uninteresting. If there is an alternative hiking trail rather than a road rutted by vehicles then that would be preferable.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jeffrey

Miami, FL USA
Excellent, tour leader and 2 helpers = excellent. Food great. No adverse comments except for the 20 person van [ 16 embers as well as 3 leaders] that had no leg room for any over 5.5, one sucked his knee caps, the knees bore into the mesh front for magazine storage = painful!! also narrow seats and intolerable for 6 hr drives or more, little storage space above = overall not the type of transportation generally provided by Explore--and this was the general comment from all that were taller than 5.5ft.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

James

Vancouver, Canada
Found that the tour was rushed. A little more time in Bucharest and Brasov would have been great - could have been another 2 days longer. The walks were good. Highlights were Bran Castle, the Painted Churches and the Carpathian Mountains. Overall it was a great trip.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

George

Lyme Regis
A brilliantly arranged trip, including a good mixture of sight seeing, walking and finally a restful 2 days bird watching on the Danube delta. The total necessity for walking boots should be stressed early on in the information packs as some of our party, coming from abroad, only received that after they left home so couldn't do the long walks. Also we were in a Lyme disease tick area so we Must be told to bring long socks to tuck trousers into, should we be worried. Living in such an area, I am well aware of the dangers. Christi, our Explore leader, couldn't be faulted and had a good team with him.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

Menai Bridge
Good tour. More walking than expected, particularly as we got lost on the long walk.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016
(7 out of 10)

Lesley

London
Highlights were Danube Delta and painted monasteries. Fascinating country but the itinerary was too rushed, particularly at the beginning so if you want a relaxing holiday it is not for you. Also the walking was disappointing due to stray dogs and packs of dogs guarding sheep. Leader was great (Tudor) so if you see any trips where he is leading go on it!
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015

I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday in Romania and I agree that the Danube Delta is a real highlight on this trip and not something that many other visitors to Romania get the chance to experience. I’m sorry that you felt that the itinerary was too rushed, as usually we get positive comments about the trip itinerary being well balanced. This holiday is rated as having a moderate trip pace as although there are things to see and do included each day and it covers a lot of ground, so that you can experience Romania’s highlights, there is then the two nights at the end of the trip spent cruising in the delta, which gives it more of a relaxing finish.

(10 out of 10)

Janet

Nr Corencester
Having Tudor Blaj as our guide. He was WONDERFUL, so knowledgable about everything, very efficient, ever patient and cheerful and has a great sense of humour and fun. By far the best guide I have had. Absolutely excellent.
Treasure him!

Tips? Pray for sunny weather!
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015