It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
616 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Village Folklore and Danube Delta TD

Visiting: Romania
Tour Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Village Folklore and Danube Delta

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Village Folklore and Danube Delta tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Village Folklore and Danube Delta reviews verified by Reevoo

12 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Village Folklore and Danube DeltaScores 9.6 out of 10 based on 12 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Difficult to say as there was so much variety in the tour. But if I had to make a choice then the following would stand out: The open air service at Borsana on a beautiful sunny morning, with the nuns singing in harmony, the locals in their national costumes, and the flowers in the monastery gardens. The Vasser Valley steam train ride when a bride in her white gown and her wedding party joined us on the train. The walk after the train ride although tough in places was also well worth the effort. And the trip ended with the unique experience of 2 days on a pontoon on the Danube Delta - an extremely enjoyable finish to the holiday. This was our 18th Explore trip and Christi was among the very best. Not only was he very knowledgeable about his country and had excellent English but he was very professional in the way he handled the organisational aspects of the trip, eg letting us know well in advance the opportunities for food, loo stops, etc, an aspect many tour leaders are not very good at.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was our first time in Romania and the first time using Explore. We were one of 3 couples, together with 3 single travellers who were unknown to each other before the trip, all of which had a fantastic time. There was the right balance of city sightseeing with Christi, exploring on our own, visiting castles and monasteries, hiking and exploring the beautiful Danube Delta by boat. All the accommodation was clean and functional, with the highlight being the Casa Zada Guest House in Moieciu, delicious authentic Romanian home cooked food, with excellent home made wine. Also visiting the house in Sapanta for lunch under drying sweetcorn cobs, washed down with the local fiery plum spirit.Christi is a credit to Romania and Explore. Nothing is too much trouble for him, what ever part of Romania we were in he explained everything and knew all the relevant historical details and dates. He is an excellent organiser, the minibus with driver Adrian was always there for us in the right place.
Confirmed traveller: 04 July 2015
Published on: 11 December 2015
(7 out of 10)

Lesley

London
Highlights were Danube Delta and painted monasteries. Fascinating country but the itinerary was too rushed, particularly at the beginning so if you want a relaxing holiday it is not for you. Also the walking was disappointing due to stray dogs and packs of dogs guarding sheep. Leader was great (Tudor) so if you see any trips where he is leading go on it!
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Nr Corencester
Having Tudor Blaj as our guide. He was WONDERFUL, so knowledgable about everything, very efficient, ever patient and cheerful and has a great sense of humour and fun. By far the best guide I have had. Absolutely excellent.
Treasure him!

Tips? Pray for sunny weather!
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Laureen

Silver Spring, MD
My favorite stops were the castles and churches but the time on the Danube Delta was also good. A tip would be good foot gear.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Sean

Cork, Ireland.
Bran castle was nice maybe an extra hour would be worthwhile, no harm in arriving later at night at next hotel.
Brasov was a lovely day plenty time.
Bucovina lovely area with painted frescoes
Danube Delta lovely day, hit and miss with birds.
Weather is critical , we were lucky in mid August as heat wave did not cause any problems.
One hike is severe , so thers a nice alternative to continue the train journey to the cul de sac, and go back later and meet group, other hikes are enjoyable, especially the Prince Charle's walk.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 05 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Briar

Sutton, Surrey
Stay at the guest house near Bran was excellent, lovely home cooked food.
The gothic castles. Medieval Saxon towns. Train trip. Village of Sapenta with home cooked lunch and the graveyard. Painted monasteries. Small boat trip in Danube Delta.

I was very glad I paid for the single room occupancy as the trip was very busy and it gave me much appreciated breathing space.

One of the walks was going to be more than I wanted to cope with. The tour leader gave an alternative to walk of returning beside the rail tracks. For several of us we had a good enjoyable walk and it was within our capabilites.
Confirmed traveller: 13 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Belinda

Sydney
If you are looking for a bit of everything - nature, culture, architecture, walking and relaxation - this is the tour for you. The Romanian countryside with its churches and monasteries was absolutely beautiful, and Bran Castle was not to be missed. Spending time walking in the Carpathians and Rodna Mountains was a definite highlight, as was the steam train ride through the Vaser Valley. However, my favourite part of the tour had to be the days spent relaxing and wildlife watching whilst cruising the Danube Delta. Our Tour Leader Cristi was fantastic and went out of his way to ensure we all got the most out of the tour.

Tips - Some of the uphill sections of one or two of the walks was moderate - strenuous so make sure you are aware of your fitness level and capability before booking. The accommodations (except in Bucharest) all had multiple levels of narrow staircases (no lifts) - given you will need to carry your bags up and down the stairs - I would suggest packing as light as possible.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Ely
Highlights were the walks in beautiful scenery, the painted monasteries and cruising on the Danube Delta.
Prices of meals and drinks are very low. Great value for money.
Be prepared for a lot of travelling, but mostly in great scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 21 June 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015