It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Village Folklore and Danube Delta TD

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Village Folklore and Danube Delta

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Village Folklore and Danube Delta trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Village Folklore and Danube Delta reviews verified by Reevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Village Folklore and Danube DeltaScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Angela

San Francisco, CA
Tour was very enjoyable with Christian an excellent leader. Only downside was the bus was not very comfortable and too cramped.

Also the hike up from the train in Vaser Valley was exceedingly muddy with the uphill climb somewhat uninteresting. If there is an alternative hiking trail rather than a road rutted by vehicles then that would be preferable.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jeffrey

Miami, FL USA
Excellent, tour leader and 2 helpers = excellent. Food great. No adverse comments except for the 20 person van [ 16 embers as well as 3 leaders] that had no leg room for any over 5.5, one sucked his knee caps, the knees bore into the mesh front for magazine storage = painful!! also narrow seats and intolerable for 6 hr drives or more, little storage space above = overall not the type of transportation generally provided by Explore--and this was the general comment from all that were taller than 5.5ft.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

James

Vancouver, Canada
Found that the tour was rushed. A little more time in Bucharest and Brasov would have been great - could have been another 2 days longer. The walks were good. Highlights were Bran Castle, the Painted Churches and the Carpathian Mountains. Overall it was a great trip.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

George

Lyme Regis
A brilliantly arranged trip, including a good mixture of sight seeing, walking and finally a restful 2 days bird watching on the Danube delta. The total necessity for walking boots should be stressed early on in the information packs as some of our party, coming from abroad, only received that after they left home so couldn't do the long walks. Also we were in a Lyme disease tick area so we Must be told to bring long socks to tuck trousers into, should we be worried. Living in such an area, I am well aware of the dangers. Christi, our Explore leader, couldn't be faulted and had a good team with him.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

Menai Bridge
Good tour. More walking than expected, particularly as we got lost on the long walk.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Difficult to say as there was so much variety in the tour. But if I had to make a choice then the following would stand out: The open air service at Borsana on a beautiful sunny morning, with the nuns singing in harmony, the locals in their national costumes, and the flowers in the monastery gardens. The Vasser Valley steam train ride when a bride in her white gown and her wedding party joined us on the train. The walk after the train ride although tough in places was also well worth the effort. And the trip ended with the unique experience of 2 days on a pontoon on the Danube Delta - an extremely enjoyable finish to the holiday. This was our 18th Explore trip and Christi was among the very best. Not only was he very knowledgeable about his country and had excellent English but he was very professional in the way he handled the organisational aspects of the trip, eg letting us know well in advance the opportunities for food, loo stops, etc, an aspect many tour leaders are not very good at.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was our first time in Romania and the first time using Explore. We were one of 3 couples, together with 3 single travellers who were unknown to each other before the trip, all of which had a fantastic time. There was the right balance of city sightseeing with Christi, exploring on our own, visiting castles and monasteries, hiking and exploring the beautiful Danube Delta by boat. All the accommodation was clean and functional, with the highlight being the Casa Zada Guest House in Moieciu, delicious authentic Romanian home cooked food, with excellent home made wine. Also visiting the house in Sapanta for lunch under drying sweetcorn cobs, washed down with the local fiery plum spirit.Christi is a credit to Romania and Explore. Nothing is too much trouble for him, what ever part of Romania we were in he explained everything and knew all the relevant historical details and dates. He is an excellent organiser, the minibus with driver Adrian was always there for us in the right place.
Confirmed traveller: 04 July 2015
Published on: 11 December 2015
(7 out of 10)

Lesley

London
Highlights were Danube Delta and painted monasteries. Fascinating country but the itinerary was too rushed, particularly at the beginning so if you want a relaxing holiday it is not for you. Also the walking was disappointing due to stray dogs and packs of dogs guarding sheep. Leader was great (Tudor) so if you see any trips where he is leading go on it!
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015

I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday in Romania and I agree that the Danube Delta is a real highlight on this trip and not something that many other visitors to Romania get the chance to experience. I’m sorry that you felt that the itinerary was too rushed, as usually we get positive comments about the trip itinerary being well balanced. This holiday is rated as having a moderate trip pace as although there are things to see and do included each day and it covers a lot of ground, so that you can experience Romania’s highlights, there is then the two nights at the end of the trip spent cruising in the delta, which gives it more of a relaxing finish.

(10 out of 10)

Janet

Nr Corencester
Having Tudor Blaj as our guide. He was WONDERFUL, so knowledgable about everything, very efficient, ever patient and cheerful and has a great sense of humour and fun. By far the best guide I have had. Absolutely excellent.
Treasure him!

Tips? Pray for sunny weather!
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015