It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Best of Romania and the Danube Delta TD

Visiting: Romania
Trip Duration 11 Days
 

Reviews for Best of Romania and the Danube Delta

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Best of Romania and the Danube Delta trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Village Folklore and Danube Delta reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Village Folklore and Danube DeltaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Julija

Very helpful and dedicated leader Emiliano. Accommodations generally was good. I only would recommend to spend more time on city walks or allow more free time. As 1 h would cover just a lunch, so that people could really feel atmosphere of daily life. At least we instead was rushing to go to next destination and was arriving to hotel at 6-7 pm, which to me is pretty early, especially as most of hotel are away from any attractions, so only think you can do - it's relax.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 06 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

David

Pinner
All of the planning of places to visit was excellent. We saw a great deal of this lovely country.A lot of travelling was necessary so days were very busy over 1000 miles but we wanted to see as much as possible in the time.
The only criticism would be that there was not always time to absorb the details of a church or town as we rushed through.
Day one in Bucharest was an early start and we had to wait about 15-20 minutes for the driver to arrive whilst we stood on the pavement, when we could have had a coffee in a local café.
Our Guide was very helpful and knowledgeable but at times he tended to look at what he was talking about rather than direct his conversation to the listeners.
It would have been a bonus if we could have just had a brief photo stop at points along the route.
The Monasteries and walks were wonderful and a great highlight of this trip.
We thought that the driver was excellent and helped with cases at all times.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2017
Published on: 04 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Rosalind

Leamington Spa
Can certainly see why this is a 'best seller' as there's something for everyone. Architecture, walks (needn't be 5 hours, as can shorten), history, wildlife and religion with visiting wonderful painted monasteries. A wonderful Counrty with fantastic scenery.
Good quality hotels, basic on the pontoon, but adequate. Also new bus with excellent driver. Tour leader very knowledgable on all subjects the group through at him for more information. Great trip!
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 21 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Eva

Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Well planned trip. except last long hike to Putna-no view, the bus should pick up us sooner, on the forestry road. After our visit to Putna Monastery, we did not have a chance to have coffee, drink..we drove other 2 hours before a short stop at a gas station..This could be planned better. Our leader told us usually evening the program for the next day, however, after we started morning, he did not give us any time schedule, on long drives no more talk, information-we drove through different part of R.-it should be interested to hear about the areas (only talks he had with a driver).Last part of the trip, the delta of Danube river was very relaxing and interesting, but we were not able to get any picture, brochures about the delta-the leader should inform us, our only chance is in the town before the boat departure.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Janet

Trowbridge
An excellent and enjoyable trip. There were many highlights, beautiful old towns, lovely scenery, and the stunning painted monasteries. All rounded off with a relaxing cruise on the Danube delta.
My only reservation is regarding the walks, which I would say need to be regraded, and preferably alternatives offered. The last walk was described in the itinerary as 'moderately easy'. However, 8 miles, climbing then descending almost 1,000ft on a very badly rutted muddy logging track felt like quite a slog, and being entirely in forest, with no views, not particularly varied.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Thomas

Sheffield
Great itinerary, combining a excellent mixture of old towns, the capital city, treks and monasteries in the mountains, bird watching and relaxing in the Danube delta, with travelling on a train with forestry workers and having lunch with a local family in a village.
Tour leader was extremely knowledgeable....nothing was too much trouble for him.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Justin

Preston near it
Delay a bucharest and railway trip and merry cemetery
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Sylvia

Staffordshire
This trip is great for people who want to undertake a number of long walks inbetween the sightseeing. However, I would rate the walking as moderate (with occasional strenuous bits), rather than easy to moderate. There are some very steep uphill bits that go on for over an hour, so very good walking boots are needed as well as poles. On my trip, after experiencing the first walk, half the group opted to take a more relaxed walk option or to opt out of the walks when the ground underfoot was muddy with a slightly precarious decline.

The bus journeys between regions were quite long. I didn't mind them, as the scenery was lovely. But it did mean we arrived at some overnight hotels at a late hour, which was not relaxing for some.

But sightseeing of castles, palaces, monastries, etc. was really interesting, and we could have spent more time going round some of these.

A suggestion would be to include all the present itinerary, as its a lovely comprehensive tour of Romania, but mention there are options for shorter walks or to sightsee where tour guide (who was brilliant) indicates a walk would be challenging - and to make the whole trip 2 or 3 days longer so you could arrive at tourist spots with more time to go round, and also arrive at hotels with some time to relax before eve meal.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Keith

Norfolk
This is a great way to see and experience the highlights of the country - history, people scenery and wildlife.

Be prepared to climb hills, even when the temperature id rising to over 30C.

The Danube Delta is great - easy to see the birds on small boat safaris.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 07 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Angela

San Francisco, CA
Tour was very enjoyable with Christian an excellent leader. Only downside was the bus was not very comfortable and too cramped.

Also the hike up from the train in Vaser Valley was exceedingly muddy with the uphill climb somewhat uninteresting. If there is an alternative hiking trail rather than a road rutted by vehicles then that would be preferable.
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016