It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
587 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking in Crete CR

Visiting: Greece
Tour Duration 8 Days
Reviews for Walking in Crete 4.5 out of 5 based on 8 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking in Crete tour available at present.

Please select a date:

5 Gillian M , 07/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The Zaros gorge was a particular highlight. So much less busy and more exciting than Samaria, although that was great as well. The food was always good, and the people friendly and helpful.

Read more
4.5 Mimi Phung, 29/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

A wonderful week walking in some beautiful scenery on this lovely island. Highlights of the trip included walking in Samaria and Rouvas Gorges and riding on the back of a truck!

Read more
4.5 Bernard Wilkes, 25/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

I understand this tour struggles to get numbers to keep this tour going. Come on boys and girls this is a great walking tour and should be a best seller.

Read more
4.5 Philip Lund, 18/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The highlights were the lovely seaside village of Loutro, completing the Samaria Gorge descent and the perhaps more exciting Zaros Gorge. The most memorable moment was being blown right over when approaching a col in a sudden gust of wind: however the weather at the start of the week was very unusual for June.

Read more
4.5 Julia Goss, 14/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Samaria gorge was definitely the highlight. We wanted to go in spring to see the flowers and were not disappointed. Spectacular scenery all the way.

Read more
4.5 , 10/02/14


Cat Morrissey

Tour Name

Walking in Crete

Tour Code


What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Loutro - a tiny little seashore village. Little white buildings with blue roof tops - similar to what l imainge Santorini to be like. We spent a day here exploring - optional walks or beach time. It was a peaceful retreat. Samaria Gorge - more green and lushious that l expected - we spotted the Kri Kri and enjoyed a day of varying scenery as we walked. Staying on a Trout farm in Zaros - this is something we don’t mention at all to the customers but the hotel we stay at has a trout farm on site. You can have the most delcious fresh trout for dinner.

Tour Leader Name

Hellen Bunn

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - she has done the tour a couple of times now and also did a very thorough rece before she started leading it. This showed through in her briefings as she was knowledgeable on all the walks that were available and handed out good maps where we needed them. Hellen gelled well with the whole group, her abilty to chat with everyone and anyone is a credit to her. The group really warmed to her and there was glowing feedback all round.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Enjoy the Greek hospitality, it is second to none.

0 Gary Stocker, 19/10/10
The warm, sunny weather when I arrived at Heraklion Airport was a good sign. It stayed with us for most of the week. After a look around the quaint, but bustling town of Heraklion we went to the ancient, Cretan palace of Knossos. Fascinating to think that you could be walking in the footsteps of people out of Greek history and legend.  Most days there was a selection of walks for people of different abilities. Climbing to the top of Mount Gingilos was challenging , but very satisfying. You felt literally on top of the world. The views were amazing, along with sightings of a golden eagle and an Egyptian vulture.  Walking the Samaria Gorge was equally challenging, but satisfying. For this I would recommend getting at least one walking pole. They are a good investment. The chances are that if you do one Explore holiday, you will very likely book to do some more!  Some days there was the opportunity to go for a swim in the sea. Amazing how it relaxes you after a walk.  Was good rounding off the day with the evening meal where you could relax and chat with the rest of the group about the day's activities and other things.   After having been to Crete some years before with another group, I had always wanted to return. This tour though exceeded my expectations. As well as seeing some of the more well known sites, you also saw some lesser known (but no less impressive) sites. (CR - 7th September 2010)
0 Mark Shilkrut, 14/10/10
It was my 1st time I took a group holiday as a single traveler. Fortunately the group had only two couples, and I didn't find myself alone. The tour had several  optional walks, and it allowed people who wanted more active holiday to do it so. The food in the local tavernas was superb and inexpensive. The hotels were pretty basic, but you only needed it for overnight sleep. The breakfasts are really basic, but there is an option for extras. The itinerary was perfect - it was a very successful combination of walks in the mountains, beaches, wildlife, small villages, archeology and local culture and food. The organization of the tour was perfect - everything was well orchestrated, the drivers, the hotels, the food and the walks. I recommend everyone to improve fitness before the tour to be able to enjoy very recommended optional tours. Take a big hat, a lot of sunscreen (30 SPF is enough) and swimming suit (unless you prefer to do it naturalistic), and you will really enjoy it. (CR - 7th September 2010)
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA