It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
639 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Walking in Crete

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking in Crete trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking in Crete reviews verified by Reevoo

8 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walking in CreteScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Rachel

York
Great walks and a fun group. Food arrangements could be more interesting.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 10 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Marilyn

London
Great itinerary with an excellent leader. Katerina was quite charming & had clearly made quite an effort to familiarise herself with the trails, culture & history. Trekking can be tailored to different capabilities with some tougher steep &/or rough trails which I enjoyed. All trekking days were good with dramatic scenery. Despite the crowds trekking Samaria Gorge, they were dwarfed by the majestic scenery. At the end of this day you are rewarded by arrival in the gem that is Loutro. Quite gorgeous - hemmed in by rugged peaks & turquoise waters. Some great trekking around Loutro. Most of my fellow trekkers were good company but the capabilities of a few were disappointing on what is marketed as a trekking trip. Whilst the hotel room standards were reasonable, it was disappointing to be given a room in Loutro with a view of the hotel laundry (most rooms have some sort of sea view) & a cold dark dank room in Zaros. If this happens to you, ask if you can move.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lisa

Orlando, FL
This is a fabulous trip with a variety of backdrops and locales. First you get Chania, a lovely port city. Then, you go into the mountains to hike the Samaria Gorge. Unfortunately, we couldn't do that hike due to bad weather washing out part of the path. But, we still got to hike to the top of a mountain and see what we were missing, which was beautiful! Next, it's off to the stunningly beautiful port of Loutro with several gorgeous hikes, lovely beaches and even got to kayak for a bit! The trip then ends in another mountainous area at Zaros where you enjoy a forested hike into another gorge. The best part of the trip was our tour leader, Vicky. She went over and above to make us comfortable in every way! Such a fantastic person and guide!
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The Zaros gorge was a particular highlight. So much less busy and more exciting than Samaria, although that was great as well. The food was always good, and the people friendly and helpful. Local knowledge would undoubtedly be excellent if it hadn't been the first trip for Vicky. She was enthusiastic, friendly, incredibly helpful and jumped around like a mountain goat on the mountains. An absolute pleasure to be around, and she made everyone feel cared for.
Confirmed traveller: 07 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A wonderful week walking in some beautiful scenery on this lovely island. Highlights of the trip included walking in Samaria and Rouvas Gorges and riding on the back of a truck!Vicky was very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. She is organised and all round lovely tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Bernard

Stafford
The Samaria Gorge was probably the highlight. The one tip I would recomend is that the first full days walk is the hardest of the tour ,so you should be prepared for this. There is no breaking yourself in!
Confirmed traveller: 24 May 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Stafford

Somerset
The venues and walks were well planned and managed. My only comment to another person would be to check fitness levels as some people found one or two of the walks very demanding (this did not affect me however!).
Confirmed traveller: 28 September 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Launceston, Cornwall
Have been on several holidays with Explore and have enjoyed everyone.
Confirmed traveller: 28 September 2014
Published on: 30 September 2015