It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking in Crete CR

Visiting: Greece
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walking in Crete

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking in Crete trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking in Crete reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Walking in CreteScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sylvia

Nice trip good group and leader The only problem was that i was not at first included in the transfer to airport at the end of tour even though the itin showed the trip ended at airport There was one other person on tour with same prob but tour leader solved problem and arranged our transfers as expected I would recommend this tour good hiking and enjoyed the parts of Crete on itinerary I always hope the itinerary will be expanded to tour other parts of the island Perhaps the option for 2 weeks walking
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Dorking
An excellent holiday. The tour guide was knowledgeable, funny and helped the group gel together. He made sure everybody had wanted they needed and that there food that I could eat as I have a restricted diet.

The walks were great and the views from the mountains and tops of the gorges were magnificant
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Camilla

Sussex
Excellent tour leader - well informed and entertaining.
Lovely scenery. Good walking. Great food.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Babs

Redhill
Loutro was probably the highlight for me, scenic, relaxed with great walks. Unfortunately Samaria Gorge which was to be one of the highlights was closed on the day we were due to walk it, but Costis organised a great trek as an alternative. I would happily go on this trip again!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Deborah

Exeter
Beautiful landscape, great walking, very good guide. Hard beds, dodgy showers and food as a vegan a bit limited.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Alice

Shoscombe, Bath
This is an excellent tour provided you are happy to walk in and operate as a group. The highlight would have been walking the Samaria gorge but it was unexpectedly closed due to adverse weather conditions. This can happen apparently, so should be borne in mind. However, both the other gorges walked were fantastic as was the little village of Loutro where we spent two nights.

Tips.
If you suffer from travel sickness it would be a good idea to bring medication since there are long stretches of twisty roads to be covered by mini bus and several ferry connections - fine if the sea is calm. Luggage also has to be trundled through streets and up steps on occasions so make sure it is not too heavy.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christopher

London
First of all, you will get the most out of this tour if you are a regular walker who wants to walk on most days. The trip visits some lovely places in Crete, starting with a day in Chania. Then up on to the plateau for a challenging ascent of Mount Gigilos and then the famous Samaria Gorge. Then there is time in wonderful Loutro on the South Coast, only accessible by boat before some lesser know sites and a final walk at Zoros Gorge. The hotels are perfectly adequate for this type of trip, the hotel at Zaros (where there is a spare afternoon) was higher in quality and had a pool to chill out in.

If your a sunbather rather than a walker, I'd think about whether this is my sort of trip but for walkers, it's highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Rachel

York
Great walks and a fun group. Food arrangements could be more interesting.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 10 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Marilyn

London
Great itinerary with an excellent leader. Katerina was quite charming & had clearly made quite an effort to familiarise herself with the trails, culture & history. Trekking can be tailored to different capabilities with some tougher steep &/or rough trails which I enjoyed. All trekking days were good with dramatic scenery. Despite the crowds trekking Samaria Gorge, they were dwarfed by the majestic scenery. At the end of this day you are rewarded by arrival in the gem that is Loutro. Quite gorgeous - hemmed in by rugged peaks & turquoise waters. Some great trekking around Loutro. Most of my fellow trekkers were good company but the capabilities of a few were disappointing on what is marketed as a trekking trip. Whilst the hotel room standards were reasonable, it was disappointing to be given a room in Loutro with a view of the hotel laundry (most rooms have some sort of sea view) & a cold dark dank room in Zaros. If this happens to you, ask if you can move.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lisa

Orlando, FL
This is a fabulous trip with a variety of backdrops and locales. First you get Chania, a lovely port city. Then, you go into the mountains to hike the Samaria Gorge. Unfortunately, we couldn't do that hike due to bad weather washing out part of the path. But, we still got to hike to the top of a mountain and see what we were missing, which was beautiful! Next, it's off to the stunningly beautiful port of Loutro with several gorgeous hikes, lovely beaches and even got to kayak for a bit! The trip then ends in another mountainous area at Zaros where you enjoy a forested hike into another gorge. The best part of the trip was our tour leader, Vicky. She went over and above to make us comfortable in every way! Such a fantastic person and guide!
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 08 October 2015