It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Revolutionary Trails of Cuba CU

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Revolutionary Trails of Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Revolutionary Trails of Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Revolutionary Trails in Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Revolutionary Trails in CubaScores 7.4 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Devon, Alberta, Canada
Itinerary: Trinidad, there was to much down time here. we were at the beginning of the tour so the down time was not needed and the available excursions were expensive to take.
Trip should indicate that day 2 of the Pico Turquino hike is more like "difficult" rather than moderate.

Tour Leader: Jose only had a photo ID card, why did he not have an Explore shirt to wear. On day one he was hard to locate. His English was very good, his passion for his country was very evident, his assistance to the group was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 23 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Tim

Redditch
The tour was very good and covered a large part of Cuba over two weeks. Our Guide Juan Hose was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. I learnt an immense amount about Cuba, the people and the history of the island. I would say that walking poles are essential as some of the treks (Pico Turquino) are very steep and also slippery when wet. Accommodation was generally good and a particular highlight for me was staying in a Casa Particulares in Trinidad. There is apparently a shortage of hotels in Havana which meant that at the start and finish of the tour we were in a good and not so good hotel which were both a good half hour taxi ride away from the Old Town area. Food was surprisingly good on the trip too.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Rosemary

Orpington
I enjoyed the tour but I personally found it a little bit restrictive - I probably prefer to do my own thing. This is not a reflection of Explore who I think provided a good value holiday for those who like to travel in a group. My only criticism is that the trek to the highest peak in Cuba was challenging and not moderate as described by Explore - the other experienced walkers agreed that it was difficult and not moderate. I thought the tour leader was really good and gave us a wonderful insight into the lives of the cuban people.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Derby
Fantastic tour and very well structured - e.g. a 3 day trek followed by a relaxing travel day. The tour covers a lot of ground in two weeks so it's full on but very enjoyable. Our tour guide was amazing. He was knowledgeable and loved his country which definitely added to the experience. There are no highlights - it's all one big highlight!

The only less than positive comment I have is that a night in a hotel near a beach would have been nice. There is an option to spend a day on a beach but this seems a bit all or nothing. There were enough swimming opportunities though.

As a tip - remember to take some gifts for the locals.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This trip was great for getting to know the history of Cuba. It is classed as moderate but I would say it was harder than I had expected. The accommodation was very varied, from lovely hotels to some unpleasant ones. And, spending the night in a refuge that lacked even the most basic facilities is one I would rather erase from my memory... Staying in the haciendas was a great experience, better than some of the hotels and an opportunity not to miss - seeing the way the locals live. Topes the Collantes was fab, guided by a lovely young man who was passionate about the environment, eating Guavas straight from the tree and even the camping was O K for an 'unseasoned' camper! Apart from the constant choir of cockerels that are everywhere. Havana is just a great experience, it felt safe and the architecture is brilliant - beautiful buildings interspersed with collapsed floors of apartments. Castro's hide out was fascinating, it truly felt like being in a jungle, it brought the whole 'story' alive for me. Two of us being given a lift on a bicitaxi in Trinidad, with heavy suitcases on the cobbled streets of Trinidad - the cyclists must have calves of steel! The great variety of Pina Colada and the music, on many occasions when sitting down to a meal, a band appears from nowhere!I found the the tour leader to be excellent. During the long drives he made a lot of effort to keep us informed of where we were going and what to expect and also about the historical aspects. he never tired of answering our questions and was very knowledgeable and passionate about Cuba and its history. He took great trouble taking us to interesting places for the evening meal, even in a pink/ red painted room of a house in Havana run by a group of people that lived there. It was an insight into how these people lived in quite a rundown flat like the ones they usually show in documentaries about the state of houses in Havana.
Confirmed traveller: 18 May 2015
Published on: 08 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Hilary

Westerham, Kent
Facilities at the refugio during the climb to PicoTurquino were appalling - filthy, falling down buildings with disgusting toilet & shower facilities & thoroughly overbooked to the extent that trekkers had to share beds - the addition of a dead rat under one of the beds did nothing to improve my temper!

The rest of the accommodation on the trip was good & the homestay I was lucky enough to be assigned to was absolutely lovely.

There were some long periods of time spent in the coach travelling from A to B but that's the price one has to pay for the privilege of seeing so much of the island, had the same itinerary been spread over a three week period I feel I could have absorbed more of the atmosphere of the wonderful colonial cities we visited - everything was rather rushed.

Everywhere we went local people were asking for body soap & I would definitely take this another time to give away.

Don't go without insect repellant!!

Overall a lovely trip but when I return to Cuba I will try to have longer in each place.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 17 February 2016
(7 out of 10)

Glenn

Essex
In general the hotel accommodation exceeded our expectations, whereas the camping and most notably the mountain hut ticked very few boxes, with the latter found to be “primitive” rather than “basic” and over booked. We can wash in cold water......but it's difficult with no water!

The trip agenda is well constructed but one amendment I would suggest is to scrap the visit to the Terraces on the penultimate day and slip in an extra day at Santiago.

Highlights included visiting Che Guevara’s mausoleum, simply watching the numerous modes of traffic and losing 6lbs in weight.

Our guide kept us to the agenda, kept us safe and answered all our questions. It was a shame for him that he had to walk in plastic crocs footwear and didn't have a sleeping bag for the camping/hut nights. Come on Explore - you can look after your guides better than that!
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 10 February 2016

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, Glenn. Although it's great to hear you enjoyed your trip overall, it’s a shame to hear you were disappointed with the conditions in the refuge. We do advise in our trip notes that this particular accommodation is basic, which means there will usually be shared facilities and running hot and cold water may be unreliable. That said, we do expect the conditions to still be hygienic and prepared for the amount of guests staying. There are limited options for accommodation in the area, so it is difficult to find an alternative – our local agent has addressed your concerns with the refuge owner and we will continue to monitor the feedback we receive to make sure that the conditions do improve.
In addition, please let me assure you that we do look after our Explore leaders. We recently provided them all with walking shoes and waterproofs, so they've certainly been kitted out. However, we know from experience that many guides prefer to wear their own clothes/shoes, and have even been known to sell on the items we've sent them.

(8 out of 10)

Ayesha

London
Cuba is a wonderful, fascinating country; beautifully lush, lovely colonial architecture, colourful buildings and old cars; music everywhere and wonderfully cheap cocktails. It's great to see a place not very commercial and none of the shopping brands you see wherever you go in the world. Signs of the revolution and it's history still very much around. Catch it before it gets too touristy.

Tips would be that the walking on the trip in the Sierra Maestra is strenous not moderate and it is hard to get out of the whole thing at that point in the trip so you need to give it proper consideration. The food in that part for the two days, especially breakfast is very minimal. You do need to take things to eat up with you. Also go prepared for mosquitos.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 07 February 2016
(7 out of 10)

Svijetlana

London
Great itinerary to get an total feel for the country:
Topes de Collantes, Pico Turquin, three-day trek across the Sierra Maestra, Trinidad, swimming in the Carribean sea, walk Las Terrazas...New Year on the streets of Havana!
Shame the allocated tour guide's English was poor and his English people management skills below the standard expected for such a long journey!
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 12 January 2016
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Newbury
Cuba and the Cuban people .
Do not underestimate the trekking
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 07 January 2016