It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Revolutionary Trails of Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Revolutionary Trails of Cuba trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Revolutionary Trails in Cuba reviews verified by reevooReevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Revolutionary Trails in CubaScores 7.2 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Rosemary

New milton
Long days traveling
Scenery much the same when traveling
Good walking up to Pico Turquino ( need to be fit)
Accommodation at refugio (wouldn't be allowed in a prison)
No tents available at both the national parks
Had to sleep out in the open terraces
Tour guide although nice was not up to the job
I feel explore taking advantage of the good will of its customer as all willing to just get on and enjoy the trip
I feel the amount paid was not value for money
On return home flight was delayed had to wait over 6hrs at Cuba airport which caused a missed onward flight at Madrid causing another 3+hrs delay having to change airlines collect all lugage and go though security again making the trip home 22hrs . (air Europe )didnt even offer a drink whilst waiting at airport
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback on your trip to Cuba, Rosemary, I’m sorry that the itinerary didn’t quite meet your expectations. We do advise in the trip notes that the accommodation in the refuge is basic, which does mean that rooms can be communal and some facilities are shared – however, in cases where we use basic accommodation, we’re more focused on the location itself. Tents are usually available in the National Parks, as well as sleeping out on the verandas. Most of the tents are being replaced for the new season and I am very sorry there were not enough available for your group.

It’s also unfortunate to hear that your flight home was delayed and you experienced poor service from Air Europa. Although this is not something we can control, I have passed your comments on to our Flights Team for their review of the airline.

(9 out of 10)

Lynne

Somerset, UK
Not a tour for the feint hearted!

As usual with Explore the itinerary was full on with not much slack to take up the occasional delays with buses breaking down and the bad roads. The accommodation was generally very good and exceeded my expectations, food was plentiful if limited in choice, with fresh fruit and tortillas every day, even in the mountains. The tour guide took us to some nice private paladars for dinner and the casas particulares were friendly and clean.

Music is everywhere in Cuba, we particularly enjoyed going to the local casa del trovas after dinner to get into the salsa groove and one of the highlights was the Buena Vista Social Club on the last night.

Waking up to Pico Turquino was hard work and I was glad I had brought a walking pole with me. The refugio accommodation in the mountains was very basic and could do with some up grades in the washing and toileting facilities. Having said that having a shower in a bucket of water heated up on a fire was all part of the experience and I wouldn't have missed it !

Our Tour Guide Amando was excellent, he knows a great deal about the island's history and looked after our every need. The local guides in the national parks were also very knowledgeable on the local bird and plants.

4 essentials to take with you:
i) Toilet paper
ii)Walking pole
iii) Sleeping bag
iv) Torch

Cuba is a country that is slowly emerging from a communist sleep. People are on the whole friendly and it is reasonably safe for women to walk around alone. There are signs of new investment from China and The West so visit now before it becomes just another Caribbean island.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Laurieton, NSW 2443 Australia
the hike up Pico Turquino is not for the faint hearted - be warned - it isn't a straight hike to a peak of 1972 metres - it is up and down half a dozen peaks on the way - can be treacherous in the rain! Also take food with you for the 3 day hike. We got dry bread and mayonnaise one morning for breakfasct and crackers and mayonnaise the next (and NO coffee!) Overall I enjoyed the trip, our leader was somewhat inexperienced which created some issues but we saw a lot of the country and understood a lot more about recent history
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 07 December 2016
(5 out of 10)

Stephen

Plymouth
Poor accommodation (inc. H&S risk with dodgy electrics, dirty rooms, poor plumbing and mould - yuck!). Moved from original hotels three times and firmly believe were put into inferior hotles.

Poor tour leader - always late and didn't know the itinerary. Had to wait for him and other transport on numerous occasions. Must have lost a whole day over the 2 weeks through waiting. Started days too late and arrived at next accommodation in the dark - not good! Time wasted on lunches (2 hours +) instead of letting the group "do their own thing".

Great country but the organisation was poor.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 26 November 2016

Thank you for your review, Stephen. I’m really sorry that your trip was so disappointing and it’s true to say that we’ve heard from a number of your group about the points you’ve raised. As you mention, there were three hotel changes during your holiday and these were because each of the original ones simply decided not to honour our booking, or had overbooked. We worked hard to find suitable alternatives, but one of them unfortunately was a downgrade. In your holiday documents, we do mention that changes in accommodation are possible and we have provided you with the appropriate refunds in this case. In addition, it’s concerning read your comments about that your Explore Leader’s lack of forethought caused delays to the itinerary and we’ve addressed this with him to ensure the trip goes to plan in future.

(5 out of 10)

Lucy

Weymouth
I had a thoroughly enjoyable trip with some of the best tour guides who really knew their stuff and we're very passionate. Having been on previous explore trips I do feel that this one was less well organised or plan though on explorer's part than other ones I had been on. Bearing in mind it was advertised as a walking holiday the wasn;t nearly enough walking involved and too much time spent travelling. I would have rather spent more time walking the trails that trekking from one end of the country to the other. The people that I shared my trip with were very nice and there was only five of us on the tour. This lead to some benefits due to a lower ration to tour guide but did leave me wanting a bit more ‘banter’ I guess as it could get quite quiet at times. Overall I enjoyed my trip but do I feel that explore has room to develop it to make it a truly amazing once in a lifetime experience.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Tim

Redditch
The tour was very good and covered a large part of Cuba over two weeks. Our Guide Juan Hose was excellent and extremely knowledgeable. I learnt an immense amount about Cuba, the people and the history of the island. I would say that walking poles are essential as some of the treks (Pico Turquino) are very steep and also slippery when wet. Accommodation was generally good and a particular highlight for me was staying in a Casa Particulares in Trinidad. There is apparently a shortage of hotels in Havana which meant that at the start and finish of the tour we were in a good and not so good hotel which were both a good half hour taxi ride away from the Old Town area. Food was surprisingly good on the trip too.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Rosemary

Orpington
I enjoyed the tour but I personally found it a little bit restrictive - I probably prefer to do my own thing. This is not a reflection of Explore who I think provided a good value holiday for those who like to travel in a group. My only criticism is that the trek to the highest peak in Cuba was challenging and not moderate as described by Explore - the other experienced walkers agreed that it was difficult and not moderate. I thought the tour leader was really good and gave us a wonderful insight into the lives of the cuban people.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Derby
Fantastic tour and very well structured - e.g. a 3 day trek followed by a relaxing travel day. The tour covers a lot of ground in two weeks so it's full on but very enjoyable. Our tour guide was amazing. He was knowledgeable and loved his country which definitely added to the experience. There are no highlights - it's all one big highlight!

The only less than positive comment I have is that a night in a hotel near a beach would have been nice. There is an option to spend a day on a beach but this seems a bit all or nothing. There were enough swimming opportunities though.

As a tip - remember to take some gifts for the locals.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Devon, Alberta, Canada
Itinerary: Trinidad, there was to much down time here. we were at the beginning of the tour so the down time was not needed and the available excursions were expensive to take.
Trip should indicate that day 2 of the Pico Turquino hike is more like "difficult" rather than moderate.

Tour Leader: Jose only had a photo ID card, why did he not have an Explore shirt to wear. On day one he was hard to locate. His English was very good, his passion for his country was very evident, his assistance to the group was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 23 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Hilary

Westerham, Kent
Facilities at the refugio during the climb to PicoTurquino were appalling - filthy, falling down buildings with disgusting toilet & shower facilities & thoroughly overbooked to the extent that trekkers had to share beds - the addition of a dead rat under one of the beds did nothing to improve my temper!

The rest of the accommodation on the trip was good & the homestay I was lucky enough to be assigned to was absolutely lovely.

There were some long periods of time spent in the coach travelling from A to B but that's the price one has to pay for the privilege of seeing so much of the island, had the same itinerary been spread over a three week period I feel I could have absorbed more of the atmosphere of the wonderful colonial cities we visited - everything was rather rushed.

Everywhere we went local people were asking for body soap & I would definitely take this another time to give away.

Don't go without insect repellant!!

Overall a lovely trip but when I return to Cuba I will try to have longer in each place.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2016
Published on: 17 February 2016