It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Revolutionary Trails of Cuba CU

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Revolutionary Trails of Cuba

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Revolutionary Trails of Cuba tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Revolutionary Trails in Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Revolutionary Trails in CubaScores 7.1 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Ayesha

London
Cuba is a wonderful, fascinating country; beautifully lush, lovely colonial architecture, colourful buildings and old cars; music everywhere and wonderfully cheap cocktails. It's great to see a place not very commercial and none of the shopping brands you see wherever you go in the world. Signs of the revolution and it's history still very much around. Catch it before it gets too touristy.

Tips would be that the walking on the trip in the Sierra Maestra is strenous not moderate and it is hard to get out of the whole thing at that point in the trip so you need to give it proper consideration. The food in that part for the two days, especially breakfast is very minimal. You do need to take things to eat up with you. Also go prepared for mosquitos.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 07 February 2016
(7 out of 10)

Svijetlana

London
Great itinerary to get an total feel for the country:
Topes de Collantes, Pico Turquin, three-day trek across the Sierra Maestra, Trinidad, swimming in the Carribean sea, walk Las Terrazas...New Year on the streets of Havana!
Shame the allocated tour guide's English was poor and his English people management skills below the standard expected for such a long journey!
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 12 January 2016
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Newbury
Cuba and the Cuban people .
Do not underestimate the trekking
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 07 January 2016
(6 out of 10)

Jill

Birmingham
Particularly enjoyed the walking trails in the forests and Pico Turquino. Travelling through the Cuban countryside was also very interesting as were the visits to the variety of cities. However, the distances travelled were very extensive leaving little time to really explore the area when we got there and sometimes being too late to eat having not eaten much in the day. We paid for our water which I think could have been provided especially in the absence of food. Stops which were necessary especially for the driver when driving 12/13 hours, were a little hit and miss and i certainly wouldn't recommend. Our leader was difficult to understand and not very forthcoming when answering our questions. We needed a bit more information in preparation for each day. Whilst it was part of the Cuban experience and we were lucky to have a group that gelled, there was quite a bit of disatisfaction with regard to our leader who we feel did his best but not sure he was totally up to the job. The Escambret experience was excellent however. Good guide here.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 06 January 2016
(3 out of 10)

Paul

More a sightseeing tour with a few brief days of fairly hard hiking rather than the other way round. The guide's English was way too poor for a group of this nature and he constantly failed to inform the group of what future plans exactly were. There was little chance in this tour to engage with anything of Cuba's rich artistic, musical or cultural heritage. The accounts of Che and Fidel were predictably very propagandistic - this should be mentioned in descriptions of the tour. At least the accommodation was pretty good but as always too much travelling and little time to get to know any places outside Havana. I would like to have seen and learned far more about Santiago beyond a trip to the cemetery. Overall not especially good value for money and the trip needs reworking to improve it.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Explore Leader Louis, we haven’t received any previous complaints about him and the feedback we have received from the rest of your group has been positive – however, we will continue to monitor his performance. We’ve also passed your feedback on to our Product Manager regarding journey times.

(5 out of 10)

Sue

The tips we would give are:

Be prepared for higher temperatures than you might be led to expect. That, plus the very high humidity levels make the mountain trek much more difficult to achieve than the "moderate" level described in the tour information.

We were regularly moved from planned hotels, usually to accommodation out of the areas we would have wanted time to explore on our own e.g. Havana, Santiago. In Camaguay, when we were moved at the last minute (yet again)the accommodation was dreadful!

The Explore information was not up to date - you may need to check it
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 19 December 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some of the accommodation changes during your trip. Over the past few months Cuba has been experiencing a vast increase in tourism and because of this, a number of hotels have not been honouring our formal bookings. This is something we are working on with our local agent, but please be assured that all the accommodation we use for the trip is of the same standard.

(4 out of 10)

Geoffrey

Brackley
Our guide, Ernesto, was excellent. The itinerary gave us a chance to fully savour Cuba and Cuban life. The coach and driver were excellent.
Your chances of staying at the advertised hotels are very poor. The Plaza Hotel, where we stayed on the final 2 nights of our trip, is a building site; many of the rooms did not have running hot water.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 29 November 2015

Thank you for your review.

Due to the recent increase in tourism in Cuba following the relaxing of US sanctions, we are finding that a number of hotels and guesthouses are cancelling or moving our reservations at short notice. Unfortunately, these changes aren’t something we can predict, or prevent, but we do our utmost to ensure that any replacements we provide are of an equivalent standard.

Accommodation and service levels in Cuba have improved in recent years but there is an ongoing trade embargo and lack of investment in infrastructure. Accommodation can therefore be basic, particularly in some rural areas, occasionally with unreliable water and electricity supply. We feel generally that the rest of the Cuban experience makes up for these shortcomings, and hope that there were many other aspects you did enjoy.

(4 out of 10)

Anthea

Exeter
The walks around the haciendas. Take some tabasco sauce or similar to liven up the food as it is incredibly bland.
Confirmed traveller: 21 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Ian

Cuba is a great experience. The culture, the colour and the cocktails. Highlights included all the walking in the National Parks and having cold beer and cocktails as a reward for the hard work, going for a city tour in the old American cars in Havana. The homestay, sites and music in Trinidad. The bicycle tour was also great fun.

Tips - Food was excellent despite what all the guide books say, if going in August be prepared for the heat and humidity and take plenty of water while trekking. Just don't expect 5* accommodation.

Our leader Osmin was very good with nothing being too much trouble and who was passionate and extremely knowledgeable about his country.
Confirmed traveller: 22 August 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015