It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
534 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Revolutionary Trails in Cuba CU

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Revolutionary Trails in Cuba 4 out of 5 based on 9 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Revolutionary Trails in Cuba tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4 jenny Lewis, 18/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This trip was great for getting to know the history of Cuba. It is classed as moderate but I would say it was harder than I had expected. The accommodation was very varied, from lovely hotels to some unpleasant ones. And, spending the night in a refuge that lacked even the most basic facilities is one I would rather erase from my memory... Staying in the haciendas was a great experience, better than some of the hotels and an opportunity not to miss - seeing the way the locals live. Topes the Collantes was fab, guided by a lovely young man who was passionate about the environment, eating Guavas straight from the tree and even the camping was O K for an 'unseasoned' camper! Apart from the constant choir of cockerels that are everywhere. Havana is just a great experience, it felt safe and the architecture is brilliant - beautiful buildings interspersed with collapsed floors of apartments. Castro's hide out was fascinating, it truly felt like being in a jungle, it brought the whole 'story' alive for me. Two of us being given a lift on a bicitaxi in Trinidad, with heavy suitcases on the cobbled streets of Trinidad - the cyclists must have calves of steel! The great variety of Pina Colada and the music, on many occasions when sitting down to a meal, a band appears from nowhere!

Read more
 
2.5 Tim Woods, 19/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Incredible journey, great variety taking in a lot of east Cuba.

Read more
Our Response

We’re sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with your tour leader, Aniel. We do expect our tour leaders to take the group’s needs into consideration before their own, and we have reminded him of this. We will continue to monitor any feedback we receive to make sure he is delivering the standard we expect from our tour leaders.

 
4.5 Andy McTaggart, 01/02/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The adventure packed intense momentum of the tour.We covered nigh on the entire Island during our two week visit and enjoyed huge contrasts within the cities, mountains,forests and coast of Cuba. Highlights include, Havana,Topes de Collantes,trek to Fidel HQ, Cass Particulates in Trinidad,Pico Turqino trek and refuge.Camping, swimming, touring, trekking, hummingbirds, trigonometry, fireflies % sunsets.

A superbly comprehensive Tour and fantastic value for money.

Read more
 
4.5 Lynne Rigby, 11/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The complete tour was a fabulous mix of history, adventure and Cuban life. I loved the variety but I guess the highlight was Santiago de Cuba; it was a dreamy contrast after the peace and austerity of trekking in the mountains. This was my first group holiday and I really liked the way everyone mixed so well and shared whatever they had with others to ensure we all had a good time.

Fantastic!

Read more
 
4 Pam, 04/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many: amazing old buildings in Havana and other cities, swimming in the Bay of Pigs, experiencing a casa particulare in Trinidad, walking in the Escambray mountains and to Castro's HQ in the jungle, the food markets and the friendly people. Yes there are beggars but I never felt at risk.

Read more
Our Response

Our tour leaders are trained to update our local agencies if there are any discrepancies with the tour vehicles used. We have reiterated this process to our tour leaders and respective agencies, but we’re pleased to say that we haven’t received any other comments to this effect.

 
2.5 Chris, 18/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Highlight - Cuba Memorable - too long spent in a bus.

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you found the long road journeys tedious: we only use airlines which do not appear on the EU air safety list, which can be found at: http://ec.europa.eu/transport/modes/air/safety/air-ban/index_en.htm, so for reasons of safety in Cuba we have to travel overland. The rain though was excessive – many of the trails we usually walk were completely washed out. We know it will have been disappointing to have to make detours from the intended itinerary, but it’s rare for this to happen.

 
5 Dennis Price, 11/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The walking in the Cuban countyside especially the ascent of Pico Turquino - Cuba's highest mountain.

Read more
 
5 Geoffrey, 13/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The walk through the Sierra Maestra and reaching Pico Turquino.

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your review. We have noted your feedback about the walks on this this tour. Our Operations Manager has asked for an accurate review of the walks on this trip from our local agent so we are able to amend our tour notes accordingly.

 

 
0 LEC, 11/02/11
For me the long days travelling by coach were more than compensated by the variety of the places we visited. From Caribbean beaches to bustling cities and onto mountain retreats, each was special in its own way. The people we met everywhere were warm and friendly. The wildlife was amazing, although coming face to face with a snake in a waterfall pool was a little close for comfort.  I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get to know Cuba better before the inevitable changes as the revolutionary generation reaches an age where they can no longer govern the country. (CU - 17th December 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA