It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking The Gran Isla LOC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walking The Gran Isla

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking The Gran Isla trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking The Gran Isla reviews verified by Reevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walking The Gran IslaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(7 out of 10)

John

Birmingham
Two centre holiday with Aguimes hotel the pick. Highlights were walking days and socialising with our guide in a relaxed atmosphere.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jane

London
This was an outstanding holiday. I am new to walking so my only fear was that I wouldn't be adequate for the group but I made all the walks in the suggested time. The scenery was absolutely phenomenal - I had no idea that Gran Canaria was so beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the second, third and fifth walks as the scenery was spectacular and the paths more secure. The hotels were very clean and comfortable. It would have been nice if there had been somewhere available to swim but on the free day I went to the lovely bay close to Aldea which was stony but perfect for a swim and beach snack. The highlight of the holiday has to have been our guide Victor Sturmer - a totally kind a generous man who did everything he could to make sure we were all entertained and cared for. I can't wait to try another trip.We had some fabulous evenings with cheap and wholesome local food. Thank you so much.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Roger

London
Our Hotel in La Aldea was somewhat disappointing relative to the one in Aguimes and the dinner suggestions much improved when we discovered the Black Cat in Aguimes as a viable option.

The organised itinerary was excellent with amazing views. The free day in La Aldea may need a little work for creative suggestions. We were all somewhat tired after the first three days so the relatively close port and discreet beach were worth the effort to visit but the walk to the coast itself was not very "scenic". Perhaps more information about a minibus service could be provided as I would certainly have had more energy to explore beyond the beach.
Our leader felt the last few kms of our final walk into Aguimes was possibly a little tedious but I couldn't see any sensible alternative and perhaps it helped us get back in the mood for a return to the UK after such an enjoyable week - so I cannot se any reason to change it.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Linda

Harrow, London
A great trip - we were surprised by the variety of scenery and the ruggedness of the terrain on Gran Canaria. Good to come home with a suntan! Max is an entertaining and knowledgeable guide.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lynn

Preston
We started at a lovely traditional hotel at Aguimes. We did a walk along the Guayadeque canyon on the first day. Then moved on to the west to our next hotel in La Aldea. The highlights of the week for me were, climbing up to Roque Nublo, climbing over the Aldea Pass and walking through the lovely villages and cave dwelling areas.
Our guide, Bert was excellent, he had all the right qualities to make the trip enjoyable for keen walkers. The walks were chosen well and at the right level for abilities. He was always attentive and in good spirits. It became clear also, that wherever we went he was well thought of by locals as he was greeted warmly. Always a good sign.
I would recommend this holiday highly.
Confirmed traveller: 23 January 2016
Published on: 06 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Hexham
The guide, Viktor, was brilliant. He really made it with his personality, encouragement of all participants, even up the steepest hills, local knowledge, suggestions for activities. The scenery was stunning and the walking routes superb. This is a walking trip and people need to be prepared to do serious hiking. Also where we were staying was not big on nightlife, but Viktor always organised good restaurants for us to go to. It's a busy trip.
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Steven

Epsom
This walking holiday requires fitness, but some of the walks had steep narrow zig zag paths that were covered in loose rock which was tricky to negotiate if you were used to walking on broad paths in the Lake District. So more difficult than the brochure would suggest. However the reward for this was spectacular vistas of the mountains and valleys. Highlights were the walk to Pico Castellet through the Canarian fir tree forest of Inagua, and an optional walk to Guigui beach on the west coast, a wild and unspoilt area.
Confirmed traveller: 05 December 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Gillian

Kent
The walks were amazing just like a mini gran canyon. Take all weather gear as very cold at the top of the mountain. Take swimming gear great indoor pool at the end of the street.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015