It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking The Gran Isla LOC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walking The Gran Isla

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking The Gran Isla trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking The Gran Isla reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walking The Gran IslaScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Heather

Derby
Excellent trip. Good walking . Lovely food. Excellent leader.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 02 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Thailand
Great trip! We were a relatively large group (16) but Lara, the leader, did a good job making sure we were all OK and that everything was taken care of.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 29 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Anne

Edinburgh
Excellent tour with dramatic scenery. Walking was described as moderate which was accurate.
Lovely tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 28 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeremy

St.Ives
While the leader was competent we felt that he wasn't that knowledgible as he rarely pointed out points of interest and when questioned he didn't give much information . In the past explore leaders have been very knowledgeable and haven't needed prompting . Also , he never arranged back markers and allowed the group to be strung out . Seemed to be in a hurry to get back !
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2016
Published on: 22 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lesley

Bournemouth
On the itinerary some of the walks appear short but once in the mountains they take on a life of their own and are demanding enough to suit the average walker. Victor, our guide, made the trip all the more enjoyable with his local and historic knowledge of the Island along with his sense of humour! The hotels were very different. The Casa de Los Camellos is a lovely historic building in the picturesque village of Aguimes but with hard beds! The Hotel Los Cascajos in Aldea lacks character but the beds are comfy! Breakfast was good and plentiful in both. Do visit the spa and pool in Aldea it is very good and only costs 2 euros with a voucher from the hotel. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday and Gran Canaria is a lovely and varied island.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2016
Published on: 13 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jane

London
This was an outstanding holiday. I am new to walking so my only fear was that I wouldn't be adequate for the group but I made all the walks in the suggested time. The scenery was absolutely phenomenal - I had no idea that Gran Canaria was so beautiful. I particularly enjoyed the second, third and fifth walks as the scenery was spectacular and the paths more secure. The hotels were very clean and comfortable. It would have been nice if there had been somewhere available to swim but on the free day I went to the lovely bay close to Aldea which was stony but perfect for a swim and beach snack. The highlight of the holiday has to have been our guide Victor Sturmer - a totally kind a generous man who did everything he could to make sure we were all entertained and cared for. I can't wait to try another trip.We had some fabulous evenings with cheap and wholesome local food. Thank you so much.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

John

Birmingham
Two centre holiday with Aguimes hotel the pick. Highlights were walking days and socialising with our guide in a relaxed atmosphere.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Linda

Harrow, London
A great trip - we were surprised by the variety of scenery and the ruggedness of the terrain on Gran Canaria. Good to come home with a suntan! Max is an entertaining and knowledgeable guide.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Roger

London
Our Hotel in La Aldea was somewhat disappointing relative to the one in Aguimes and the dinner suggestions much improved when we discovered the Black Cat in Aguimes as a viable option.

The organised itinerary was excellent with amazing views. The free day in La Aldea may need a little work for creative suggestions. We were all somewhat tired after the first three days so the relatively close port and discreet beach were worth the effort to visit but the walk to the coast itself was not very "scenic". Perhaps more information about a minibus service could be provided as I would certainly have had more energy to explore beyond the beach.
Our leader felt the last few kms of our final walk into Aguimes was possibly a little tedious but I couldn't see any sensible alternative and perhaps it helped us get back in the mood for a return to the UK after such an enjoyable week - so I cannot se any reason to change it.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016