It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
620 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking The Gran Isla LOC

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Walking The Gran Isla

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking The Gran Isla trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking The Gran Isla reviews verified by reevooReevoo

46 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Walking The Gran IslaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 46 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Lotte

Copenhagen
Our guide, Bert, really made this trip very interesting and enjoyable!
Very competent, knowing, experienced, good humor - altogether an excellent guide!
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 30 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Stourbridge
An excellent trip covering the best walking routes on the island. Bert, our tour leader, was always very professional and flexible for the needs of the group. The highlight of the week for me was the option walk on the free day through the Inagua Forest to the Pico Castellet. Thoroughly enjoyed the program of walks and definitely recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Barbara

Granada
A very enjoyable trip, the walks well thought out and not too demanding, in beautiful landscapes. Emma, our leader was brilliant: friendly, organised, responsible and enthusiastic. Despite mixed weather (sun, rain, wind), there was only one walk we had to cut short. As anywhere in Spain, vegans might struggle to eat well, but as a fish-eating vegetarian, I found the food OK, if not very varied. The towns we stayed in weren't particularly interesting but as we were out in the countryside for a good part of the day, it didn't really matter and there were plenty of bars and restaurants near our accommodation. The people of Gran Canaria are very friendly - it was good to be away from the tourist resorts. I would definitely recommend this walking trip.
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 29 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Swindon
This is a lovely walking trip. Based in 2 places on opposite sides of the island, the walks are not too challenging and take you through some stunning countryside. The hotels are different but both very well situated and we visited different restaurants every night, including an authentic paella experience and a cave restaurant on the final night! We gelled well as a group but what really made this trip was the tour leader - Emma was utterly fabulous in every way, dealing with some uncooperative weather, buses, sore knees (mine!) and everything else we could throw at her - all with a huge smile on her face. On the 'day off' she mentioned that a friend of hers owned a plantation nearby and had invited us all to visit for a look round. We took the offer up - and what a fabulous visit! Having had a look round and seen the variety of trees (avocado, mango, papaya and many more), met the dogs, seen the well, pool, bar and more, we were then invited into their home where a fabulous spread of avocado, cheeses, fresh mango juice and even mango liqueur had been laid on for us. The generosity was amazing and it was the moment of the trip!
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christian

Macclesfield
Tour leader was energetic, interesting and a delight to be with on the tour. Walks were good and challenging. Only downside was the towns we stayed in were a little bit quiet. The restaurants and bars were very limited. I think the tour would benefit from one location being in a resort or somewhere more lively
Confirmed traveller: 25 March 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Euan

Feltham
The highlights were the walks and the knowledge of the leader to provide information on the areas we walked in. Some of the scenery was spectacular.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 28 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Roger

Cambridge
Excellent and helpful leader made this holiday so enjoyable. Changing the days for the walks to suit the weather worked very well. Of course the real highlight was the weather - excellent throughout - and that is beyond Explore control I think...
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 12 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Henry

London
A walking holiday for those with 'reasonable' fitness and agility - the paths are dry but are rough and some have lose stone. Perhaps walking sticks would be advisable for some. The groups will invariably have a mixed ability and therefore will 'stretch out' into smaller groups, particularly on the longer walks. This is not really a problem as the tour allows everyone to walk at a pace they are comfortable with and the tour leader monitors the slower walkers.
The accommodation was reasonable in both locations. If based in the additional accommodation - approx 50m from the Hotel Rural Casa de los Camellos. The rooms overlooking the street can be cold and noisy - there appears to be a music club opposite, which does close approx 12pm. An electric fire is provided in the room, which was used - our tour was in January/ February. Blankets were provided at the Hotel los Cascajos in La Aldea. The breakfast buffet was better in Aguimes and the hotel is in a 'artists' enclave close to a nice public square. Finding restaurants/ cafe's for an evening meal was difficult in both bases as there are few located near the hotels and most restaurants open at 8pm - a location map of recommended restaurants would be helpful. The group meals were disappointing and poor value, except for the final meal in the 'caves'. Most restaurants could not accommodate our group size -16 and those that could, offered a set menu. Lunchtime rolls are provided, but be prepared as there is no option to vary on a daily basis. The best walks were in the center highlands, and there stunning vistas through the twisting mountain roads. Be warned of public bus drivers who drive down these roads at what seems to be a crazy speed - you may feel queasy!
The lowlands are not so picturesque, dominated by plants that can survive the dry, stony ground. Our 'rest' day was a little disappointing - the local main beach is stony and not really suited to swimming. There is a possibility at a nearby black sand beach, in a sheltered cove - perhaps during warmer months. Other possibilities were not possible due to local road closures.
I would recommend this walking holiday, if you are looking for something that is not to strenuous. The islanders and Explore/ hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The days are usually warm and sunny - so hats and sun cream (didn't see any mosquitoes) - perhaps a thermal or light fleece in the evening.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Northants
Spectacular scenery, some very steep uphill climbs. Take walking poles. Beautiful wild flowers and warm sunshine. Bus journeys on very winding steep hairpin roads may not suit people who get motion sickness.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 10 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Angelina

Beckenham
I thought the trip overall was excellent. I have a knee injury ---post surgery. I personally would of liked the option only on about 2 of the days, to walk/ hike a half day then get a bus back resting my knee. I felt this option was not available. Probably a little selfish of me but I wished my partner and brother to carry on with the walk just an escape if possible for me. Especially at the end of the week----i found my knee extremely sore.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 08 February 2017