It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
548 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Spice Trails Of Petra TP

Visiting: Jordan
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Magnificent Petra
  • Exploring Petra
  • Petra
  • Jerash's Cardo Maximus
  • Relaxing in the Dead Sea
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Basic
  • Trek Grade: Moderate
 

Book now!

11 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Spice Trails Of Petra tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Georgina Hutber, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The day of walking into Petra by the mountain route, from our camp to the Monastery, then down into the city and back up to the High Place, followed by walking up a quiet valley back to the camp. A big day, with spectacular views, and very few people compared with the 'tourist' hotspots.

Read more
 
9 , 24/01/14

Name

Clare Smit

Tour Name

Spice Trails Of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The whole tour was phenomenal....Wadi Rum and the desert landscape including the stars at night, Petra, Kerak crusader castle, Madaba, the Dead Sea and, of course, Jerash Roman city which was astoundingly intact..... Wow! what a country!!

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Saleh was brilliant. His knowledge is amazing - from animal tracks and plant info in the desert to archaeological info at Petra, Kerak and Jerash.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take a head torch!!!! The Bedouin tent is quite dark so you will need it to find things in your suitcase. A lot of people on our tour had the wind up torches which were useful if you don't want to carry batteries around. It was also a major source of amusement for the rest of us due to the sounds they make! We did Petra by Night and to be honest, it was a bit disappointing as it was not as well lit as we thought and packed with tourists. Only do it if you really like harp and flute music in a Siq by candlelight! (My fellow tribe members actually decided to leave early in order to get beers before heading back to the campsite)

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

4 nights camping in a Bedouin tent is not everyone's cup of tea but we all managed. In fact, it bonded us as a group and we became a tribe! This is truly a brilliant tour and it shows you parts of Jordan that you would miss on a conventional coach tour. You have also not lived until you have tried Ibrahim's baklava... awesome!

 
9 , 21/01/14

Name

Andrew Nicoll

Tour Name

Spice Trails Of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Walking up to the Monastery at Petra on a quiet path in the morning sunshine, breathless but taking in the magnificent mountain and desert landscape.

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very knowledgeable about all matters of flora and fauna in desert and mountain. Good on history and culture. Excellent at bringing the party together, dealing with problems and good fun at the end of the day in camp. A proud Jordanian.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bear in mind it get dark at 5pm in the desert in December. Bring thick coat, gloves and a woolly hat if you are there in Winter.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

As good as a trip as I have been on anywhere, anytime.

 
9 , 09/01/14

Name

Jeanne de Roubaix

Tour Name

Spice Trails of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The days we were walking in Wadi Rum were very special. The landscape has a different, unexpected kind of beauty. Coming "home" after a days' walk to Ebrahim's fantastic meals shared in the dining tent next to the fire. Petra was also absolutely amazing.

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Saleh was very knowledgable and passionate about teaching us more about his country and culture. Good sense of humour, made sure that everyone's needs were met. Well-organised, and made sure that we knew exactly what was happening when.

 
9 , 02/01/14

Name

Andrew Nicoll

Tour Name

Spice Trails

Tour Code

SP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The days we spent walking and camping in Wadi Rum, not to mention two hours aboard a camel. Christmas Day walking up the Monastery was a corker too.

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

A first class leader, well organised, knowledgeable about every aspect of the trip from plats to birds to geology to history, and enthusiastic.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Fly BA as I did and arrive mid afternoon not late at night and it also allows you to enjoy a half day in Amman at the tour end. It gets dark by 5pm in the desert in December, so pack a head torch and warm socks.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

A brilliant eight days with a great group and a top notch guide.

 
8 , 27/11/13

Name

Nigel Turner

Tour Name

Spice Trials of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The two full days walking:

Wadi Rum - although we'd been to deserts before we'd not walked anywhere quite like this. Great scenery. Not a taxing walk - plenty of water stops, lunch and two tea stops! Saleh, our guide, pointed out interesting plants and animal tracks and told us much about Bedouin life. A great day (and the camel ride the next was pretty fab too!)

Petra - climbing up to The Monastery was pretty memorable. It's better than you expect and the fact that it's not full of other people makes it more special than the Treasury which is pretty busy. Entering formm the desrt rather than the town, you get a very different feel for the place. compared with what most people will see

Tour Leader Name

Saleh

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very good - both as a tour leader and a guide.

As a tour leader everything was well organised and well placed. Good choice of restaurants - tasty food and no-one got sick. Clear instructions on what's happening next.

As a guide, excellent knowledge of all the sites. Saleh has a degree in English Literature and has studied archeology near Petra. Quality guide whether it was desert, Roman, Nabatean or Crusader! So you learn a lot in a short time.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Yes the camping is pretty basic. You get a mattress , pillow and sleeping bag but you're side-by-side in the Bedouin style tent. But everyone survived and camping in the desert was an memorable experience and quite fun. The camp food was surprisingly good.

The heat (and walking) was 'dry-hot' rather than 'sweaty hot' so we weren't that grubby and everyone had the Turkish bath in Petra and so got clean part way through.

Water and soft drinks but not alcohol are available at the camps. One evening we passed round our bottle of duty free rum which mixed well with people's cokes! Apart from this and the evening in Madaba most evenings were 'dry'.

We had a really nice group. Good chats while walking through the desert.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We added some 'tailor made'. For us the BA flights were more convenient. The hotel in Amman (the Toledo) is good and does a nice evening buffet if you arrive as we did late afternoon. We also added three nights at a Dead Sea resort (the Marriott - which was excellent) and had a driver take us from Amman back to the Dead Sea via the 'Desert Castles' so we saw some extra stuff. The additional days at the Dead Sea also provided some fab 'R&R' to balance the 'adventure' of camping in the desert!

 
9 , 27/11/13

Name

Michelle Littler-Gordon

Tour Name

Spice Trails Of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Watching the sun go down in Wadi Rum

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Extremely knowledgable and accommodating

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring baby wipes.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This was a very well organised tour with lots to see and do. I would love to go back and do it all over again.

 
10 Dorothy, 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Petra  took your breath away. It really is one of the Seven Wonders of the World. The site is huge and I am so glad we had a full day and a half to explore it in the company of a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Walking down the Siq and the first glimpse of the Treasury is stunning. And Day 4 when we  walked to Petra from the camp and then back again by a different route was so satisfying. We climbed the 900 steps up to the Monastery before the crowds arrived and then after a packed lunch we clambered up to the Place of High Sacrifice. What views.

 

Read more
 
10 Peter John Cordery, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Jordan and its people are fantastic, it is a lovely place to visit

 

 

Read more
 
0 Julie Peck, 18/11/10

The advice I'd give to anyone doing this trip is to just do it - you won't be disappointed.    Trip highlight was Petra which is absolutely amazing.  That doesn't mean to say that it totally out-shone the rest of the trip though, because it didn't. 

Camping and hiking in Wadi Run was fantastic and trying to sink in the Dead Sea was just plain strange!    This is one of the best Explore trips I've done! (TP -16th October 2010)

 
0 H.J, 20/09/10
The walking element of this trip made it much more appealing to me than the slightly 'coach tourish' aspect of some trips to Jordan. The two days walking and camping in Wadi Rum were excellent, the walking wasn't particularly challenging and should be fine for anyone who is in normal health. There isn't a great deal of time in Petra but you do have a full day and a bit which was plenty for me. The walk to and from the camp is beautiful and was so much better than going back to one of the hotels in the town would have been! The walk to the Monastery on the second day in Petra has one very small precarious part where you need to edge along a ledge (we're talking about 2 metres maximum) - everyone in our group managed even the less brave of us but it is a little bit above the normal expected on a walk of this grade. After the days of walking the last couple of days are a bit more touristy and I opted out of the guided tours. However Jerash, the Roman City, was a revelation - a really unexpected highlight. I found it more impressive than Pompeii or Herculaneum. The only part I didn't like much was the optional Petra by Night activity. Lame and over-hyped - don't expect it to be a 'magical experience'. The quiet walks you do around Petra are far more special than this. I would recommend this trip as a classic Explore adventure. It takes a familiar and very busy destination and finds a way to make it a bit different, getting off the beaten track and introducing a more active element. (TP- 1st December 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA