It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Spice Trails Of Petra TP

Visiting: Jordan
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Spice Trails Of Petra

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Spice Trails Of Petra trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Spice Trails Of Petra reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Spice Trails Of PetraScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Hull
An excellent trip. A very knowledgeable and hard working guide. Good accommodation and food. A well planned and full itinerary the highlights for me were the time spent in the desert in Wadi Rum, in and around Petra and at Jerash an unexpected jewel. The coach provided was comfortable and spacious and everything worked like clock work. It felt as if I had been away much longer than a week a reflection on how much we fitted in during the visit.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Llanfairpwll
Great tour, highly recommended. The highlights for me were the visit to Petra, particularly the long walk on the 2nd day. The walking in Wadi Rum was great as well (and nicely different from Petra). The tourist sights on the last couple of days were all well worth seeing, although a fair amount of coach travel was required.
The camping was basic (as advertised) but the camp staff were great and cooked some very nice meals. Sitting round the camp fire in the desert was a memorable experience.
I found Jordan to be a totally safe country. The Jordanians were all friendly and pleased to see us and would very much welcome more visitors...
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 23 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Katrina

Excellent week, great itinerary and a fantastic guide who's knowledge is endless. We felt very welcome from the start. Jordan is a lovely country with friendly and hospitable people and no one should hesitate in visiting.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michele

Northampton
This was an excellent trip - a good combination of walking and sightseeing. The highlights for me were walking in the desert, discovering the splendours of Petra and Jerash and floating in the Dead Sea. Saleh was a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide to his beautiful country and Ibrahim the cook conjured up delicious picnic lunches and evening meals.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 06 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Butler

Surbiton
This is a fantastic trip. The highlights for me were Wadi Rum, which is a stunning place, and the trek to the Monastery in Petra. Camping in Bedouin tents was definitely an experience to remember, particularly when our tent started to dismantle itself in high winds 2 nights in a row. The food served, both at lunch time on the treks and in the evening at camp, is of a very high standard thanks to Ibrahim and his team. Saleh is extremely knowledgeable about all things Jordan and has an obvious passion for his country. He also helped us over the tricky bits on the treks. We did all the optional extras including the turkish bath (it's the only way to get clean in the middle of 4 days of camping!), the camel ride and Petra by night. If you are considering doing this trip just book it, it is certainly one of the best trips I have done and we have some fantastic memories.
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Neil

Saltburn by the Sea
Just got back from the one week Spice Trail of Petra tour, and would heartily recommend it! From the natural splendour of Wadi Rum, to the incredible carvings at Petra to the some of the world's best preserved Roman ruins at Jerash, virtually every day was a highlight!

Our tour leader Saleh was extremely well educated regarding all of these places and definitely added to the experience!

And finally Jordan was a delight to visit (temperatures in May were fine) with no feelings of any security issues or restrictions whatsoever.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julie

Hull
It's hard to pick a highlight as there were so many. Petra is incredible and the second day there, walking around the back and largely away from all the tourists was amazing. The desert was equally stunning however and the warmth of the Turkish bath after a cold, damp day is hard to beat.

Future travellers need to be aware that it CAN and DOES rain and even snow in Jordan so, as well as a waterproof, waterproof trousers could also be handy. Also, particularly at this time of year, many of us wished we'd brought our own 4 season sleeping bags instead of having to put blankets inside the ones provided. (The blanket/sleeping bag combo was warm though, so it isn't a complaint against Explore)
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 19 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The highlights were walking in Wadi Rum, seeing Petra for the first time and floating in the Dead Sea.Saleh went out of his way to ensure everyone had a good holiday. He was very knowledgeable and informative and very enthusiastic about his work and his country.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This is an epic trip. If you are even half thinking about booking this, just go ahead and do it! You won't regret it! It is the perfect mix of hiking, beautiful scenery, fun personalities and history (Petra!!). The 21km hike from the Little Petra camp down to the Monastery in Petra itself is stunning and was probably the highlight for me. You can also get a hot cup of tea at the main viewing point, which is a bonus (but it's not exactly a vending machine!) Saleh and all the camp staff (Mahmood and Atif) are extremely hard-working and looked after our group extremely well. Saleh is an exemplary tour leader with infectious enthusiasm. He is an excellent ambassador for his country. He is very knowledgable about his subjects, but manages to impart information in manageable chunks, so you never feel overwhelmed. It was, however, all the little extra things that he constantly did, that made the whole trip so special: asking us to listen to the call to prayer at Jerash (the most atmospheric I have ever heard), constantly picking up stray rubbish on hikes, carefully selecting people to tip (eg cleaners at Petra who we had not even noticed), very thoughtfully buying us fruit from street vendors for a truly authentic experience on a long car journey and finally, teaching us half the vocabulary of the entire Arabic language in 7 days!
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2015
Published on: 08 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Martin

Bromsgrove
I have travelled all over Europe, Africa and India with Explore. You can't beat them for quality and price.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015