It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
523 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Spice Trails Of Petra TP

Visiting: Jordan
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Spice Trails Of Petra 4.5 out of 5 based on 22 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Spice Trails Of Petra tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Paul D, 09/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Jordan is a beautiful, safe country with incredibly friendly people. Hiking and camping in Wadi Rum and Petra are experiences that will stay with me for a lifetime. I've never visited anything remotely like them. Our tour leader Saleh was excellent. He was helpful and friendly throughout and his knowledge of his country and its people was fascinating.

Read more
Our Response

We’re sorry to hear that there was some confusion over the sleeping arrangements during the camping element of your trip. We know that the information provided on the tour notes was not very clear at the time of your booking, and we’ve now updated this to give a better reflection of what to expect.

 
4.5 Paul Emery, 18/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Jordan is a fantastic country for a week-long trip (arguably deserves maybe 10 days to do it full justice) and this was a great way to see the hghlights. Day hikes allowed us a good two days exploring both Wadi Rum and Petra - anything less would have been a terrible shame. Each day brought something new. I've visited dozens of countries in various trips and Jordan really does stand out as offering something different and possibly the friendliest citizens in the world. For me it was a wonderful introduction to the Middle East. I would definitely re-visit to spend even more time in Wadi Rum or Petra, exploring the north and also more of the canyons and gorges leading to the Rift Valley.

Read more
 
4.5 Piangkwan, 15/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Camping in Wadi Rum was spectacular and the hikes were great. Also, hiking in Petra. The atmosphere was really good and the staff were very accommodating and friendly. I was glad that we were a very small group, everyone got to know each other very well - made the trip even more enjoyable!

Read more
 
5 Jennifer, 15/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

The highlights were walking in Wadi Rum, seeing Petra for the first time and floating in the Dead Sea.

Read more
 
5 Nadia, 07/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This is an epic trip. If you are even half thinking about booking this, just go ahead and do it! You won't regret it! It is the perfect mix of hiking, beautiful scenery, fun personalities and history (Petra!!). The 21km hike from the Little Petra camp down to the Monastery in Petra itself is stunning and was probably the highlight for me. You can also get a hot cup of tea at the main viewing point, which is a bonus (but it's not exactly a vending machine!) Saleh and all the camp staff (Mahmood and Atif) are extremely hard-working and looked after our group extremely well.

Read more
 
5 Manjula G , 12/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

A wonderful trip with like-minded people and a great tour guide! The highlights were walking in Wadi Rum, seeing the city of Petra after a long hike, ruins of Jersah, nights whlist camping, floating in the Dead Sea and much, much more!

Read more
 
5 Tracy McCollin, 11/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The walk through the canyon in Wadi Rum and the time spent exploring the area around Petra were both highlights and exceeded my expectations.

A wonderful trip with some amazing sights and history.

Read more
 
4 Clive Bunce, 09/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Three things for me.

1.The peace and beauty of Wadi Rum.

2.The first glimpse of the treasury from the sik.

3.The scale of the ruins at Jerash.

Read more
Our Response

I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed in some of the information you were given prior to your departure. We do state in our tour notes that the current cost for the Jordanian visa is 40JD, which is approximately £40. We also state the tipping is entirely voluntary; however we suggest £28 as a total tipping amount if you do wish to partake in the tips kitty. We do appreciate your suggestion regarding a head torch, we have passed this on to our Operations Manager, who will update the tour notes accordingly.

 
5 TW, 06/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This trip visits so many great places but the highlight is difficult to choose from seeing the dawn/dusk light in Wadi Rum and the hike into Petra via The Monastery. Floating in the Dead Sea was an unreal experience (but do not get it in your eyes or mouth or you'll be smarting for hours); The Roman city of Jerash was an unexpectedly good place to end.

Read more
 
4.5 Ian Mac, 27/10/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

For me, the two full day walks were the best. First, the circular desert walk around Wadi Rum with informative explanations from our guide Saleh, about the desert environment. Second, the walk to Petra entering by the Monastery route from the mountains. The walking was tiring but not arduous and very rewarding. Petra by night was a fun evening for those of us who chose to do it, but don't go with excessively high expectations of the event - each to their own. Considering the distance to Jordan from the UK then it was important for us to also do some essential touristy visits of Kerak, Medaba, Mt Nebo, Dead sea and Jerash. For me it was a perfectly balanced holiday, we packed so much in I find it difficult to believe that we were only in the country for just a few days, it felt like 2 weeks!

Read more
 
5 Alicia O'Neill, 10/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Trekking into Petra on the "back route" up to the Monastery. It was a beautiful trek - passing goat herds and camels and we arrived to the Monastery before most of the tourists! We then went on and climbed up to the Place of Sacrifice - with stunning views over the Petra site. Trekking back to the campsite that evening - though tired - we really felt that we had seen Petra at close quarters and got a great feel for the scale of it!

Read more
 
5 Georgina Hutber, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The day of walking into Petra by the mountain route, from our camp to the Monastery, then down into the city and back up to the High Place, followed by walking up a quiet valley back to the camp. A big day, with spectacular views, and very few people compared with the 'tourist' hotspots.

Read more
 
4.5 , 24/01/14

Name

Clare Smit

Tour Name

Spice Trails Of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The whole tour was phenomenal....Wadi Rum and the desert landscape including the stars at night, Petra, Kerak crusader castle, Madaba, the Dead Sea and, of course, Jerash Roman city which was astoundingly intact..... Wow! what a country!!

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Saleh was brilliant. His knowledge is amazing - from animal tracks and plant info in the desert to archaeological info at Petra, Kerak and Jerash.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take a head torch!!!! The Bedouin tent is quite dark so you will need it to find things in your suitcase. A lot of people on our tour had the wind up torches which were useful if you don't want to carry batteries around. It was also a major source of amusement for the rest of us due to the sounds they make! We did Petra by Night and to be honest, it was a bit disappointing as it was not as well lit as we thought and packed with tourists. Only do it if you really like harp and flute music in a Siq by candlelight! (My fellow tribe members actually decided to leave early in order to get beers before heading back to the campsite)

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

4 nights camping in a Bedouin tent is not everyone's cup of tea but we all managed. In fact, it bonded us as a group and we became a tribe! This is truly a brilliant tour and it shows you parts of Jordan that you would miss on a conventional coach tour. You have also not lived until you have tried Ibrahim's baklava... awesome!

 
4.5 , 21/01/14

Name

Andrew Nicoll

Tour Name

Spice Trails Of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Walking up to the Monastery at Petra on a quiet path in the morning sunshine, breathless but taking in the magnificent mountain and desert landscape.

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very knowledgeable about all matters of flora and fauna in desert and mountain. Good on history and culture. Excellent at bringing the party together, dealing with problems and good fun at the end of the day in camp. A proud Jordanian.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bear in mind it get dark at 5pm in the desert in December. Bring thick coat, gloves and a woolly hat if you are there in Winter.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

As good as a trip as I have been on anywhere, anytime.

 
4.5 , 09/01/14

Name

Jeanne de Roubaix

Tour Name

Spice Trails of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The days we were walking in Wadi Rum were very special. The landscape has a different, unexpected kind of beauty. Coming "home" after a days' walk to Ebrahim's fantastic meals shared in the dining tent next to the fire. Petra was also absolutely amazing.

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Saleh was very knowledgable and passionate about teaching us more about his country and culture. Good sense of humour, made sure that everyone's needs were met. Well-organised, and made sure that we knew exactly what was happening when.

 
4.5 , 02/01/14

Name

Andrew Nicoll

Tour Name

Spice Trails

Tour Code

SP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The days we spent walking and camping in Wadi Rum, not to mention two hours aboard a camel. Christmas Day walking up the Monastery was a corker too.

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

A first class leader, well organised, knowledgeable about every aspect of the trip from plats to birds to geology to history, and enthusiastic.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Fly BA as I did and arrive mid afternoon not late at night and it also allows you to enjoy a half day in Amman at the tour end. It gets dark by 5pm in the desert in December, so pack a head torch and warm socks.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

A brilliant eight days with a great group and a top notch guide.

 
4 , 27/11/13

Name

Nigel Turner

Tour Name

Spice Trials of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The two full days walking:

Wadi Rum - although we'd been to deserts before we'd not walked anywhere quite like this. Great scenery. Not a taxing walk - plenty of water stops, lunch and two tea stops! Saleh, our guide, pointed out interesting plants and animal tracks and told us much about Bedouin life. A great day (and the camel ride the next was pretty fab too!)

Petra - climbing up to The Monastery was pretty memorable. It's better than you expect and the fact that it's not full of other people makes it more special than the Treasury which is pretty busy. Entering formm the desrt rather than the town, you get a very different feel for the place. compared with what most people will see

Tour Leader Name

Saleh

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Very good - both as a tour leader and a guide.

As a tour leader everything was well organised and well placed. Good choice of restaurants - tasty food and no-one got sick. Clear instructions on what's happening next.

As a guide, excellent knowledge of all the sites. Saleh has a degree in English Literature and has studied archeology near Petra. Quality guide whether it was desert, Roman, Nabatean or Crusader! So you learn a lot in a short time.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Yes the camping is pretty basic. You get a mattress , pillow and sleeping bag but you're side-by-side in the Bedouin style tent. But everyone survived and camping in the desert was an memorable experience and quite fun. The camp food was surprisingly good.

The heat (and walking) was 'dry-hot' rather than 'sweaty hot' so we weren't that grubby and everyone had the Turkish bath in Petra and so got clean part way through.

Water and soft drinks but not alcohol are available at the camps. One evening we passed round our bottle of duty free rum which mixed well with people's cokes! Apart from this and the evening in Madaba most evenings were 'dry'.

We had a really nice group. Good chats while walking through the desert.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We added some 'tailor made'. For us the BA flights were more convenient. The hotel in Amman (the Toledo) is good and does a nice evening buffet if you arrive as we did late afternoon. We also added three nights at a Dead Sea resort (the Marriott - which was excellent) and had a driver take us from Amman back to the Dead Sea via the 'Desert Castles' so we saw some extra stuff. The additional days at the Dead Sea also provided some fab 'R&R' to balance the 'adventure' of camping in the desert!

 
4.5 , 27/11/13

Name

Michelle Littler-Gordon

Tour Name

Spice Trails Of Petra

Tour Code

TP

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Watching the sun go down in Wadi Rum

Tour Leader Name

Saleh Arfou

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Extremely knowledgable and accommodating

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring baby wipes.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This was a very well organised tour with lots to see and do. I would love to go back and do it all over again.

 
5 Dorothy, 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Petra  took your breath away. It really is one of the Seven Wonders of the World. The site is huge and I am so glad we had a full day and a half to explore it in the company of a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Walking down the Siq and the first glimpse of the Treasury is stunning. And Day 4 when we  walked to Petra from the camp and then back again by a different route was so satisfying. We climbed the 900 steps up to the Monastery before the crowds arrived and then after a packed lunch we clambered up to the Place of High Sacrifice. What views.

 

Read more
 
5 Peter John Cordery, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Jordan and its people are fantastic, it is a lovely place to visit

 

 

Read more
 
0 Julie Peck, 18/11/10

The advice I'd give to anyone doing this trip is to just do it - you won't be disappointed.    Trip highlight was Petra which is absolutely amazing.  That doesn't mean to say that it totally out-shone the rest of the trip though, because it didn't. 

Camping and hiking in Wadi Run was fantastic and trying to sink in the Dead Sea was just plain strange!    This is one of the best Explore trips I've done! (TP -16th October 2010)

 
0 H.J, 20/09/10
The walking element of this trip made it much more appealing to me than the slightly 'coach tourish' aspect of some trips to Jordan. The two days walking and camping in Wadi Rum were excellent, the walking wasn't particularly challenging and should be fine for anyone who is in normal health. There isn't a great deal of time in Petra but you do have a full day and a bit which was plenty for me. The walk to and from the camp is beautiful and was so much better than going back to one of the hotels in the town would have been! The walk to the Monastery on the second day in Petra has one very small precarious part where you need to edge along a ledge (we're talking about 2 metres maximum) - everyone in our group managed even the less brave of us but it is a little bit above the normal expected on a walk of this grade. After the days of walking the last couple of days are a bit more touristy and I opted out of the guided tours. However Jerash, the Roman City, was a revelation - a really unexpected highlight. I found it more impressive than Pompeii or Herculaneum. The only part I didn't like much was the optional Petra by Night activity. Lame and over-hyped - don't expect it to be a 'magical experience'. The quiet walks you do around Petra are far more special than this. I would recommend this trip as a classic Explore adventure. It takes a familiar and very busy destination and finds a way to make it a bit different, getting off the beaten track and introducing a more active element. (TP- 1st December 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA