It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Spice Trails Of Petra TP

Visiting: Jordan
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Spice Trails Of Petra

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Spice Trails Of Petra trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Spice Trails Of Petra reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Spice Trails Of PetraScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Rachel

London
I absolutely loved this trip.

It's hard to choose a highlight but I think it has to be the two hikes (one in Wadi Rum and one from Little Petra to Petra via the back way). The views are simply beautiful, the landscape feels so vast and moving on foot really makes you feel where you are. The Bedouin camps made the trip much more special with a great atmosphere, stunning locations under a full moon, and wonderful people and food. The optional camel trek and Turkish bath were both well worth doing. I had high expectations of Petra and Jerash (which were met) but my unexpected gems were Little Petra and Mount Nebo where I just sat, stared and imagined myself back in time.

Our guide, Saleh, was very knowledgeable but more importantly was clearly passionate about immersing us into Jordanian culture so we could really appreciate the country. Personally, I felt the pace of the group was about right, we had a great group and I really enjoyed the mix of activity, history and culture.

One tip - check your flight times in advance as you might want to add an extra night in Amman to see the capital. I recommend the King Abdullah Mosque (very close to the hotel), the Citadel (great views as well as the ruins), the Dead Sea Scrolls in the Jordan Museum and just meandering through the souk and downtown Amman.

Finally if you're worried about exploring by yourself, don't be. As a woman in her mid-20s travelling alone the people couldn't have been lovelier and the only comments I got were from curious children who liked my blonde hair!
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 17 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joelina

Bermuda
Spice Trails of Petra showed me that Jordan has so much rich history, a wonderful culture, friendly people and so many wonderful things to see and do. The tour struck the right balance between an active and sightseeing holiday. Exploring the desert in Wadi Rum and the 4 nights camping in a Bedouin tent was one of the many highlights. Hiking over the mountain to reach Petra was a wonderful experience. Our guide, Saleh, was a gem! He was very knowledgeable and passionate about sharing his culture and country and made the experience delightful.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 28 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Thomas

London
I loved this trip. I'd never before done a group holiday, still less one in which I would be sharing a tent with 12 strangers, and wasn't sure how it would be. But it was a great experience. Everything about it was wonderful, from the hiking in the Wadi Rum desert and finding Koranic inscriptions on the cliffside, through camping out at night and eating food cooked in a pit, to all the extraordinary ancient sights - above all Petra, of course, but also the mosaics at Mount Nesbo, the crusader fort, and the Roman city of Jerash. It was very well organised, and we had an excellent tour leader in Saleh, who brought a high level of understanding and intelligence to everything we were looking at. There was so much variety that it felt like two weeks, not one. It's also really good value for what you're getting.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2017
Published on: 24 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Michelle

Just fantastic!! Loved every bit of it !!! Our guide was the best !! Thankyou
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 25 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Martha

London
I loved this trip. It is so packed full of excitement and discovery, the only way it could be improved is by having another couple of days. I liked the Bedouin tent and the craziness of the camping, the big sandstorm was an extra excitement. Some of the other campers were uncomfortable with sharing a communal tent as there is very limited privacy especially at the second camp (the guys at the camp could be a little more attentive at keeping the loos supplied with loo roll, embarrassing to ask if you are female - necessary if you are menstruating and haven't brought your own roll).

The walks are outstanding, and walks we could never have found on our own. The insider knowledge is the real highlight. Saleh is an outstanding guide, warm and funny and with a huge knowledge he is keen to share. He keeps an excellent team happy. Ibrahim, the camp mama, makes delicious food and cares for all his campers. His celebration of Bedouin coffee culture round the campfire is a delight. The people we met made the trip really special, Jordan is a welcoming country and the guides are great ambassadors for their nation.

The Wadi Rum desert was very special, every time I looked at the surrounding hills they had changed with the light. The space and quiet is extraordinary. Being shown tracks in the sand and inscriptions on walls was fascinating, the camel ride is a real treat. The Turkish bath is also an extra worth doing. Honestly I could just go on and list all the things we saw, each special. Petra and Little Petra for Nabatean culture, Roman Jerash, Mount Nebo, this was an unforgettable trip. I've learned so much, made some friends and would definitely do another Explore adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Trevor

Excellent tour. Wonderful scenery in Wadi Rum and Petra. Fantastic insight in to culture and history of Jordan. Needed more toilet facilities for a group of 16 on the camp nights. I think everybody found that they required more cash than anticipated for the "extras" and tips.
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Matina

Malta
A great trip - with a perfect balance of hiking, outdoors, culture, history and adventure. Our tour leader Saleh was amazing - he was professional, attentive, witty and had a deep knowledge of the history and culture. He went out of his way to make everything perfect. I loved Jordan and would recommend the tour - what a rich experience and amazing people. A brilliant country.
Matina
Confirmed traveller: 25 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Karen

Hannover
The things we were allowed to see on this trip were beautiful and faszinating. I really enjoyed the remoteness of Wadi Rum and the wonderful mountain landscape of Petra. In Petra I prefered the parts of our walks where we hardly saw any other people. The pace of our walks were a bit too slow with too many breaks for my taste though. Our tour leader Saleh didn't allow us to walk ahead and only rarely permitted us to roam around on our own for a few minutes. This can be seen as being very caring, I found it rather restrictive and controlling at some points. Overall Saleh was a great leader though. He had a lot of knowledge about the places we went to and also told us a lot about Jordanian society. He also made sure that we were all doing fine. The food in the camp was delicious thanks to Ibrahim and his crew. A bit of a bummer were the lunch stops along the route and the dinner in Madaba though. For lunch we stopped at buffet restaurants with a dozen of other tourist coaches. The food was only average and to pricey for what was offered. I would have prefered some smaller restaurants where locals also go and not only tourists. After the trip I stayed another day in Amman and only payed 3 Dinar for a delicious meal. The many stopps at certain souvernir shops and stalls were also too much. But overall I can say that it was memorable trip that I can recommend to everyone who likes a mixture of nature, walking and culture.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 31 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback on your recent trip to Jordan, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your time there. However, I’m sorry that you were a little disappointed with the pace of the walks and some of the lunch stops. Both aspects can depend on the dynamics of the group, and your Explore Leader needs to make sure that all members of the group are comfortable with the pace – allowing faster walkers to go ahead as long as they are within eyesight – and that was the case during your walks. Our leaders will also choose dining venues that offer plenty of choices to cover all dietary requirements, and we know that Saleh did his best to accommodate your needs. I’m pleased it was a memorable trip for you nonetheless, and we appreciate your rating.

(10 out of 10)

Jeffrey

Rushden
I loved this trip. Wadi Rum desert was sublime in its beauty. The sandstone mountains poking out of the desert floor were huge pieces of art that had been weathered by the elements. The changing colours of the sand over the two day walk was amazing ranging from deep red to straw coloured. The four nights in the Bedouin tent was an experience I will never forget. The traditional Bedouin way of cooking with charcoal buried deep in the sand was an amazing spectacle to see when the cook dug it out. We sat and told stories at night and had such a laugh that tears ran down are faces. The guide, cooks, helpers and the tourist police man had such a great sense of humour that really made the trip a really fun time.
What can I say about Petra, it delivers everything that you imagine. If you have never been there and want to tick it off your bucket list then this is the trip to do it. Our guide, Saleh, was a mind of information and gave more than enough information about the whole site. He could answer any question that we could throw at him.
We had an option to go to a turkish bath house after a day in Petra. Take this and run with it. It is amazing. It is a welcome relief after a days walking.
The pace of the tour was moderate which was brilliant for me as I could take all the photos I wanted and never felt left behind. We went to the dead sea and had a float. If you haven't done this then it's a must. I had my arms and legs out of the water at the same time as if I was free falling. Very strange sensation. It was warm enough in December to have a float. 22 celsius water temperature.
The Roman ruins in Amman were a little unexpected. The site is vast. There is so much to see. The amphitheatre was incredible and the temple ruins spectacular. I never thought this site was going to be so good. I could have spent a whole day there.
Confirmed traveller: 29 December 2016
Published on: 04 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Hull
An excellent trip. A very knowledgeable and hard working guide. Good accommodation and food. A well planned and full itinerary the highlights for me were the time spent in the desert in Wadi Rum, in and around Petra and at Jerash an unexpected jewel. The coach provided was comfortable and spacious and everything worked like clock work. It felt as if I had been away much longer than a week a reflection on how much we fitted in during the visit.
Confirmed traveller: 19 November 2016
Published on: 27 November 2016