It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking in New Zealand WZN

Visiting: New Zealand
Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Walking in New Zealand

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking in New Zealand trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking in New Zealand reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walking in New ZealandScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Fleet
This was a repeat of the same walking tour that I experienced two years ago, which was such an amazing holiday that I wanted to do it again. I was not disappointed: with a different group of people, a different tour leader and a different weather pattern I had another great time. The highlights are the stunning scenery, experiencing walking in temperate rain forests and being made aware of the nature of the earth's geology resulting from volcanic activity. The standard of accommodation was generally very high and in every case was very clean.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Bangor
Big disappointment not being able to do the Tongariro Crossing due to bad weather. Maybe scheduling two days in this area would give flexibility with regards to the weather. The alternative walk (Old Coach Road) was good and could be used for the non-Tongariro day.

Otherwise very good schedule and superb guide/leader/driver. It would have been very difficult to have travelled independently and fitted in the amount of walking/sight-seeing/travelling that this trip covered.

Highlights: Abel Tasman/Waimangu Valley/Wanaka/walking by Mount Cook
Disappointments: Mount Cook village accomodation and breakfast arrangements, the Queen Charlotte track a bit tedious
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Lesley

London
An excellent, varied tour with some great walking days. I have visited NZ twice before but chose this trip because it incorporated a few things I had done before plus some new experiences. I was not disappointed. We had a lovely group, an expert and cheerful leader, we mainly had sunshine, we saw wonderful landscapes, wildflowers, birds, dolphins and penguins. It really was a very happy three weeks, I suggest you book right away!
Confirmed traveller: 02 December 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Brilliant leader.
Some hotel rooms rather hot at night.
Perhaps some journeys were too long but not sure you can do anything about that as we wanted to see all the places. Perhaps add a couple of days on or offer a trip confined to South Island as most people prefer it.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Douglas

Brentwood
This tour packs an amazing quantity and variety of experience into a short amount of time. The walking was provided in some of the most iconic scenery this amazingly photogenic country has to offer, sampling some of the best known paths and trails, and providing one remarkable day's hiking on the Tongariro Crossing. Another remarkable day was spent " in the spectacular environs of Mount Cook, including a tramp" (local terminology) up the Valley, affording breathtaking mountain views.
We were fortunate to have brilliant sunshine throughout most of our journey, a significant exception being for the cruise on Milford Sound, which was obscured for the most part, by rain and mist, our disappointment only partly alleviated by a substantial, warming buffet lunch on board the vessel.
Such weather is not unusual, and even in summer all possibilities have to be provided for. Waterproof overtrousers and swimwear are among necessary items to pack. My own oversight was in failing to bring insect repellent for some of the South Island walks, one soon remedied in a local pharmacy, after receiving some quite painful bites from aggressive sand flies.
One other highlight for me was the visit to the Waimangu geothermal valley. I would have loved to have spent more time among the geysers and bubbling mud pools of this and other nearby geothermal areas, even if this meant reducing some of the abundant forest walking.
We were extremely fortunate in our leader, Rob, not only a capable driver, experienced walker, and dedicated environmentalist, but a mine of information on his adopted homeland. Apart from broad botanical and geological knowledge of the country, he interpreted the agricultural environment we passed through with the authority of one who farmed himself (which he did).
For a mere three weeks, this tour offered a great introduction to New Zealand, its magnificent scenery, culture, and its hugely enjoyable walking.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 22 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sylvia

London
Rob , our tour leader was excellent going the extra mile for us. He was practical and a very careful driver
He was extremely passionate and knowledgeable about his adopted country. The trip exceeded my expectations and New Zealand absolutely stunning. Thank you for a wonderful holiday
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2016
Published on: 25 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Whitby, N.Yorks
Not a moment wasted, a full packed itinerary led by a wonderful man who's knowledge of N.Z. is astounding and wisdom in shepherding a happy bunch of people was sublime, thank you Herbie for making so much happen.

Personal highlights include Tongariro Crossing, Mount Aoraki and final chilling out in Akarowa (a delightful town that should not be overlooked) but the whole trip was crammed with amazing places and breathtaking views, my camera was rarely off the "panorama " setting.

Found the humour of the Kiwis inspirational, such a warm happy race. Reserving a cafe spot by leaving your car keys and wallet on the table speaks volumes.

New Zealand, if you've never been, don't die wondering.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016