It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walking in New Zealand WZN

Visiting: New Zealand
Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Walking in New Zealand

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walking in New Zealand trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walking in New Zealand reviews verified by Reevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walking in New ZealandScores 9.8 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Sylvia

London
Rob , our tour leader was excellent going the extra mile for us. He was practical and a very careful driver
He was extremely passionate and knowledgeable about his adopted country. The trip exceeded my expectations and New Zealand absolutely stunning. Thank you for a wonderful holiday
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2016
Published on: 25 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Brilliant leader.
Some hotel rooms rather hot at night.
Perhaps some journeys were too long but not sure you can do anything about that as we wanted to see all the places. Perhaps add a couple of days on or offer a trip confined to South Island as most people prefer it.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Douglas

Brentwood
This tour packs an amazing quantity and variety of experience into a short amount of time. The walking was provided in some of the most iconic scenery this amazingly photogenic country has to offer, sampling some of the best known paths and trails, and providing one remarkable day's hiking on the Tongariro Crossing. Another remarkable day was spent " in the spectacular environs of Mount Cook, including a tramp" (local terminology) up the Valley, affording breathtaking mountain views.
We were fortunate to have brilliant sunshine throughout most of our journey, a significant exception being for the cruise on Milford Sound, which was obscured for the most part, by rain and mist, our disappointment only partly alleviated by a substantial, warming buffet lunch on board the vessel.
Such weather is not unusual, and even in summer all possibilities have to be provided for. Waterproof overtrousers and swimwear are among necessary items to pack. My own oversight was in failing to bring insect repellent for some of the South Island walks, one soon remedied in a local pharmacy, after receiving some quite painful bites from aggressive sand flies.
One other highlight for me was the visit to the Waimangu geothermal valley. I would have loved to have spent more time among the geysers and bubbling mud pools of this and other nearby geothermal areas, even if this meant reducing some of the abundant forest walking.
We were extremely fortunate in our leader, Rob, not only a capable driver, experienced walker, and dedicated environmentalist, but a mine of information on his adopted homeland. Apart from broad botanical and geological knowledge of the country, he interpreted the agricultural environment we passed through with the authority of one who farmed himself (which he did).
For a mere three weeks, this tour offered a great introduction to New Zealand, its magnificent scenery, culture, and its hugely enjoyable walking.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2016
Published on: 22 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Whitby, N.Yorks
Not a moment wasted, a full packed itinerary led by a wonderful man who's knowledge of N.Z. is astounding and wisdom in shepherding a happy bunch of people was sublime, thank you Herbie for making so much happen.

Personal highlights include Tongariro Crossing, Mount Aoraki and final chilling out in Akarowa (a delightful town that should not be overlooked) but the whole trip was crammed with amazing places and breathtaking views, my camera was rarely off the "panorama " setting.

Found the humour of the Kiwis inspirational, such a warm happy race. Reserving a cafe spot by leaving your car keys and wallet on the table speaks volumes.

New Zealand, if you've never been, don't die wondering.
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sue

Harrogate
Highlights: Queen Charlotte Sound, Milford Sound. Walks especially the parts of the great NZ trails and Tongariro crossing. The Papa museum. Seafood, wines. Very knowledgeable leader. Volcanic pools etc in North Island.

Tips - weather can be wet in the South Island so take good waterproofs. All hotels/motels have laundry facilities for the use of guests so you can cut down the amount of clothes you take.
If interested in wine tasting, you can arrange this in the free day in Wanaka
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2015
Published on: 15 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Wendy

Tickhill
There were so many highlights it's difficult to list them but here goes.

The stunning scenery
The knowledgable, organised, helpful and cheerful tour guide
The 2 longer walks
Key Summit
Milford Sound
Dolphins
Penguins
The beautiful bird song
Te Papa Museum
The rest of our group

All went to make this an amazing holiday

We organised our own wine tasting and tour and think this should have been an option for the group tour as a whole
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2015
Published on: 08 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Robert

Fleet
Main highlight was the Tongariro Crossing - stunning views and challenging climbs. Other highlights include Wai-­‐O-­‐Tapu thermal wonderland, lakes and forests, mountains, excellent food. You need to be prepared for all sorts of weather - rain, snow, high winds, intense sun. Trip Leader was very knowledgeable and added some flexibility to each day.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2014
Published on: 07 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

David

Huddersfield, Yorkshire
We have enjoyed many holidays with Explore and have never been disappointed....there has always been an knowledgable and professional guide and a well thought out itinerary.
With explore the trips tend to be very busy and you are on the go a lot but if you want to see and learn lots about an area and the local culture then you need to move!
It seems people who use Explore tend to have similar interests and therefore the smallish groups 12-16 tend to gel quickly and we have always found the companionship to be an enjoyable part of the experience
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015