It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Machu Picchu and Titicaca PB

Visiting: Bolivia , Peru
Trip Duration 14 Days

Reviews for Machu Picchu and Titicaca

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Machu Picchu and Titicaca trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Machu Picchu and Titicaca reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Machu Picchu and TiticacaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(5 out of 10)

Mary

Ware
Too Long in La Paz

very poor accommodation most no hot water
Confirmed traveller: 29 October 2016
Published on: 31 October 2016

I appreciate your feedback for your recent trip to Peru, I’m sorry that you were particularly disappointed with the accommodation provided. We have addressed your concerns with our local agent and our contracted hotels for this itinerary, to make sure this issue is resolved before the next departure.

(9 out of 10)

Peter

Dereham
A great first experience of South America. We had the most wonderful tour leader in Jamie Balza , very knowledgeable and a great trekking companion. Everyone goes on this trip to do the one day walk to Machu Picchu but it is all the other sights and sounds of Bolivia and Peru which really make the holiday that bit special. We had just crossed the border into Peru when we came across a local festival complete with two full size dance bands and costumed dancers. The event took place in a dusty field at the side of Lake Titicaca - the sounds and colours were just amazing.
La Paz is hard work when you first arrive. If you think you are suffering with altitude sickness , headaches etc ask for the emergency oxygen bottle $25 which all the hotels hold in reception. A visit from a doctor may cost around $70. Beware of taking the Saroche pill it is full of caffeine and may increase your blood pressure unnecessarily. You must have loads of rest and recover in time to leave La Paz by day 5 as the tour is full on from then onwards.
For those of you lucky enough to acclimatise quickly then the walk round the La Paz sunday market back streets is a colourful introduction. The bus trip out on to the Altiplano to visit the pre Inca site of Tiahuanco is a welcome relief from the noise of the city streets and the chaos of El Alto.
We had three trekking days which were all the more enjoyable due to the dry and generally sunny weather which we experienced throughout the September visit. Two nights on the Isla del Sol allowed us to experience sunsets and sunrises over Lake Titicaca perfect peace and quiet and some very good food. Generally we had good food throughout the trip with lots of vegetables and excellent fish and quinoa dishes. Don't eat a lot late at night as it is very difficult to digest large meals at altitude. Chocolate is slow to digest as well, we had a supply of Eat Natural cereal bars which were handy for lunch time snacks.
The only time we were troubled by insects was in Machu Picchu. When the sun shines there is a small sand fly similar to the flies on the west coast of South Island NZ which will bite exposed white legs - do not wear shorts !! The walk from stop km104 is very safe and is equivalent to a good day out in the English Lake District - eg the walk from Grasmere up to Fairfield - the difference being there is a coach to take you back to Aguas Calientes.
Take a very large flash card for your camera and have a great time.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gerald

Liskeard
thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Good to start at altitude which acted as ideal prep for Machu Picchu. Highlights for us were Lake Titicaca, Andean Explorer and Machu Picchu.
accompanying tour guides were excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Stephen

Brighton
Very good tour,guides were excellent.Hotels are more basic then European hotels but
clean and tidy,walking city tours (La Paz + Cusco) were interesting .
Highlight was the trek to Machu Picchu ,you are dropped off the train in what seems like
the middle of nowhere and after treking past waterfalls over bridges through the rainforest you are rewarded with the site of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate ,amazing.
The Sun island was also a highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 19 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Weston super Mare
Very good tour, though due to a lack of interest I had to visit Tiahaunaco under my own steam. Fortunately there were a few local companies in La Paz that did it as an excursion to there, though the Highway of Death by bike seemed to be the more popular one. However the trouble was worth it, a very interesting and enigmatic site, could well have been where the Inca started from. Perhaps Tiahaunaco could be included as part of the tour rather than an optional extra. Isle of the Sun was very good especially the hotel and the walks. The drive from Puno to Cusco was most interesting but would have been better at a slower pace to appreciate the site visits the more. Cusco was very interesting, but could have done with more time at Saqsaywaman and the Inca sites at Pisac looked much more interesting than the craft market, but no time to visit them.Machu Picchu and the bit that we did of the Inca Trail was a good experience all round, though the hotel that we stayed in there was rather noisy and had somewhat eccentric room arrangements. Finally, American Airlines. When I arrived at the Boarding Gate at Heathrow on the outward journey I was rather forcibly requested not to take the flight to Miami due to it being overbooked. Being single, was the reason that I suspected I had been selected to be taken off the flight. Easier option than with a group or families. When I refused this request I was treated rather rudely, even after I had told them that I had a flight connection from Miami to La Paz and would obviously miss it if I did not take the Miami flight. I was then told to wait until called, which I eventually was though was about the last to board the aircraft.
The flights went with out incident until on arriving in La Paz I found that my bag had not arrived with me. It eventually arrived two days later and I am suspicious of the fact that it never even made it on to the aircraft at Heathrow as it was expected by A.A. that I would not make it on to the flight and that they could not be bothered to put it on when I did.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 13 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Marianne

Tampa,Florida USA
Lake Titicaca are and Isle de Sol are absolutely breathtaking. Inca trail was very challenging but awesome and trip of a lifetime.
Our trip leader Jimmy was wonderful and he picked very knowledgeable and nice and helpful local guides.
Unfortunately because of strike in Peru we missed tour of Machu Picchu and hike on Maccu mtn.
However because of our leader Jimmy's anticipation and leadership we did not get stuck in Agua Calientes which would have caused us to miss plane to Lima and USA
Marianne
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2015
Published on: 30 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Gareth

Sutton Coldfield
I was fortunate enough to be able to cope with the altitude which you have to think about before your trip. The highlights were many. Seeing Lake Titicaca and crossing it, visit to where the Kontike reed boat was built for Thor Hyadal, two night stay on Sun Island and the trek across the island, the trek on the Inca trail finishing above Machu Pichu, the tour around Machu Pichu, the visits to many other Inca sites. All in all one of the best holidays I have ever had.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 August 2015
Published on: 23 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Marie

London
Moray
Machu Pichu
Tiwanaku
Idle del Sol
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2015
Published on: 04 October 2015