It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Sicilian Trails SIT

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Sicilian Trails

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Sicilian Trails trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Sicilian Trails reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Sicilian TrailsScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

David

The hotel accommodation was fairly basic but the food was very good. Our leader, Elena, was delightful, inclusive & knowledgeable with occasional lapses in English. The itinerary was ok, the walking was good - perhaps an option to travel on the circum-Etna railway would be an idea.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ann

This is a great trip! The simple hotel serves good food and is 50 metres from the sea front and attractive beach. Nearby Taormina is just beautiful, complete with the stunning backdrop of Etna. Key to the trip is Elena the guide. She is helpful, incredibly considerate and good fun. Just be prepared for early starts!
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Denise

London
The itinerary was varied; each day's walking was quite distinct and the scenery diverse and beautiful. For the most part the level of walking was relatively straightforward, but it's worth highlighting that there is one day which is pretty strenuous.

Despite what it said in the tour notes, most walks were 8-11 km and we were out for the full day. There are a couple of very early starts including a pre-sparrow fart o'clock alarm call of 5am! - but the day was worth it.

The hotel is basic, clean and friendly and I really enjoyed the food cooked by the family.
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Poole
Very enjoyable week. The only slight gripe was the inaccuracy of the trip notes regarding length of the walks, which I have been assured by Explore will be corrected. (The walks are longer than indicated.) The hotel is simple but homely and the leader Elena great fun. The wild flowers in May are stunning!
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Cambridge, England
Superb tour leader! Elena Amato was one of the best leaders we have had in 13 Explore tours.

Why stop Sicilian Volcanoes hikes, SV? It's still popular, and we had planned to do it.
Very bad decision to stop SV.

Hikers/walkers want to walk, not to combine Food with hikes. One or the other, not both. That is what many others say.
Why all these Explore Food trips? Get back to designing proper walking trails trips for the range of abilities/fitness.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016

Thanks for all of your feedback Stephen and I’m really pleased to see you had a great trip walking in Sicily. It’s good for me to know that you are interested in our ‘Sicilian Volcano Hike’ trip which had been running for many years and I am hoping to refresh and reintroduce in 2018. As regards your comment about trips combining food and drink experiences and walking, it’s true that we have introduced a number of these in recent years and they have proved popular! However, I see these as a complement rather than a replacement for more traditional pure walking trips, an area in which I also intend to continue to create and innovate. Ultimately I want us to have a good range of walking for everyone!

(9 out of 10)

Liz

Liverpool
Great introduction to Sicily. WAlks not too taxing. Great views, good weather, relaxing resort with hotel almost on the beach. And fantastic food and wine
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sharon

Newquay
An excellent varied itinerary with just the right mix of walking, sightseeing and relaxation. Every day was great but my favourite has to be walking on Volcano Island, a fabulous experience.

The hotel was fairly basic but the fantastic food and friendly good service from the owners more than made up for it.

Giardini Naxos is an ideal base and having the beach opposite the hotel is a bonus.

Eleanor is a really good Leader, friendly, professional and passionate about Sicily.

Overall a great trip, ideal as an introduction to Sicily.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Elena our tour leader an absolute delight! Food and scenery is fabulous
Confirmed traveller: 18 June 2016
Published on: 24 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Northampton
The holiday was very enjoyable, the itinerary was perfect, especially the trip to the Aolian Islands and the Sicilian lunch put on by Lara and her husband, that was a very nice touch. Also the walks were a perfect length.
Conchetta and family at the hotel were very friendly and helpful but the accommodation was very basic and the food was very nice but I felt there should have been a choice at the evening meal, as usually happens these days in most hotels, although breakfast never varied at all.
Elena our leader was great, very helpful and informative.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 31 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Suzanne

This was a well organised tour, well paced, and suitable for most people who are reasonably fit. It took us on walks that were very diverse - up volcanoes (my own personal favourite activities), into gorges, into the Nebrodi mountains and close to picturesque Taormina. However, the duration of each walk on the itineray clearly underestimates the time taken to complete each walk. All walks took us about 5 hours to complete. The walk up to Vulcano certainly was at least 3/4 hours, not the 2 hours as advertised. I think it is important to be accurate (as best as you can) with the duration of walks as this information is often the basis of whether or not to go on a particular walking trip. In terms of all the climbing I might rate this holiday as moderate, not leisurely. In fact some days were particularly long so it was impossible to have much "chill out" time on the trip, except for Day 4. The tour guide was excellent throughout. She had great people skills, charm, and excellent spoken English.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016