It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Camino De Santiago CDS

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Camino De Santiago

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Camino De Santiago trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Camino De Santiago reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Camino De SantiagoScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Tamara

Canberra ACT Australia
The tour was unforgettable. The itinerary was very well thought out, the acccommodation, mainly, appropriate. Best of all was the tour guide Jon, who maintained a sense of humour and equanimity throughout. He kept a watchful eye on each one of us. The group had varying abilities and Jon was like a sheepdog, running from the front of the pack to the back, making sure that everyone was okay and nobody got lost. He took those who needed it to the chemist, found ATMs for others. I would re book with explore if I knew that Jon was to be the tour guide/leader again.
The trip notes advised that Day 2 was to be over gently undulating territory. These notes need revision to state that "Day 2 is the toughest of the trip and involves a lot of downward travel over very steep, rough and rocky terrain. "
Two people on the tour suffered injuries that day. I ended up with three black toe nails from the terrain.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016

Hi Tamara, I appreciate your feedback of your trip. I love the visual imagery of the Explore Leader being a watchful and busy sheepdog! On reviewing your comments with our local agent, we think you are referring to day three – the descent into Molinaseca. We are looking to make the nature of the walk clearer in the notes, so thank you for letting us know how you found the walk.

(9 out of 10)

Angela

The highlight of the tour has to be the camaraderie within the group and the excellent group leader. Each day brought something new both in terms of the beautiful and diverse terrain as well as our individual journey. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this tour to anyone who enjoys walking and a personal challenge. I will certainly book again with Explore.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 25 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Valerie

Leeds
Walked with a group that gelled and appreciated each others company. Regrouping as we walked along was handled well and was no problem.
All logistics concerning bag carriage and group meals was well organised. Accommodation was the usual Explore standard.
Using the bus for some transfer on the early days proved beneficial to get used to the walk.
Personally, I became more in tune with the emotions of the Camino as we continued and came across so many making the same journey. Reaching the Iron Cross brought an unexpected tear to my eye, and of course arriving in Santiago, and the evening service, was the culmination of an inspiring journey.
Being able to walk day after day is an important consideration - not rely on getting fitter as you go along, and be confident about footwear.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 19 June 2016
Published on: 22 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alison

Cambridge
The group settled easily and positively, partly because of random factors (self selection of who would want to do the Camino?) but very much aided by the positive yet always discreet activity and presence of our guide. The level of being together, and able to be independent worked well. I´d done 4 days independent on the Camino before the group trip, and would not know now which of the two I would do again. Tips: be prepared in terms of physical preparation, and perhaps in having less rather than more luggage, and with tried and tested equipment and clothing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 19 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Penny

London
This was a wonderful trip made particularly special by Jon our tour leader. Many of us had personal reasons for wanting to walk the Camino and were of varying levels of fitness. Jon was sensitive to each of our needs and created a sense of purpose for our little team of pilgrims. Weather in May was changeable and we had some hot days a couple of wet days too. Although I am a regular walker the day to day walking took a greater toll on my feet than I expected - take plasters for your blisters! This walk is a great experience - the countryside sometimes feels a bit like England but the interesting mix of people you'll bump into along the way makes this a trek like no other. And the collecting of stamps for your Camino "passport" becomes a competitive sport! Attending the Pilgrims mass in the magnificent cathedral in Santiago was a treat worth walking all that way for.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016
(8 out of 10)

Harry

The reason we gave accommodation a 7 was due to 2 places having no hot water and at a couple of them breakfast was lacking. The reason we gave itinerary a 7 was because the first day was way too long. We started with a 3 hour guided tour at 9:00 in Leon which then meant that we were starting the Camino at the HOTTEST part of the day and ending our day very late. This was not a smart start for the tour!

The tour guide in Leon was very good, she was very knowledgable and passionate about her job. We felt she had a very good sense of humor and was in touch with the group. We feel it should remain a part of the tour but maybe done on the previous day.

The tour guide in Santiago was NOT good, we had trouble understanding her and not because of her accent but because of the words she chose and how she phrased them. She had absolutely no sense of humor. At one point we were all listening to the other tour guide that happened to be standing by our group just because she was way more interesting and funny.

Jon, our tour guide, was fabulous! We loved him, he was kind, caring and very attentive to everyone's needs. He had enough knowledge to give us some insights to the places along the Camino. He had a great sense of humor and we trusted him.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 13 June 2016
(7 out of 10)

Gillian

Santiago has 220 days of rain a year. Take waterproofs.
I thought that the group was too large. You advertise 12 to 15. We had 16.
The booking system was poor. two of us in the group were told that our flight left at 3.55pm which was altered 3 weeks before we left. Everyone else was given the correct departure time on booking. 2 were told that they could not fly from Gatwick and one was told that he could.
The customer service was amazing. I lost my mobile 'phone which was found and my daughter contacted. She contacted Explore who managed to arrange the delivery of the phone to the hotel in Santiago.

The highlights were the daily walking and visits to the churches en route. The tours of Leon and Santiago. Other highlights were the delicious octopus and the reasonably priced wine and beer.

This wasn't my favourite walking holiday for its terrain and beauty but for many it is a pilgrimage which creates a unique atmosphere.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 22 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Rebecca

Wakefield
Great trip despite the wet weather. Group ranged in walking pace which led to some disharmony. All arrived in Santiago together which was very moving.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 19 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Marion

Southampton
The camaraderie that developed in this group of "pilgrims"- not at all religious I might add, the shared picnic lunches and the beautiful scenery. Also the food in the restaurants we went to with the experience of our leader "Nacho".
He literally went twice the distance, shepherding the group, understanding its varying abilities, smoothing the way and instilling confidence whilst generously imparting his vast knowledge of and conveying his understanding of and respect for his country. He has been on the Camino many, many times but still exhibits boundless enthusiasm.
You need to know that some of the distances are quite serious. This isn't an amble or a walk in the park. There is one long downhill stretch - my walking pole was handy here. I was glad of the swimming, pilates and walking I did as training and of my trusty boots and socks as I had no aches and pains or blisters. Some members of the group (September/October trip) were bitten a lot.
Spanish cooks are not used to accommodating vegetarians but, if you are one, I expect you know that. One of the group chose a salad from a menu that said it was vegetarian and it came with ham on it.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 26 October 2015
(7 out of 10)

Susan

Toronto
The trip had a lot of potential, but unfortunately the Explore Leader was a poor choice. I did still have a good time and don't regret the trip BUT I took this trip with Explore because I wanted a guide who would introduce and inform me of some history, art, architecture, cuisine, or something relevant about the area I am in. I have already filled in a previous email questionnaire and stated this. I did receive a response and a $150 voucher towards a future trip, but I do not feel this is sufficient recompense to entice me to risk both my time and money with Explore in the future.
Confirmed traveller: 23 August 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015